We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #145 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel and found it pleasant enough. We were put in the new annex, the room had an amazing ceiling. The hotel was very close to the train station but unfortunately this was a negative for us. Our room looked on to the back of the train station where several homeless people were setting up camp for the night. This made me feel a little uneasy about the area. It's an easy walk in to Florence and if you don't mind a bit of a dodgy area you will be fine. The hotel seemed quite under staff and the one person on reception had to deal with bookings, Internet requests and the bar! Overall ok stay comfy room, nice shower just let down by location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Embassy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel the morning we arrived, 100e for a twin room with breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more, easy to find, secure off street parking and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Florence. Ideal location and I would most definitely stay here again.

Breakfast had a good selection of cold meats, cereal, cakes, fresh fruit and juices.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Decent size room for our family of four. Very close to the train station, but you didn't feel like you were in the middle of the crowds. You can walk to the Duomo, Ufizzi and Ponte Vecchio fairly easily. Probably would have preferred to be closer to the Arno. Have to say the breakfast was very good, best of all hotels we stayed at in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dw2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

What a comfortable and convenient place to stay in Florence. Just a short walk from the Central Maria Novella Station in a quiet street. Easy walking to all parts of this wonderful city.
Rooms were very clean, modern and sheets changed each day. We had a twin room on the third floor which was fine for two people. Bathroom clean with big shower and nice smellies. Breakfast had a wide selection e.g. fruit, cereal and/or hot but small portions of everything, e.g. croissants, pastries and cereal bowls. Only room noise came from early morning trams outside. Would highly recommend for short stay travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Morag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is probably the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. As we entered the lobby, we noticed the floor wasn’t carpeted, but never thought much of it. However, things just got stranger by the second. There was just one attendant and one bell boy at the tiny little reception/concierge. Other than this, and of course the bold letters painted on the wall of "Hotel Embassy", there was nothing else that indicated this was a hotel. Thanks to its location in an isolated neighbourhood and lack of guests and staff, it shared much more likeness to a haunted house. The elevator ride and the dark floor passages only reinforced this feel.
Since we were 4 of us, we had requested for two connecting rooms.

The first look of the room was disturbing. Having past experience of connecting rooms to back us up, we knew there was something(more like a lot of things) wrong with the rooms.
They were more like a one master bed room with a walk-in closet. Beginning with the second room aka the walk-in closet: it had a huge hard bed, which took up more than three quarters of the space, no wardrobes, and instead a granite a shelf(which was as hard as the bed) to accommodate our luggage. Further, there was no bathroom, only a tiny washroom attached to this room. The other “bigger/master” bedroom was better, in that it had 2 wardrobes and a shelf (imagine our disbelief, joy and wonder ). It also had a full size bed, which unlike the other room’s was softer and had a spectacular memory-foam mattress; so much so that it never recovered its original shape after being slept on the first night. All in all, the night was a traumatic one. After getting up the next morning, showering and breakfast-ing at “Hotel California”, we decided to move to another hotel. Unfortunately, we had already paid for 3 nights, and they refused to reimburse us for even a single night although they claimed that they didn't have vacancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank italystay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Sir,
as you know, the room we put at your disposal is the room that your agency choose for you. At reservation time we proposed to your agency both 2 rooms close to each other and 2 interconnecting rooms explening that the second room has not the same size and characteristic of the first. Your agency choosed this second solution; anyway at check-in time we proposed you to change your interconnecting rooms with two double rooms but you refused.
We charged the agency only 1 of the 3 nights even if you cancell 2 nights after the cancellation time and I'm dissappointed that the agency didn't refund you.
Rgds
Irene Vezzosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed @ this hotel in June 2013. The room was large and so was the bathroom. The bathroom had a large vanity where you could put out all your toiletries. Our room was in the front of the hotel and the train came by every few minutes from 5:45 AM to midnight every day. It was loud. The breakfast was good. You had to pay for WiFi, but it was still very hard to connect. They had a nice outside space where you could sit and have your coffee. We found the staff to be somewhat standoff-ish. If you got a room in the back of the hotel, hopefully the train would not seem so loud when you were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at the Embassy with my boyfriend for three nights in June. The location is really good, a mere five minute walk from SMN Station and a few minutes walk into the city centre. The hotel is very modern, clean and the staff are very freindly. The Breakfast was lovely with really attentive service. I'd happily stay here again and would reccomend people all of all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubix_Cube_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#122 of 411 in Florence
237 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#88 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#178 of 411 in Florence
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#137 of 411 in Florence
817 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#134 of 411 in Florence
1,160 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#201 of 411 in Florence
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £77 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embassy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing