We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vincenzo the owner is the friendliest person I met in Italy!”
Review of Hotel Duilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Duilio
Ranked #382 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Vincenzo the owner is the friendliest person I met in Italy!”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Felt like we were at home with the service. Walking distance to everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    14
    8
    19
See reviews for
6
34
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Vincenzo was a fantastic host and very accommodating considering that I had messed up my booking and arrived on the wrong day!
The room was small but absolutely fine and had everything I needed. Breakfast came with the booking and was provided in a little cafe down the street. Initially I was a bit put off by this but it actually added to the stay as there is really nothing like having a coffee & croissant, soaking up the atmosphere surrounded by locals in the centre of Florence. I loved it.

The hotel is on the first floor of No 13 Corsa Italia (no lift) and is within walking distance to all the fabulous historic sites. The road itself is quiet so there should be no worries about passing traffic.

If I was going to make any negative comment, it would be that the bedrooms all branch from the reception area and as a result, you can hear everyone coming in and going out. Otherwise I thought it was a lovely place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vyskov
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The hotel is in a very good location close to all the main attractions. It provides a very good service for the money, our room was cleaned every day and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Most of all the owner was very helpful and easy-going. He answered all our questions and fulfilled all our requests, which made our stay very pleasant. Such a service is very often not presented in much more expensive hotels. I recommend it very much.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ondra_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

v close to river arno, which is good.
about 10 -20mins walk from all the tourist places in florence, which is also good but then florence is not big at all, so all hotels will be the same distance i guess.
location is the only good thing about this hotel.
2nd floor - no lift.
owner is nice and offered to help.
room is v noisy.
u step on the floor and the whole room shakes.
u walk and it feels like earthquake.
bathroom is very small.
breakfast is in a far away shop and is too little.
i will not return to this place and i will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavasdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My partner stayed here in March 2009 (late, I know), and I didn't know what to make of it when I first arrived. It's almost on the Arno, which makes for pleasant walks, but it's close to the American Consulate and a lot of streets are blocked off. It's also up 2 flights of stairs in a residential block, but Vincenzo bounded down the stairs to help us with our luggage, and was nothing but helpful and attentive for the rest of our stay.

The rooms are very clean, and quite large, and felt like you were in a guest-room in a friend's house.

Vincenzo is friendly and can make suggestions of places to eat, where to walk, what to see. He is interested in his clients and shows genuine enthusiasm for his hotel. He offers a lot of privacy, but is there when you need him. He made the difference between the hotel being nice, clean and quaint, to being somewhere where we would definitely go when we're back in Florence.

I should put an addendum to say that we stayed in the low-season, and the price was EXTREMELY cheap. The added feeling of a true bargain also contributed to the experience, and I urge people to go to this hotel when in Florence in the low season also.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This is a great place, close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Florence. It is on a very quiet street near the American Embassy which is closed to traffic and policed 24 hours a day so there is no problem walking back in the evening. Breakfast is included and consists of a pasty and coffee at a lovely bar around the corner. The rooms are spotless if basic, but much better then we expected for a 1 star hotel. Vincenzo, the owner, is very knowledgable and will recommend places to visit and to eat. All in all, a good experience and will stay again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed there for couple of days, feb 2010.
The hotel is close to the city center, in a quiet location. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed italian breakfast served in near bar.
Vincenzo - the host - professional, helpful and friendly. He made us feel here like at home. We'd recommend this hotel.
Polecamy. Blisko centrum, spokojny zakatek. Pokoje zadbane, czyste. Wloskie sniadania (kawusia i ciastko do wyboru) w pobliskim barze, razem ze zwyklymi florenczykami. Vincenzo, gospodarz, oczarowal nas goscinnoscia.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaSopot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Casa del Lago
Casa del Lago
#280 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Lungarno Vespucci 50
Lungarno Vespucci 50
#178 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#307 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duilio

Property: Hotel Duilio
Address: Corso Italia 13, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Duilio 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Duilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duilio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing