We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing collection of renaissance art!”

Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.14*
and up
The Private Residence of Medici Dynasty: Pitti Palace
Ranked #29 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Meriden, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of renaissance art!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We liked this collection more than the larger Ufizzi Museum across the river. It was less crowded, just as awesome, and set in the residential rooms of the Palazzo Pitti.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RCFSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    296
    70
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another beautiful palace, the Medici's knew how to live!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful, you will need the whole day to do the Royal apartments, the museums and the gardens. So much to see, the porcelain museum is at the top of the garden, a very very steep climb but worth every step when you see the view from the top. Magnificent!!!! One major disappointment is the cafe. Service is non existent and the food and drinks are overpriced. We ordered coffee, water and food. We were lucky enough, after several reminders and requests, to get the coffee and the water. We never got any food. Take a bottle of water (or two) and some sandwiches with you, don't risk the cafe but enjoy the palace and all it has to offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A stiff neck!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Massively ostentatious and luxurious - the wealth of the privileged few in Medieval times was incalculable.
The Palazzo is huge and the gardens are also not to be missed.
However, the highlight for me was the ceiling frescos in room after room after room.They are absolutely magnificent and true masterpieces in their own right the time, effort, talent and workmanship required to create them is almost beyond comprehension. You too will get a stiff neck if you walk around with your head back and your eyes skywards!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peeceecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Closed on Thursday after 2:00 PM”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Unfortunately we were not able to look this. We reached around 2:15 in the afternoon on Thursday. It closes at 2:00 PM on Thursday so plan accordingly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RenuNAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another stunning experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited late in the day on opportunity there were no queues but we had limited time to see the artworks beautiful apartments and rooms full of wonderful works

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing