We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzuolo
Ranked #328 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A stone's throw from the train station. Spacious rooms, air-conditioning and TV all fine. Bathroom set up was a little odd - narrow, with the shower in between the basin and the toilet!? Easy walking distance to the centre and all major tourist attractions. One negative: older man on overnight reception duty tried to grope my friend when she was drunk after asking to take some photos with her.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

My family (2 adults, 3 children under 12) stayed here for 1 night. Our room was large and new, not fancy, sparsely decorated but with all the necessities: a bathroom (looked newly done, very clean), A/c, a TV....We had a queen bed and 2 singles. The sheets and towels were clean and crisp, we all slept well. We paid 85 euro for the 5 of us, not a bad deal in Florence! breakfast is 3euro and a good deal. The hotel is located on a quiet street very close to the station. free wi-fi throughout.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different I think and all over the building (up and down and over different stairs). O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Arriving in Florence a little after midnight, Hotel Palazzuolo was chosen for a cheap crash pad - and that's what it was.

Our room was clean, open and spacious, located through the hotel, down some stairs and next to the buffet breakfast.

After a good night's sleep, we woke up to brilliant Italian sunshine, the sound of mopeds outside and an eagerness to explore the wonders of Florence, which is a beautiful city.

Great little cheap crash pad - not The Ritz; but it is what it is!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrazJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

stay here if you're only in Florence for a very quick visit enroute to another location otherwise it really is just a very very basic BnB - basic amenities, old looking rooms. Paid €65, so that says it all. Location is great - although anywhere in Florence is good - given the size of the city. The hotel is very close to SMN station and to all the attractions. This isn't a hotel for a romantic getaway, or with family - more a backpackers ideal. Nevertheless, room provided an 'ok' clean bed, and a 'clean' basic bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We arrived late at Hotel Palazzuolo (around 1am) - it has a 24 hour reception which immediately makes it better than any of the similarly-priced hostels in Florence.

Our room was very large and clean, with comfortable beds, bed linen in good condition and an en-suite bathroom (even though I don't think we booked a room with an en-suite bathroom). The decor wasn't luxury quality (there were nail holes that had been filled with unpainted polyfilla, for example), but the price was great and we really just needed somewhere we could comfortably spend a night. The water was hot in the shower, the place seemed safe and secure and the receptionists were friendly. We got a good night's sleep and were not bothered by any noise from the street.

The hotel has an un-manned breakfast room where you can have a nice breakfast of croissants, cake, toast, coffee, muesli etc.

The location is perfect - 5 minutes' walk from the main station, 10 minutes' walk from the Duomo.

I'd happily recommend this place to anyone - it's like a friendly Italian equivalent to a Travelodge!

You wouldn't want to spend your honeymoon here, but as a 'base camp' in Florence (where hotels are quite expensive), Hotel Palazzuolo was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prooshty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here with my Mrs. in mid April 2012, I was a bit apprehensive having read some of the bad reviews on here and once again I was glad I ignored all the "DON'T STAY HERE" reviews. Basically it's a 1 star hotel in the centre of Florence (2 mins walk from the main station), it's very cheap and cheerful, my attitude is if you want 5 star pay for it, if you are looking for somewhere central to lay your head for a few days that doesn't cost the earth then this is the place if you visit Florence. Firstly after we checked in we found the guy on reception to be friendly and helpful, although the guy who worked the night shift spoke little english (this is not a complaint as I was an english person visiting Italy), secondly we found the room to be adequate, it was clean and the bathroom was clean too, the shower was good, the bed was a little uncomfy as it was 2 single beds pushed together but not a major problem for either of us. I read some reviews on here complaining about the floors being tiled which I found to be a bit ridiculous, I mean yes the hotel has floor tiles, so what? I thought it gave off an air of cleanliness, and if the guy who owns the hotel likes tiles who am I to complain about it, anyway virtually every building you enter in Florence has tiled floors so if you don't like tiles don't go to Florence. Also the complaints about the stairs where a bit ridiculous too, I mean all the buildings in Florence are old narrow 4 storey type buildings with tiled roofs and narrow staircases, so unless you are very elderly or disabled I wouldn't worry too much about the stairs. Anyway to sum up my review I'd say this about the Palazzuolo: It's a 1 star, don't expect 5, it's cheap, it's clean and tidy, it's central. So if you stay at the Palazzuolo and don't expect it to be the Ritz you won't be disappointed. Would I stay here again? Yes, if I decide in the future to visit Florence again for a day or 2 I'd check in here no worries. If I visit Florence for a week with the kids or In-laws then maybe I'd look elsewhere. I paid a total of 105 euros for 2 nights here for me and the Mrs. and I wasn't expecting it to be the Hilton, so If you have the same attitude you will have no complaints about the Palazzuolo. Anyway if you decide to book the Palazzuolo it's really close to the station, you head to the right as you leave the station, cross the tram lines and street, you will see an american bar, keep it to your left and walk past it, then turn next left, walk straight up to lights, go straight over and up to next street then right, the hotel is no. 71 Via Palazzuolo. If you exit the station and are facing a McDonalds on the other side of the road then you need to turn to your right and cross the tram tracks as before. In front of the station to the right is the Santa Maria Novella Church, behind the church is a big square, in one corner is the Roma Hotel, Via Palazzuolo can be reached from here too, just walk about 30 yards past the Roma with it on your left and Via Palazzuolo is on the right.

Room Tip: No. 23 was at the back and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed there for three nights and it was perfect for us since we were looking for something cheap in a good location and just to sleep. Our room was in a separate building inside in had a private bathroom. It was clean and very spacious for European style rooms in this type of hotel. We didn't have breakfast included but there were quite a few shops close by that opened till late and sold groceries and food. It was about 7 minutes from the station and 10 to 15 minutes from the main sites in the city center. Bed was relatively comfortable and there was hot water. There was good wifi. Staff might seem serious, but they were helpful, specially a nice man that called to help us sort out some problems we had with another booking. The only thing we didn't like was the constant smell of cigarettes. There was no smoking in the building but there seemed to be a smell that never went away. Apart from this we would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Likes: LOCATION, ROOM, CLEANLINESS, PRICE, WIFI
Dislike: SMELL OF CIGARETTES

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniechis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 409 in Florence
706 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 409 in Florence
243 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 409 in Florence
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#352 of 409 in Florence
423 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#313 of 409 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Address: Via Palazzuolo 71, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £27 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzuolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing