We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy place.”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #116 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
“Very cozy place.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very cozy place to be in. Just make sure about the amount blocked in your bank when you will book online. There was NO problem with the payment eventually but the blocked amount that the hotel has made never appeared in bank account. This is just informational. I don't know whose mistake is it, hotel or my bank! Also the breakfast is very very very nice and tasty!!!
Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpann244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Gust,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdviosr.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and our breakfast.
To guarantee reservations we make a preautorizathion, this means that we block the amount of the first night. This procedure is not a payment. The amount remains blocked for 20 days, after this time our bank release it. If the amount is not released within 20 days we sugguest our guests to call their bank account manager.
We hope that now everything is clear, if is not please contact us personally by phone or email.

Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    425
    103
    37
    27
See reviews for
200
538
79
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Booked 2 junior suite rooms with river views and was very disappointed. The rooms were old and tired only slightly larger than a standard double with very small showers and in no way match their web photos. The ground floor entry constantly smelt of raw sewerage, the bar is only open when reception staff have time, twice we were told they were too busy. I realise this is a 3 star hotel but it should be better than this.

Room Tip: junior suites in the annex are poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear client,
Regarding your review we would like to underline, for clarification for all other clients and users of TripAdvisor, that the rooms you have booked are two complitely renovated Junior Suites with River view and Jacuzzi Bathtub. We are very perplexed that you describe the rooms as shabby, especially because they are both 30 mq and the size of the rooms is clearly written in the room description. The rooms include many facilities and have a great view of the Ponte Vecchio and Arno River.
Regarding the bar, we offer the service of breakfast but Hotel Bretagna is not a "lounge Bar". Of course we always try to do our best to satisfy our client but we woluld like to rimind you that the bar service we offer is an additional duty.
Hotel Bretagna is a 3 stars Hotel and we offer many services that our previous customers have loved. Sincerely, after reading your review, this is probabily not your appropriate category.
All the best
The Hotel Bretagna stuff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a lovely 3 days in this hotel. Perfect location on the river just a few mins walk from the Ponte Vecchio. Wonderful front desk staff who were such a help and nothing too much trouble. breakfast good and car parking easily arranged from here. Close walk to all the points of interest in Florence. Dont miss the fabulous cakes at tea time! And for sure the most comfortable beds throughout our Italy adventure.

Room Tip: For superior double for best value and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with the community of TripAdvisor,
We are happy to know that you enjoy your 3 days stay with us.
It's nice to learn that you enjoy our location, our breakfast and our teatime!
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Bretagna.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were staying for 2 days on 25th & 26th December and definitely got a good deal for these dates. The location of the hotel was absolutely fantastic making the popular tourist destinations as well as the S.M Novella station easily accessible by walk. The hotel receptionists were extremely helpful and passionate in providing information about Florence itself as well as warning us about planning the trip to Pisa on the holiday. While, we had booked a standard economy double room for the 2 of us, the room size was small but neat and clean. We were happy with the bathroom as it was spacious, clean and had modern sanitary fixtures. Breakfast was basic and sufficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarang9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed our location, your room and especially our service.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon!

Very best regards,

Fabrzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our extended family stayed here during the Christmas holidays and found it perfect. Quad rooms were huge and easily accommodated parents and two teenagers. Staff was very welcoming and helpful; breakfast lovely (even decaf cappuccino). Only negative is no availability of food (purchase, eat-in or take-out) close by; front desk staff did help with obtaining a pizza delivery, however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with the community of TripAdviosr.
We are glad to know that our hotel met your expectations.
We really hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a lovely three days stay at this hotel. Very clean, a spacious room. All the front desk staff were excellent. All the requests we had asked they were so efficient. Restaurants recommendations were great also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are more than pleased to know that you enjoy your stay and especially our service provided by our team.

Hoping to have you back at Hotel Bretagna.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We enjoyed very much our visit at this beautiful and old town of Toscane - Italy and one of the reasons was our stay at hotel Bretagna, not only because of the very expert staff but because of the grate location of the hotel, also (historical center and facing the Arno river). We never used transporation, except from and to the airport (for 23-25 euros), so we walked on foot to all the important places as far as, Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Piti, Ponte Vecvhio, e.t.c., you see the weather (end of November) was very nice for that time, only some cold but very sunny. The local cusine is very tastefull and the "trattorias" have very good service, we enjoyed very much local Toscane red wine. We have travelled Europre more than 20 times, 3 to Italy, our travell experience was one of the best and also our stay at hotel Bretagna was one of the best.
E.K. Greece

Room Tip: A room facing the Arno river is the best I beleive and choosing a junior suite is a grate choise bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review following your recent visit.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always wonderful to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, in the heart of Firenze.

It will be a big pleasure welcoming you back here at Hotel Bretagna.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 422 in Florence
593 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#77 of 422 in Florence
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#47 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing