We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night in florence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #93 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one night in florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I needed a hotel near the hertz office in florence and still neat to the city centre. Hotel bretagne had the perfect location. There are no frills. It's very basic but the rooms are nice, new and clean. As I was a single travellare they gave me a single room with a 1,5 bed. Normally I prefer queen size beds even when travelling alone. But the bed was confortable and the room quite (on the back of the building). Probably other rooms have a beautiful view over the Arno. Not really a problem as I was here only for work and did not really have a lotr time to enjoy teh city. Only remark was the breakfast which was not of a high quality. I'd rather have a nice cappucino in a bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We really appreciate all the positive points you have mentioned in your comment.
We are sorry if the breakfast didn't satisfied you but we can assure you that our supplier provide us high quality food and beverage.

Very best regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    422
    101
    36
    24
See reviews for
196
531
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, we were upgraded to a large room with a fresco. First impressions were very good as we were given a very comprehensive overview of Florence with map and key highights - great English and most helpful. The only issue we had was the airconditioning unit was so noisy it had to be turned off overnight. The location of the hotel is very close to railway station and other key spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such wonderful words!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated so much our staff.

We apologize if you couldn't keep on the ac during the night because of noise, We are planning to change the airconditioning unit in that room very soon.

If your plans brings you back to Florence we will be happy to welcome you again!

Your sincerely,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful. The location was central. The bed was comfortable. I would stay there again if I was in florence. The only negative thing was that the Wifi didn't reach the bedroom. I had to go to the bar to get cover. Also the junior suite said that it had a balcony when it didn't. Neither of those things bothered me though becuase everthing else was so good. There was a good selection of food for breakfast too.

Room Tip: The junior sweet costs a little more and has a view of the river. Some of the cheaper rooms are inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Mr. Marcus,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our service, the location, our breakfast and your room.
Regarding WI -FI connection we would like to inform you that usually works very well.
If you had informed the staff of the problem surely would have done something to resolve the issue. We apologize if for this reason your stay was not so enjoyable as it should have been.

The "Junior Suite With River View" (as all our rooms) doesn't have any balcony.
The only balcony we have is just that one next to the Reception where our guests can enjoy a drink gazing the River and Ponte Vecchio.
If you read the description of this typology of room on our webiste is written as follows:

"Junior Suite with River and Ponte Vecchio View, bathroom with shower and JACUZZI, air conditioning, tv sat , minibar, hair dryer, safety box. Large room that overlooks the River Arno.
Breathtaking view."

Waiting for your next visit we wish you all the best!

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel Bretagna is not a 3 stars hotel, actually it´s not a hotel. Huge old house full of private apartments (only some of them are a part of the hotel) where you have to search your room. That´s why there is no parking place in front of the building, no one to help you with luggage and the reception girl was not very helpful. It’s all about staff and they were so unfriendly – no one says “hello” when you enter the restaurant etc.
Budget room was okay, breakfast was poor and the service was the worst. The only good thing is the bar located about 50 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Madame,

I really want to thank you for your fantastic NOT TRUE review.
I remember you very well. You arrived with your car around 21:00 at Hotel Bretagna and the first thing you said was: "I CANT' PAY 25 € PER DAY FOR THE PARKING". Now I just want to ask you:, what did you expect when you booked a Hotel in the historcal centre of Florence? You wrote we have no private parking because we are not a Hotel, well, do you have an idea of where the Hotel is located? You should have it, because you sleept here for 4 nights!!! I really would love to remember you that we are in the heart of Florence, 100 m from Ponte Vecchio and most of the Hotels in the center not have their own parking. This is Florence...
Waht you said about the other apartments in the palace is true. The palace is not entirely Hotel but it doesn't mean that we are not a Hotel. Don't you???
You also said nobody helped you with the bags but the "not very helpful receptionist" remembers you that you booked AN ECONOMY DOUBLE ROOM in a 3 stars Hotel, not a suite in a 5 stars Hotel. Unfortunately we don't have a porter and I was alone at the reception. Would I leave the reception to bring your bags in the room?
And also, regarding what you said about the unfriendly staff, I don't want to spend many words about it, you should just read the other reviews and see what our previous guests wrote about the staff. Maybe the problem is not us but................
Let me say that I remember you very well and I don't remember a lady that was so smiling and kind, but quite the opposite.
The last thing I would like to remind you is that after calling the garage, they came to bring your car in 5 minutes . After 5 minutes you came down at the desk saying you want the car back because you forgot something on it and we made this special service for you: after 5 minutes the car was downstairs again. Well, probably some people do not appreciate a kindness, how can they appreciate an historical Hotel in a palace of 1200 in the heart of Florence?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located right on the river in the core of Florence. It is part of a historic apartment type building accessed by an elevator. We were in a junior historical suite which had an original Fresco on the ceiling. The room was quite large but it was a bit dim and the power went out a few times. Depending on what you are looking for, it can be a good or mediocre experience. The people runnung the parking lot were on- site within 5 minutes each time. This hotel emphasizes ambience and history. Overall, for the price and location not a bad choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RMATravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The location of the hotel doesn't get much better than this. All major sites within walking distance (20 minutes max). Beautiful view of the Arno river and a block away from the Ponte Vecchio. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Arrival was a breeze even with driving into the city center. Easy valet parking from the hotel. The only negative I would mention, would be the breakfast. Coffee bitter and options limited.Though we had just come from an agriturismo of fresh organic breakfasts in Tuscany, so may have been used to that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smittynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed our location and our staff service.
Hotel Bretagna is a 3 star hotel and our breakfast meets the expectations of the majority of our guests. We are planning to add some new dishes in the next future.

We hope to welcoming you soon to Florence.

Best regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great hospitality.always helpfull, , smiling and beatiful faces.:) great view and every kultural places is so near,you can go bu only walking.beautiful rezervationist girls and they always get me another consecuencis levels by talking:) only the breakfast was a little bit problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oguz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Oguz,

Thank you so much for your kind words!.
We are happy to know that our recpetion staff met your expectation and that you enjoyed our location.

We really hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warms regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing