We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore Florence from” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #141 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Florence from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived by train so delighted at the proximity of the hotel from the station. We had been mugged in Rome so feeling a little despondent so very happy to have received an upgrade on arrival to the hotel. We had a lovely room, very light and airy, good size bathroom. The windows were all velux so you couldn't see any view but they were electronically controlled so you could get fresh air etc. The hotel were helpful when we asked them anything. breakfast was served in the basement, a good assortment with cold meat, salad, Danish, bread, fruit. We had wifi in the hotel which is always useful
We walked everywhere from this hotel and so I would really recommend it for a walking short visit to Florence. The room was a little noisy in the morning due to the tram starting but it wasn't too bad

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passp0rtAlwaysReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    395
    115
    44
    21
See reviews for
200
352
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had two nights here after travelling up from Rome on the Italo train. We were in room 104 which has a porch like entrance to it and it's own small patio area. The best thing about this room was the shower, a very large walk in with a power shower that the temp stayed constant in! Both my husband and myself were reluctant to leave it! The breakfast is of a very gd standard with plenty of choice. The location is great if you like to be close enough to walk to see the attractions hut far enough away that you can avoid the worst of the hustle and bustle of it all. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Our room was in an annex located at the rear of the hotel. We found the room fairly dark and gloomy - it may be that the rooms in the main part of the hotel were nicer.

The breakfast selection was fairly limited and they were slow at replenishing when items ran out.

Location was very close to the train station but away from the Centre of the Old Town.

Would probably choose amore central hotel if staying in Florence again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsykes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review!
The rooms in the back of the hotel are particularly appreciated for the silence and confort, the rooms in the main building are certainly brighter; the hotel can put at clients disposal one or the other in base of the clients request. Our breakfast is an american buffet breakfast with local ham, cheese, salami, fresh fruit salad, mixed vegetable salad, eggs, bacon, large selection of yogurt, croissant, our own production cakes, different kind of bread and juices, etc.. it would be very important to know which other product you appreciate in order to add it and improve our breakfast.
The hotel is located 10 minutes far by foots from the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery but the distance are highly subjective!
Rgds
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked this hotel nearly 6 months ago and have been avidly reading the reviews since. A few months ago I noticed some poorer reviews and was sorely tempted to cancel my reservation and look again but amazingly the reviews seemed to improve so I decided to keep things as they were. Big mistake. Now admittedly it is very near the station which was a plus for us as we'd arrived by train from Rome and the station is a good point for (a) various trips and (b) the trip to Pisa airport from where we departed. The area itself is very poor and the only place/area in the city where I felt was "unfriendly" but admittedly this is not the fault of the hotel but does add to your overall impression.

Arrived mid afternoon and were attended to immediately and told us our room was in the annexe (this part of the hotel is bizarrely referred to as the "resort" and I'm not sure how it qualifies as a resort!) and it was like a step back to some Eastern bloc 70s hotel. A premier inn would have been better. The room had a poor quality to it, the a/c was not properly functioning. It was dark and depressing and there was a huge crack in the bath which was covered by sellotape. We immediately complained to the reception and, to be fair, we were moved to another room in the same "resort"/annexe which was marginally better in that there was a terrace, the a/c worked but there was no bath but, admittedly, a large shower which suited us.

The wardrobes were dated and you couldn't walk between bed and wardrobe if the wardrobe doors were open. Now I will say the linen and towels and bathroom were spotless and fresh linen/towels were provided every day. However, there were chunks out of the wall plaster, dead flies/mosquitoes on the walls. There was no luggage shelf tray. No chairs other than two nasty faux leather stools which were not pleasant to sit on. I fully admit that when touring in Florence you are spending a lot of time away from the hotel but it is still nice to have a lovely room to stay in but we were hugely disappointed. There was literally one sheet to sleep under with also the nasty brown bedcover and those nasty woollen blankets were provided in the wardrobe but why no lightweight duvet? Be warned the bed is very hard - this suited us but it may not suit others.

The general look of this annexe part is also "tired", badly in need of proper painting and plastering with dreadful touch-up jobs all over the place. The carpet, too, is in need of replacing.

Breakfast was adequate. Scrambled eggs, small hot-dog-type sausages but a good selection of pastries. Nothing special however.

Florence is easy to get around and therefore you are never far from anywhere. It is a shame that the minute you get to the more touristy areas (Duomo, Campanile etc.) that the general feel of the city improves. Yet, although maybe to be expected near a train station, this is still an area with places to visit such as as the Santa Maria Novella church. Put it this way, I was glad I was not walking back at night on my own. That surprised me about Florence and not something I felt at all anywhere in Rome.

They have made a nice enough seated terrace area within the grounds which would be quite a nice place to sit and have a drink/have a coffee. There is a bar of sorts and a coffee machine at the reception desk and you can buy refreshments from there and then take them to the terrace area but it would be a good idea if the hotel were perhaps to offer to take drinks over for you/offer waiter service or even promote this. Just a suggestion...

When we left, we paid our bill and at no point were we properly thanked for our custom. The young girls at reception were pleasant enough and at least at the start when we needed to change our rooms, they were helpful and accommodating. There is an older gentleman who was surly and generally morose.

If you have already booked, take my advice and cancel. There are many, many hotels in Florence and I'm sure you can find better. We were sorely disappointed and will never return.

Room Tip: Perhaps the ones in the main hotel would be better...?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clash46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review!
I'm apologize that you have problem with your first room, and I'm happy to know that the receptionist was helpfull and change immediately the room. The Air conditioning doesn't work with the windows open, this would be the reason why it didn't work. We take note that some clients of us doesn't appreciate our leather chairs. The room and the hotel too is dated 2007/2008 so in my opinion wardrobe and room overall is not to be describe as "dated". We refresh the rooms walls once a month but nonetheless if the previous guest has soiled or broken a wall, it's difficult to solve the problem immediately. Each room has luggage shelf tray, no room has carpet..
Thank you again for your time,
Rgds
Irene Vezzosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stay Away! Thats how i choose to start my review about this hotel where we stayed for our honeymoon, a couple of months back! Besides the location (there are far many hotels near the train station) there is absolutely nothing worth remembering about this hotel. Average buffet breakfast arrangement, small rooms, no dinner or lunch arrangement in the hotel and in no circumstances can it be adjudged as a four star hotel! Please choose from the innumerable hotel in and around the train station and give this one a pass!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shariquekhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyfirenze, Direttore at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Goodmorning,
thank you for your review.
It would be important for us to understand what you didn't appreciate to improve our service and the quality of the hotel.
We have not restaurant in the hotel as per our web site description but we have lot of restaurants all around us.
Our american buffet breakfast includes fresh fruit salad, our own production cakes, local salami, ham, cheese, yogurt, croissant, orange juice, vegetable salads, hags, bacon, different kind of bread, etc. and it is served in the ancient cellar of the main palace dated 1870.
Rgds
Irene Vezzosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

good sized rooms although my daughters bathroom was a lot smaller than mine and she had problems sorting out the right temperature for her shower. On the last morning she also found the shower was leaking. Beds comfy and enough space for clothes. Breakfast was good with a good selection of pastries fruit and cold meats and cheese. Location is ideal with the railway station only being 5 minutes away and the main sights only 10 - 15 minutes away

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a 2 week holiday in Italy and this was the first stop for us. We wanted to be sure our selection was not bad and we were not disappointed at all! The place has a lot of goods and here are they listed. Only a few bads which are mentioned below too!

Bads
I think we paid a little higher for this place.
The room we had was overseeing the road...there is a tram which goes through this road..this was a put off for us!

Goods
Location : Near the station but yet away from all the noise. In 5 minutes by walk..you are in the centre of the place
Clean and quite
Good breakfast but same everyday
Spacious rooms and clean washrooms (big enough)

Florence is also a city you need to be out and about....There is so much to see and even a 4 day trip is not enough there....so be in a decent hotel but be outside more!

Please feel free to ask any questions regarding this place :)

Safe Travels!
Make the most of it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Property: Hotel Embassy
Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embassy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing