We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in Florence, Italy”
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cestelli
Ranked #238 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenbrae, California, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in Florence, Italy”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and enjoy every experience. The couple who run the hotel, Alessio and Asumi, are gracious and accommodating. The hotel is quiet and perfectly situated amidst the busyness of Florence -- truly a treat. Rates are reasonable, too. We are charmed by the Hotel Cestelli, which is a tribute to the owners.

Room Tip: Some rooms require shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_and_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    59
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
121
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying at Hotel Cestelli was a delight. After long days of walking around the city, it felt nice returning to our temporary home in the beautiful 12th century palace.

We checked in at night, entering a dimly lit lobby full of antique furniture and a large stained glass window like you'd find in an old church. I must find out what musky scent filled the air.

The room was spotless, simply furnished but completely adequate for a short stay. We shared the bathroom and had a sink in the room. I could only find one electrical outlet, which wasn't unexpected in an ancient building. I recommend bringing an extension cord or power strip anyway when traveling.

The hotel is located near the Salvatore Ferragamo shoe museum and around the corner from a street lined with designer stores...Celine, Gucci, Pucci, Hermes, etc. The Ponte Vecchio bridge is around the corner. Many restaurants and cathedrals are nearby.

If you're looking for an economical hotel and appreciate simplicity, give Hotel Cestelli a try.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We would definitely stay here again. The room was simple but comfortable and the location was excellent. The best part was the hosts, Alessio and Asumi. Allessio was so friendly and gave us great suggestions about where to eat and what to do in Florence. Florence is ridiculously crowded with tourists and it does get overwhelming at times. With his advice we were able to avoid many of the tourist crowds, find good places to eat and make the most of our two days there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent a really nice journey in this place.
Alessi and Asumi are really kind, pleasant and helpfull.

Rooms are clean, and nice.

Prices are in adequation with the place;

I will advice to all my friends and family this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijounanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked based on the Lonely Planet listing and found that Cestelli exceeded our expectations.

Only marginally more expensive than our 6 bed dorm at a hostel in Rome, this 1 star hotel in Florence, run by Italian-Japanese couple Alessio and Asumi, was excellent value. The first impression created by the hallway was lovely – the old palace has the patterned marble floors, is furnished with traditional/antique-looking furniture, and complemented by Japanese touches like oriental lamp shades, orchids, tiny paper cranes, candles and pot pourri. The room (room 8) was massive, had a really comfortable bed, wardrobe, strong wifi signal, sink and was just as nicely furnished. The shared bathroom was always immaculate – only thing was that the hot water took quite a while to heat up.

The location was also fantastic – easy to find from the station (10-15 min walk), in the historic centre, right near the river where you can cross over to find some off the beaten track dining, shopping etc.

There isn’t air conditioning which was okay because the building stayed cool, but it was a little noisy with the window open – wasn’t a huge problem for us but might be if you’re a light sleeper.

And Alessio and Asumi were lovely, passionate about their city and gave us some excellent recommendations for food and sightseeing. Stay here!

Room Tip: Room 8 is really large and has strong wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colle Val d'Elsa, Toscana, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Upon my trip to Florence I had never stayed in anything close to a hostel, and must say I was a little nervous about having a one bedroom with a shared bathroom. Little did I know there was little to be worried about. Upon arrival Alessio and Asumi the two owners greeted me with open arms and big smiles. My room was all ready to go and when I enter I was pleasantly surprised! There was a neatly folded towel on my bed with a little bar of soap and a mint. In my room I had my own private sink, two chairs and a little wardrobe for my belongings. I stayed two nights and was able to come and go as I please with no one to bother me. That being said someone was never far, at the front desk if you ring the little bell someone is there to help you in seconds! "Thanks Asumi"! I am glad this place is not on hostel world and is still one of those little Gems, especially seeing as I had to book with short notice it worked out perfectly! For those of you wondering if this place will hurt your wallet for my Single private room with shared bathroom it was 50 euro a night so if a little more privacy in important to you and do not want to stay in a 8 person shared room in Florence for the average of 30-35 euro, splurge and spend that extra 15 euro a night you will not regret it. Last but not least there is free wifi and the internet is great! Almost forgot about the location! It is wonderful right by Trinita bridge 10-15 minutes away from any attraction you would like to visit in Florence! A must stay if you visit wonderful Firenze!

Thanks Alessio and Asumi you were wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This little hotel was absolutely wonderful. Although it is a "one star" hotel, it definitely has the service, cleanliness, and coziness of a 5 star! We only got to interact with one of the owners, and she was amazing. She was so helpful in suggesting things to do in Florence and she was very friendly, always welcoming you with a smile! The location of this hotel was perfect!! It was easy to walk to from the train station. It was just one little street north of the river beside one of the bridges, so it was easy to get to all the attractions, restaurants, and shops!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which was one of the rooms with its own bathroom, and if having your own bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiryu1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#201 of 411 in Florence
293 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#127 of 640 in Florence
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#413 of 640 in Florence
214 reviews
Uffizi
Affittacamere Bed and Breakfast Fiordaliso
Uffizi
Bed & Breakfast Tornabuoni View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Property: Hotel Cestelli
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 25, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing