We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the city center and good value/price ratio”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #111 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very close to the city center and good value/price ratio”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Amazing location (very close to city center), and very helpful reception. They try to make the rooms old-fashioned (Bretagna-style), and they do a good job at it.

Things to consider:
- The bathroom is separate from the bedroom
- Wifi is very slow
- When I was there (June) there were mosquitos.

But overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesecakes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    424
    102
    37
    26
See reviews for
200
537
77
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had a night and a half in Florence between the Sardinia and Tuscany legs of our spring holiday, so we really just wanted a reasonable room central to the historic sights. The location was fantastic. Make sure that you head towards the Oltarno (south of the river) for something a little less crowded for drinks and dinners.

We were placed in the new annex, the Palazzo Alfieri, and for my very modern tastes it was perfect. Freshly remodeled and furnished in a slick modern way. Breakfast is standard European hotel fare, did the job but nothing special.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahmstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I cannot recommended this hotel highly enough! The location is central, on the river, close to the Ponte Vecchio, all the major attractions are within easy walking distance. The public rooms are beautiful, the view from the balcony is delightful. The choice of delicious things to eat for breakfast was amazing. But the best things is the wonderful staff, receptionists, breakfast staff and the hard working cleaners, everyone of them contribute to making this a warm, friendly, fantastic place to stay. My very special thanks to Julia, you made me feel very special and helped make this a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valerie,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read your wonderful review and we are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.
Our staff is happy to read such a positive comment about their service.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Hotel Bretagna soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location, staff friendly, room decent size and clean. Good choice if you want something central and you can walk within the city. Breakfast was good,pretty standard eggs, bacon, fruit etc they kept our bags behind reception as we had some free time before going to train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated our location, our breakfast and our staff service.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a very enjoyable time at the Hotel and exploring Florence. It is now officially in my wonderful memories section!!
The Hotel is in a lovely position right on the river and I easily navigated all the wonderful piazzas as a single traveller and found my way back fine.

Room Tip: My room was the only issue as it was uninspiring and had seperate bathroom. However it was a minor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senoritagalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.
Hoping to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I loved my trip to Florence and this hotel was the perfect place to be based.
The hotel is overlooking the river and the view from our room which was a junior suite on the third floor was wonderful. You could really mires your self in the sights, sounds and smells of the city.
The breakfast was very good but the best thing was the staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, the girls on reception were always there with helpful advice about where to go and what to see next. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: River view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kate,

We are glad to read your positive review on Tripadvisor.
Nice to know that you appreciated very much our staff service,
it's the most important for us to make our guest stay very enjoyable.

We really hope to welcome you back soon.

Waremst regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There was nothing to complain with.
Breakfast could have been richer by local specialities, maybe more interesting bread.
Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.
Some rooms with view over Arno.
Parking was functioning perfectly with the private garage organized by the reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kamil,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadviosr.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our staff service.
Our breakfast respects the standard of a 4 star hotel and we are doing our best to maintain the high quality of food and beverage. The bread we serve is a Tuscan bread, genuine and traditional in Florence, it's also very healty because it's without salt.
Thank you again very much for this positive feedback.
Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you back soon.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#74 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#66 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing