We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bargain ever, super location - awesome!”
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cestelli
Ranked #228 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place is very near perfection for a traveller not looking for a resort.

The negatives are well promoted and not a big deal but worth a mention;
- it has only one shared bathroom for those rooms without their own bathroom
- it has no lift but is only on the 2nd floor
- it has no TV - not a big deal in Florence but maybe for some.

The positives are endless not least the bargain price. The location is absolutely superb, only a street back from the river near the Pontivecchio and in the cutest street ever. The building itself is beautiful with a huge door, a 500 yr old bust above it and has a very nice first impression.

The people who run it are perfect - friendly, so warm and helpful - you just want to talk to them and listen to their advice and get to know them - also a very cute couple.

The feel of the accommodation is wonderful - I have stayed in many types of accommodation like this and many are outdated and very average. This place is very cute and a little trendy looking - really nice.

They have all the tourist info you need to get started and within minutes you can be in the thick of it or away from it - up to you.

Clearly I love this place and for the price, I don't think you will come close - enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_alewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time - the room was immaculate, the location excellent, great value for money and most of all, the owners were so friendly and charming, and full of recommendations, we couldn't have asked for much more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a 10 day stay at Hotel Cestelli. Alessio and Assumi, the owners, are as charming as their lovely hotel.

Alessio speaks perfect English and Italian and generously answers any question one might have. This trip, I was able to navigate the Italian post office, after he explained exactly what I needed to do. It is a joy to be greeted by sweet Assumi after a returning in the evening.

The hotel location is absolutely perfect and safe, just one block from Ponte Vecchio. They are just a few doors from Ferragamo.

The spotlessly clean interior of the hotel is furnished with beautiful antiques. The beds are comfortable.

The building ambience and the personal attention given to each guest, makes this a 5 star in my opinion.


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlene France... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cestelli at the end of September. What a great experience! The hosts were welcoming and extremely helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations. The location couldn't be better -- located a ten minute walk from the train station, and five minutes from the Arno, the Uffizi, Palazzo Vecchio, Duomo and many other major Florence sites. The street it's on is quiet. We stayed in a room with a shared bathroom, which was fine. Room very clean, basic, quiet. Would definitely stay here again or recommend to others!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and enjoy every experience. The couple who run the hotel, Alessio and Asumi, are gracious and accommodating. The hotel is quiet and perfectly situated amidst the busyness of Florence -- truly a treat. Rates are reasonable, too. We are charmed by the Hotel Cestelli, which is a tribute to the owners.

Room Tip: Some rooms require shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_and_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying at Hotel Cestelli was a delight. After long days of walking around the city, it felt nice returning to our temporary home in the beautiful 12th century palace.

We checked in at night, entering a dimly lit lobby full of antique furniture and a large stained glass window like you'd find in an old church. I must find out what musky scent filled the air.

The room was spotless, simply furnished but completely adequate for a short stay. We shared the bathroom and had a sink in the room. I could only find one electrical outlet, which wasn't unexpected in an ancient building. I recommend bringing an extension cord or power strip anyway when traveling.

The hotel is located near the Salvatore Ferragamo shoe museum and around the corner from a street lined with designer stores...Celine, Gucci, Pucci, Hermes, etc. The Ponte Vecchio bridge is around the corner. Many restaurants and cathedrals are nearby.

If you're looking for an economical hotel and appreciate simplicity, give Hotel Cestelli a try.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank SheilaLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We would definitely stay here again. The room was simple but comfortable and the location was excellent. The best part was the hosts, Alessio and Asumi. Allessio was so friendly and gave us great suggestions about where to eat and what to do in Florence. Florence is ridiculously crowded with tourists and it does get overwhelming at times. With his advice we were able to avoid many of the tourist crowds, find good places to eat and make the most of our two days there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#167 of 410 in Florence
273 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#214 of 410 in Florence
171 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Bretagna
Hotel Bretagna
#132 of 410 in Florence
1,106 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#265 of 410 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 25, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £37 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing