We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bologna
Ranked #133 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2013. Room 16 was smallish but comfortable, clean and quiet, with a peaceful view and (unlike many places) a screen on the large and beautiful window. Shower is tiny, so keep that in mind. Continental breakfast selection each day was wonderful, with a large, fresh, and well presented selection. It is a bit of a walk to major attractions but we didn't mind and enjoyed the residential neighborhood atmosphere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations of all kinds. Beds were quite comfortable and the room was a good value for its very reasonable cost. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 16 faces the rear, with plants and trees in the near view, and less traffic noise than would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    154
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
109
121
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in Florence and enjoyed our hotel very much! We were comfortable with an excellent shower and a breakfast room with ABUNDANT selection. The staff was so helpful and we ate well at their recommendations every day. The walk to the Centro Storico was about a 20 minute hoof, but we were all fine with it. The area the hotel is in is very quiet and pleasant. I wish I could remember the brothers' names who worked the front desk! Thank you for all your advice and help. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacanzainItalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family stayed for four nights. The room was very neat and clean but not that large for a four person suite. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast. The location was in my opinion too far to walk to the attractions but taking a taxi was only about 8 to 10 euros each way. For the price of the room it was worth the taxi fare. Overall it is a good value if you are looking for something simple and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imglad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wonderful service, the front desk was very helpful from food recommendations to car service. The breakfast served was a great start to the day with choices for the adults and kids (7 and 9). Beds were comfortable. Room was small, but expected as much in Europe.
Location was in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to everything without being in the middle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We checked-in much earlier than the check-in time. The staff whose nick-name is Ant was very friendly and helpful. She not only had the room ready right away, but also offered us an itchy-relief medicine when she saw that my son and daughter got many mosquito-bite bumps. The room was tidy and clean and comfortable. Another amazing thing is that Ant offered an earlier breakfast for us when she knew that we would leave earlier the next morning. And the breakfast was a big surprise for my family. It was like you went into a five-star restaurant. Fresh fruits, cheese, bread, juice...everything you need at breakfast. It was amazing! I would like to refer this hotel to all of my friends who will go to Florence. Although it is 30 minutes walk from the SMN train station, you can take bus route 14. Just remember to ask for the bus stop.
Ant, I wish you all the best and hope I can have chance to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

When we first walked into the room, we thought, what had we paid that much for !? The room was simple and small, but pretty clean. When we wanted to go to sleep, we had problem with air conditioning - it was extremely loud and it was not working properly ! I have to say (write), that the personel was really very helpful and pleasant. It was approx. 700m from the strait center in the quiet district. I know, that this is a 2 stars hotel, so I couldn't expect so much, but as for that standard, the price should be a bit lower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazurek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had an excellent stay here from July 30th to July 31st of 2013. We booked this hotel as we had to catch a train departing the next day from Firenze Campo di Marte station. Don't be fooled by maps as the hotel has a great location! It's located in a friendly and authentic residential neighborhood, and is secluded from the hustle and bustle of the city. The walk to the attractions, such as the Duomo, Piazza della Signoria, and the Ponte Vecchio, was much shorter than we thought it would be. The walk was only 20 minutes and was pretty much a straight path. It was definitely worth the walk as you pass various cute little shops and places to eat. Plus, you couldn't beat the sight of seeing the Duomo suddenly come into sight! In addition to the location, the hotel was absolutely amazing for the value. The people at the front desk were extremely friendly and accommodating, and gave us a map with directions to the attractions. The room was a great size and was VERY clean! The air conditioner worked great too. In the morning a nice arrange of breakfast choices was available. The staff was so nice they offered to hold our bags after checkout for us to pick up later after a day shopping in the city. You definitely can't go wrong with this hotel and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bastia97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#106 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#142 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Florent
#158 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Property: Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Orcagna 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#84 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bologna 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in a quiet street, a 5-minute walk from the River Arno. All our rooms have air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Bologna Hotel's rooms have simple decoration and a private bathroom with hairdryer and free toiletries. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the wood-beamed breakfast room. The hotel is located close to the heart of Florence, just a 15-20-minute walk along the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. You will find many restaurants, shops and bars between the city centre and the Hotel Bologna. The public parking is available on the streets around the Hotel and the bus stop to the city centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing