We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bretagna
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$758
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$717
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$719
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$1,085
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
511
439
113
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
439
113
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverponte vecchiogreat locationjunior suitehigh ceilingsjacuzzi bathold palacetrain stationhistoric buildingwithin walking distancebeautiful roomtourist attractionspitti palacehotel is locatedbreakfast is servedcroissantson foot
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and I chose this hotel for two reasons: The location was great, right on the river (our bedroom overlooked the Arno) and the price was right. Our room was large but too plain and sterile. The paint on the wall was peeling. We think that we got unlucky based upon pictures we saw of other rooms -- who knows. And their breakfast was very meager -- worse than pretty much any hotel breakfast we've ever seen. We skipped it. Overall, we would only recommend the hotel if you would like to stay at a hotel on the river for that price range.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 14 to 18 May 2009 in triple room overlooking the river Arno. The hotel is situated right on the bank of the river Arno and we had beautiful scenes every morning and evening from our window. This hotel, they say, is 800 years old mansion converted to the hotel, but it had all the modern amenities including free wifi throughout the hotel. Our room was large enough for 3 people and had jaccuzi in the bathroom. But this is a 2 star hotel, they only change the towels every 3 days!
On the 4th day, still they didn't change our towels, but when requested, they changed them finally. The breakfast was ok, not many varieties but enough to start a day. Firenze's historical center is very small and you could cover everything by walking, but the hotel is situated very conveniently to go to all the sites, Uffizi, Duomo, Academia, Capella Medici, Veccio, etc., even to the Station. We stayed at Hotel Bellchieli last time. The locatin was better, breakfast was better, but more expensive. But I think the hotel Bretagna gave us almost the same service in less money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Yuko2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Hotel Bretagna is around 600m from Train station which you can go there on foot with 10 - 15 mins.

The rooms are super BIG with very traditional & elegant decoration!!!!! (almost 3 times bigger than those with similar price!!)
There was a promotion with no-refund package for the suite and that is why I chose this.

FREE wifi and with an excellent river view on the lobby to see Ponte Vecchio!!

Staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Our recent stay in Hotel Bretagna was while visiting our daughter who was studying abroad. It was very close to her apartment. The front desk was nice at check in and check out. That is all we saw them. The breakfast was simple. The room was large in comparison. You must ask for one of the new rooms. The bathroom was new and big also. There was no view. The bed was comfortable. There was a TV, no phone, no internet, no clock. The price was cheap and we were never in the room so it worked for us perfectly. As long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecodbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

This is a 19th c. palazzo overlooking the Arno, just down the street from the Uffizi. Staff friendly with good English, rooms clean, breakfast more than adequate. Room size is adequate for sleeping, two having a bathroom down the hall which was always quiet and clean. Revamping of the common areas is ongoing so to be expected. But look at the ceilings. And the walls in the "bar" area. And the sitting room. And the balcony overlooking the river. Incredible value for the money say my Tuscan friends. As a budget hotel this is a winner!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews