We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bretagna
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$543
US$527
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$765
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$150
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$451
US$361
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,288
US$1,114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$869
US$737
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$454
US$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$621
US$590
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
508
438
111
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
438
111
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverponte vecchiogreat locationjunior suitehigh ceilingsjacuzzi bathold palacetrain stationhistoric buildingwithin walking distancebeautiful roomtourist attractionspitti palacehotel is locatedbreakfast is servedcroissantson foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Bretagna in a superior room with a view. It was a wonderful room with a gorgeous view of the Arno river. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Plus, the breakfast was simple but filling. I would absolutely stay here again if I return to Florence. The location was also superb.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crendon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbonile, Owner at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

We really hope to see you again in Florence.

Thank you very much for your review.

regards
Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hotel looks clean enough and it is basic, but then again you dont pay a lot to be in a good location. However we are pretty sure that the bites we got (and we all got over 20!) were bed bugs. I wouldnt recommend this place purely for that reason.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toolbox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbonile, Owner at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

We are very sorry for stapling she has received during the stay with us. We did check the room from a company specializing in pest control and found no harmful insects. However we arranged to disinfect the room.

Best regards
Fabrizio Botticelli
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

All I know is, when I left the hotel I had over 20 bites all over my body.

I had stayed at Bretagna 7 years ago, and LOVED it, but this time I was bitten to the quick, and the staff was surly.

Not recommended by me

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbonile, Owner at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Until the day of publication of his commentary on this site, had no complaints about bedbugs stapler. We were not informed in good time otherwise we would have done so to disinfect the room immediately. Unfortunately this did not happen and disinfection was carried out only after the next client was probably also a pinched by the same insects. As you can read in the comments later.
Anyway I invite you to check your suitcase carefully, because as you know the bugs like the old cloth bags while we hate the modern cases and is known as the bugs move from place to place through the luggage of guests. Please check your luggage and possibly throw it away, only to avoid transporting bedbugs in another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed in a double room, shared bath at Hotel Bretagna in Sep 2009. This was the 'basic' room, and payed 65 euro/night. Apparently, the rave reviews for this hotel are for the 'superior' rooms which are significantly more expensive. The 'basic' room was overall just OK. It was fairly clean, except for the dead mosquitos stuck to the walls. My only other issues was that the bed spread appeared to be about 35 years old, and the wi-fi did not work consistently. Otherwise, a good stay.
The real benefits of this hotel is that it is located right on the river Arno, not far from Ponte Vecchio, and that it is located in an old palace. Check out the ballroom next to the breakfast room. Beautiful, except closed off to hotel patrons (not sure why).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoJetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

A three night stay as part of city break, had a HUGE room on the front of the hotel with views of the Ponte Vecchio. The air conditioning was great, the bathroom was clean with good water pressure (much needed after a sweaty August day) and big comfy bed (I'm 6'4" - so an important feature). Good value for money but in hindsight would pay a little more for a hotel with a pool. Friendly, helpful staff, and overall a very relaxed place to stay. Top tip - ask for the floor above reception, there are 3 rooms on a mezzanine floor so no long corridors of bedroom doors with other guests passing by. They're modern, large and front facing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axisoflive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews