We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Relais Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Santa Croce
Ranked #116 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a 24 room hotel nested in an old mansion. We stayed Nov 25 - 29. We booked this hotel because the famous 3-star restaurant is in the hotel and we can conveniently go back to room after dinner.

It is typical of a mansion-converted hotel where rooms are all differently decorated. Front office staff toured us around the hotel, showing us the beautiful music room and dinning area.

We were assigned a room on top floor where we can see the doom from our window. :) However, there was a beam running right on top of the bed. Somehow, I did not sleep well. :(

Otherwise, it is conveniently located, with walking distance to main attractions.

Staff are friendly and helpful. However, I expected them to be able to recognize us, like in Asian small luxurious hotels. But, we were asked everyday for room number when we went for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are like me, believe in the myth that sleeping under a beam is no good, please confirm room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your past stay at Relais Santa Croce. Your good impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
I am anyway sorry to read that you did not sleep very well during the stay and I am furthermore sorry that you did not report that to us because I am sure we would have resolved this little issue.
I truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Firenze where we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations.


Arrivederci,


Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    73
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
231
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We got a special deal for a junior suite which was really nice. The hotel is a refurbished Palazzo with all the amenities of a boutique hotel. The rooms are big and the views are over the city roofs. Good, comfortable beds and very quiet location, although in the middle of the old town. The breakfast buffet is exceptional and breakfast is served in one of the main old reception rooms, which has a very special atmosphere. The hotel offers valet parking for guests for Euro 35 which is very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Mr. Henry,

I really appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Arrivederci,

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for three nights in this hotel for our anniversary break. It's in the perfect location for exploring Florence on foot, it fact you'd struggle to get better I think. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was lovely and very spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. We loved the look of the hotel and all the staff were amazingly helpful. The only let down for us was the food. We arrived late the first night and being in a unfamiliar city decided to eat in the hotel. It's a great shame but it was the worst meal of our stay. Unusal items, all individually nice, put together to make strange combinations, under cooked patsa (one dish was very al dente, fine, but the other the pasta was raw), just not really up to standard and it didn't encourage us to use the restaurant again. We were tired, hungary and on a special holiday so didn't want to complain and make a scene. The breakfast however was lovely, a brilliant selection constantly replenished and all very appealing. You would be hard pressed to not find something suitable for everyone. Overall a lovely stay and we would definately stay there again but this time would not be staying for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie-Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us. I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even if you were not totally satisfied due to the incoveniences at our restaurant.
For sure we did not perform up to our high standards and I am so sorry for that.
On your next trip to Florence and to Relais Santa Croce, I will be honored to invite you to our restaurant Guelfi e Ghibellini.
I am extremely sure that we will revise your last negative impressions.

Thank you and Arrivederci.


Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived very late in the evening but were greeted by a wonderful staff that made us feel so very welcome. We were given a brief history of the property and also good information of where we could get dinner so late. This is a lovely old property - lots of history here. Our rooms were very nice - great linens, great a/c, pretty baths with good bath products. Our room rate did include breakfast. What a treat!!! It was a beautiful breakfast setting and you could order eggs any way you liked. This breakfast was an over the top treat. The property is close enough that you can walk to the Duomo and museums. The taxi from the train station was about 15 euros for the four of us. I would highly recommend this property while visiting Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
I will be extremely delighted to share your words with the entire team, who I am certain will be impressed and encouraged by your remarks.
I am sure you know that we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon to Firenze.

Grazie and arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a Jr Suite which had a wonderful view over the rooftops with a nice view of the Duomo. Great location and nice accomodations. Excellent decor and room amenities. Very friendly staff. Rates are rational for Florence, but breakfast is not included and costs E25 per person. There are a couple of coffe bars next door where b'fast can be had for 2 for under E10. We got some great restaurant recommendations from the concierge including the Il Franscano which is 2 blocks away and was super.
We loved this hotel and its funky/palace vibe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LDog421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Relais Santa Croce.
Your kind words will certainly encourage us of doing even better.
I assure you that we would be more than honored to be your "home away from home" for all your next trips to Firenze and we all look forward to serving you in the near future.

Grazie and Arrivederci!

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in September and we had the most wonderful experience. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the very friendly staff and given a tour and brief history of the building. The staff went above and beyond in all instances and I cannot speak highly enough of them!

The entire hotel is very elegant and beautiful - be sure to look up at the incredible frescoes on the ceilings in the common areas! Our room was also beautifully decorated and had a wonderful bathroom and a great shower. (I always appreciate a good bathroom!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou_4484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review regarding your recent stay at Relais Santa Croce.
You have perfectly described the atmosphere of our palace and I thank you again for that.
I wish to assure you that I will share your comments with all Team, which will be encouraged by you remarks.

Grazie and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Florence next year.

Arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated within walking distance to all the important sights in Florence.
It is a small hotel run by the manager Mr. Carta.
Everyone was very personable and friendly.
Our junior suite had a magnificent view of the Basilica at Santa Croce, something which certainly added to our very pleasant stay.The breakfast room was intimate and had excellent service. The choices were extensive and well presented. The hotel took hospitality to the next level. Our concierge/reception person in particular stood out. His name was Robert Caddeo. He knew Florence like a book and gave us wonderful suggestions for sightseeing and dining. Roberto was a special individual who took his job very seriously and made a point of pleasing the guests at all times.The location, ambience, and personal service made this hotel exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your excellent comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I thank you again.
Surely I will share you comments with the Team and Roberto, who will be extremely delighted and motivated.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we all look forward to serving you in the near future.

A presto!

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#138 of 411 in Florence
550 reviews
Hotel Regency
#147 of 411 in Florence
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#71 of 411 in Florence
917 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Croce

Property: Relais Santa Croce
Address: Via Ghibellina 87, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Croce 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect balance between the luxury of a bygone era and modern comforts In the historic centre of Florence, an eighteenth century residence hosts the exclusive, refined Relais Santa Croce, a luxury hotel in Florence. Surrounded by its sumptuous furnishings and frescoed ceilings, you will be assisted by highly professional staff of this hotel in Florence and delighted by the evocative nature of this truly extraordinary location in which luxury and refinement are the predominant features. It is the ideal destination for those seeking the intimacy of a private residence in Florence. The hotel restaurant, Guelfi e Ghibellini, offers innovative, seasonal regional menus. Furthermore, situated within the same building as the Relais Santa Croce is the Enoteca Pinchiorri, a three-star Michelin restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Croce Florence
Relais Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing