We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice break in Florence!!!”
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #143 of 422 Hotels in Florence
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice break in Florence!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stated for four nights at this hotel , we couldn't faulted anything !!! We celebrated my wife birthday and this hotel was amazing, very nice bed lovely sleep and our big surprise was to had a cappuccino in our breakfast without any extra charge !!!! We definitely recommend to stay in this hotel . Good location and close to the city centre !!!!! The only thing was not iron and iron board on the room!!!! But apart of that everything was fine!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mastiphal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    410
    126
    46
    22
See reviews for
209
371
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May 2014. The hotel advertises itself as 4 star but 1.5 would be closer to the mark. No restaurant, bar or coffee shop; whilst the room was good size the toilet didn't work properly, the walls were dirty,we had plastic cups to drink out of and the bed was so head it felt like iron. The lift was so small that twice it would not operate with four people in it- too much weight!! Breakfast options were very limited. The hotel provided a wonderful view of the Florence railway yards.Those looking for a genuine 4 star hotel should look elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for your time and for the review!
I'm sorry that you are looking for an Hotel with inside restaurant,anyway we have lot of good restaurants at a stone's throw. However we have a Bar inside the hotel, I'm apologize that you can't see it, moreover we offer a free of charge and very appreciated espresso or cappuccino in our breakfast room. Your room wachs the train station (we are in the Train Station area) but see also the Duomo of Florence. For what may concern the bed it has an ergonomic mattress and someone can consider it hard, asking at the front desk we can add a soft mattress over it to make softer your bed. Reguarding the breakfast we offer lot of products in our buffet : our own production cakes, brioches, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, fruit salad, vegetables, salami, ham, jam, yogurt,2 fresh juice, etc. ; it would be interesting to know what our clients prefer and would like to add.
Best Regards
Irene Vezzosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived here from the airport having seen nothing but graffitied buildings, buildings in state if disrepair. We arrived at the hotel to find we looked out over railway yards. The air conditioning didn't work nor did the toilet. The walls were chipped and also dirty. There is no restaurant or bar. The room was not cleaned by 2pm. We checked with the front desk and yes they would be cleaned by 3pm.
We have been most disappointed by this hotel. It is listed as 4 star but we would have it at far less.

Room Tip: Check location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for the review.
I can't understand if the "graffitied buildings, buildings in state if disrepair" are in the street between the Airport and the Hotel or in the Hotel. The Hotel external building is recently done so it is new; inside the hotel we spend lot of our time to refresh the painting of the wall expecially inside the client's rooms. In this period of the year Air condition is on; if you can't use AC it's possible that you have windows open. We have not any client/staff communication reguarding problem of the toilet. Our chambermades clean firstly the room with new clients checking in and then, within 3.00 pm, the other rooms.
Best wishes
Irene Vezzosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

in my opinion the embassy offers good value and access to bars and restaurants bus and tram. the historical centre is in easy walking distance. what a delightful and interesting place will visit again

Room Tip: only stayed once on second floor this was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orléans, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very good location: city centre is 15min walking from the hotel, which is very convenient if you want to enjoy a night-out !
Tasty and full buffet breakfast, served in a nice room!
But quite expensive for the value. Although location might be the main reason for it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaBelley1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel at the end of Feb for a 3 night break booked through Travelzoo. Staff very pleasant and helpful, great buffet breakfast and just five mins walk from the train station. Very convenient for a day trip to Lucca by train There is a wonderful supermarket/deli on the corner just near the station, where they will make up the most mouthwatering rolls/sandwiches you could wish for. We found it very easy to walk around this wonderful city from the Hotel. If you do visit Florence you must go to Roses Restaurant on at least one occasion and try the most wonderful cheesecake I have ever eaten. Would use this hotel again if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonwalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Hotel Embassy is very handily located for those wishing to access the main transport systems of Florence. The building is on a slightly dingy street but is in itself very smart and well presented inside and out, with very friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was of a modest but sufficient size but well finished and maintained; the main drawback being that because of the largely hard surface finishes (that were very smart) it proved to be quite noisy, transmitting sound from neighbouring rooms and floors. Some simple additions e.g. soft seals to the doors might help to alleviate some of the noise. On a rather subjective matter, the bed was extremely firm, so much so that I struggled to enjoy a deep night's sleep during our stay - that said, the firm mattress might suit some people.
Probably the biggest disappointment was the very modest breakfast provided; in a four star hotel I would expect a much more extensive offering, particularly the cooked section, which in fact comprised solely scrambled eggs or mini hot-dog type sausages.
Overall, I'd rate the hotel nearer to average than very good because of the shortcomings listed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMcGonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#106 of 422 in Florence
211 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 422 in Florence
783 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 422 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#101 of 422 in Florence
230 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 422 in Florence
1,218 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 422 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Property: Hotel Embassy
Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embassy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing