We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This awful hotel soured me on Florence”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #120 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This awful hotel soured me on Florence”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Upon arrival with large luggage, we were told the lift was not working. We dragged luggage up what seemed like endless floors to the reception, then even more to the room. This room was ground zero for the bubonic plague: a broken window was held together with Scotch tape (Go 3M!), numerous layers of paint of every colour of the rainbow were chipping away, holes in the walls, the carpet was filthy, there was a large hole in the 'breakfast room' floor, old & cheap metal frame bed, strange spot on the floor that must have been a toilet at one point, no hot water out of our sink, our 'shared' bathroom was locked for 1 of the 3 nights so we wandered down the hall after knocking to be sure there wasn't some one in the bathroom in distress... the bathrooms we found smelled worse than an outhouse, I couldn't hold my breath for long enough to make it bearable. The room and hotel we got simply were not the same ones on the website... falso advertising - when we brought this up with staff, we were told they could not post pictures of EVERY room on the website ... yet most of the rooms seemed to be the same, disgusting 'decor'. Don't stay here, there was not a single thing I enjoyed here; this hotel soured me on the city. What was worse, was that we stayed at far nicer hotels in Venice & Rome (generally expensive cities) for less money. Hotel Bretagna, clean up your act!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    431
    105
    37
    29
See reviews for
200
552
80
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on out trip round Italy on our honeymoon, as we stayed in 4 different places in italy, they couldn't all be luxury so florence was the cheapest hotel we stayed at. I was told my my new husband not to expect much but I was pleasantly surprised. It had a wonderful river front central location. It was an old characterful building with a beautiful chandelier in the lobby. It seemed to me that they have recently had some new rooms added (it looked like they had bought another building next door as it was a long way to our room, through a door to a refurbished part of the hotel. I have read some of the other older reviews and it seems that the old rooms can't have been that great so I think we were lucky - ask for a new room!
Anyway, the room was spacious, classy and elegantly decorated with a lovely bathroom with a shower and a bath. Do not leave the windows open due to mossies from the river though - great view from our room. I wouldn't recommend this to people with mobility problems as a lot of stairs and one tiny lift - we had to put our luggage in the lift and walk up the stairs.
Breakfast ok but not brilliant (it is 2 star after all) the breakfast room was dark and dingy but it is an old building.

  • Liked — location, view, lovely room.
  • Disliked — breakfast not great and breakfast room dark and dingy
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank e-fraz1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We splurged for the most expensive room in the place- about 80 euros a night for an amazing view of the river, 2 beds, and a jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfast was good every morning. The desk staff was very nice and helpful. The only downside was that their elevator was broken- carrying suitcases up 5 flights of stairs was not fun.
Overall, a great place. A bit of a hidden jewel.

  • Liked — The view and the convienience of being right near the center of town
  • Disliked — The broken elevator
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank waterangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We booked via lastminute.com and paid an excellent rate for a huge room overlooking the arno. Staff were friendly and it was superb to have such a central location.

Having lived in Florence in the road behind this hotel and having visited many times over the years, I can honestly say this was the best value for money and the ideal hotel to stay in with regards to the location.

The breakfast is basic and the communal rooms in dire need of attention. The lift was not working either. However, the room was large and the bathroom too. The bed was hard but we slept like logs. I just hope we can get a similar bargain when the renovation works are completed. Somehow I doubt it!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no working lift and plenty of stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eldridge495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We got a fantastic room with a marvelous view at the ponte vecchio!
Big beautiful room with a large bed and jacuzzi! Good breakfast, nice staff, especially the owner! Highly recommended.

  • Liked — the rooms and the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toscane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

The afternoon and evening hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We got a newly renovated room that was very spacious with an amazing view of the Arno. It really helped that we visited off season because the room rate was remarkable. The bathroom was very spacious and cleaned daily, it was nice to have both a shower with good shower head pressure and a jetbath. Breakfast was an average continental breakfast that was good for getting us started with something in the morning.

The hotel is in such a great location. Florence is a very compact city, we walked from the train station with our backpacks and found it easily within 15 minutes. The Ponte Vecchio is about 10 minutes walk down the road and if you cross to the other side of the Arno there is a grocery store and an internet cafe.

A few negatives:
-the elevator wasn't working because of renovations, have to walk about 2-3 flights to get to room. (yet we are a young couple so it was not a big deal.)
-there was no phone or clock (so we could not do a wake up call or set an alarm).
-the bed was rock hard, which we never got use to in our 3 night stay.
-the smell that other reviewers were talking about did exist when we walked into the building but it was not present in our rooms thank goodness.
-the light/window fixtures in the room looked like they were about to fall off, and one actually was off already.

  • Liked — View of Arno, New Rooms and Bathroom
  • Disliked — Hard Bed
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jv_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

The location is superb. The service was top notch. Our party stayed in one triple and one double. The double was recently renovated and excellent in all furnishings and design. The triple was average and had difficulty with enough hot water and water pressure. We arrived later in the evening and found the gentleman at the front desk most helpful with our car (parking is a big issue in Florence) our multiple bags and tips on the area. We would all stay at this hotel again. We were in very close proximity to all we wanted to see and do. We had the garage come and pick up our car upon check in and did not need it again until our departure. Internet was available in the lounge area. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — Location and historical building
  • Disliked — Water pressure/temperature issues
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#64 of 412 in Florence
606 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 412 in Florence
1,528 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#82 of 412 in Florence
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#179 of 412 in Florence
409 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#49 of 412 in Florence
450 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing