We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for walking around Florence”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #118 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Awesome for walking around Florence”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location to stay and very central to everything that you want to see in the city. Being close to the Arno River makes it easy to find. It's also only a few blocks from the city locations for rental cars making it easy in and out. Expensive, but everything in Italy seems to be that way. Enjoy a great night or two in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for finding a spare time to leave your feedback for us, we do really appreciate. Glad to know that you found perfect the position and fact that the location is right in the city centre close to everything. You better know that September is the highest tourist season and that's the reason hotels are more expensive than normally.
Wish to be able to welcome you soon in our Hotel again.
Best regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    432
    105
    37
    29
See reviews for
200
552
80
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We can conclude that the stay at Hotel Bretagna was in any way succesfull and specially the kindness of the receptionists was a great comfort. It was a bit of a surprise that the hotel did not have a fully licensed restaurant, but ofcourse Firenze did cater finely for us...
The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the bathroom excellent. Specially the view from the window over the Arno River was beautifull.
We can certainly recomend Bretagna to other travellers.
Faithfully yours
Annette & Carsten Frölich

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Annette and Carsten,

I really appreciate your excellent comments regarding your last stay at Hotel Bretagna.
Your kind words will certainly encourage us of doing even better.
We are happy to know that you really enjoyed our location and the view from your Junior Suite.

Our Hotel does not have a restaurant but the reception staff is always on the way to give you some tips where to eat well.

It has been a pleasure having you here as our guest and we really hope to welcome you back soon!

Warms regards form all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a convenient position - just. 5 min walk from Ponte Vecchio - with amazing river view!!
Bedrooms are clean and big, free wi-fi, all the staff was helpful, super kind, always smiling to customers.
That's our first choice when we stay in Florence!
Totally recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Francesca,

Thank you so much for your review!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to welcome you back soon!

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, who made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived.

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was clean, well presented, roomy, and had an excellent view of the river which was delightful at sunset. Very comfortable bed, Jacuzzi Bath and good working shower.

Varied choice for breakfast with good quality food and drink.

All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: River Views come with the Junior Suites, but well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room, your bathroom and especially the beautiful view from the window!

We will be pleased to have the possibility to welcome you back!

Warms regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose a river view suite (478e for 2 nights). The room was very good with a large king bed, whirlpool, extra bed and a lovely view of the river of course. The room was modern and clean, all things considering I was impressed with the quality, you weren't just paying for the view the room was pretty smart. Location is excellent, a few minutes walk from the main bridge and toursist areas. We weren't up early enough for the breakfast each morning so didn't try that. The staff were very friendly and helpful with maps and recomendations. The only thing that really miffed me was coming home after dinner and finding the 2nd single bed had been removed from our suite without asking. Our luggage had been relocated to the the floor. When hiring a suite, you are expecting the extra furniture to add comfort to your stay. The extra bed for us was an essential part of paying considerably more. For it it to be removed while we were away, without even so much as a note or asking I thought very rude and irregular for a hotel. I went down to the night desk who looked in the file but nothing had been noted down. No apology no nothing. Very odd and something I havn't experienced before in a hotel.

Room Tip: The river view windows are very nice. If an extra bed is important like for a child or something mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Second time staying at hotel, and both times had an excellent experience. This time I stayed in the Junior Suite with river view, and the room was very spacious with a fantastic view all the way down to the Ponte Vecchio. Great location within walking distance of the Duomo, Academia, Ufizzi, Pitti Palace, and Santa Maria Novella train station, as well as numerous shops and restaurants. Friendly English-speaking staff and nice breakfast. The shower in the Jacuzzi tub was a bit odd, but overall, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssmry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It's always a pleasure to welcome back our guests!
The most important for us is to make their stay as wonderful as the first one or even much better than the first one!

We wish you all the best for you and your family!

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had the (big) junior suite with river view and area conditinale (good working) + whirl pool - fine! It was 5 days hot and sunny ( 34-36) and at night down to 18-20 degrees. No mosquito in the room ( with closed window)! Service was fast and very helpful. Our car was outside in an extra (private) garage. The hotel is on y perfect place - realy very central!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Mr, Helmut,

Thank you so much for your kind review!!
We are happy to know that you chose our hotel for the second time and we will be more than glad to welcome you for the third time!

We wish you all the best for you and your family.

Warms regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#66 of 412 in Florence
606 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,528 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#76 of 412 in Florence
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#179 of 412 in Florence
409 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#50 of 412 in Florence
449 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing