We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but clean and affordable”
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ester
Ranked #166 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a good budget hotel in Florence, and really affordable for a major touristy European city. We had a 3 person bedroom, and it was clean and quiet from all the noises from the street. Upon arrival, Marco gave us lots of instructions, even showing us how to get to the English speaking channels on the tv, as well as multiple maps for Florence. We really appreciated the desktop computer in our room, which allowed us to conserve the battery on our mobile devices, and look up recommendations on the internet. The hotel is very close to the train station, which made arriving and departing very easy.

Room Tip: We asked for a quieter room, which meant no view of the Duomo, but better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

1 block from the train station. Quiet at night. Front desk people were simply awesome. They washed one load of clothes for free, the second for 4 euros, and they even hung them to dry for us! Needed a few pages printed out and they were happy to do it for me. Our quad was fantastic. Large room with a balcony, computer, terrific bathroom. Can walk to everything from this location. Clean, spacious and helpful. We left our luggage until 6 pm the next day to catch our train. Great air conditioning. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had my doubts when we arrived at the building but as soon as we got to the reception and our room that all changed. Its not a 5 star hotel but the rooms are great, clean and well maintained. Good bathroom and shower. Excellent service from the owners and staff. Would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We just did a multi city trip around Europe. This was our favorite hotel by far on our trip. When we first got there we were a touch skeptical. But once we met Marco - the owner and were taken up to our room - we were VERY happy with our room! We had a stunning view of the Duomo. The best was super comfortable. There is TV (which had English cable - and Marco showed us how to translate all the shows to English!) and a computer that is hooked up to the internet. There is also free wifi in the room - that was very fast. The ambiance of the room was so cozy and homey. We felt more like we were staying with an Italian family then at a stuffy hotel. We felt like we got to experience the culture a little more this way. Also you can go to the lobby and make free long distance calls. There is a little room away from the front desk where you can chat. It was so nice to have the ability to call home and not worry about a calling card running out of time. The location is right next to the train station which was so convenient. There are lots of great restaurants in the area.
While we were staying here the exterior of the hotel was under construction - at first we were afraid that the scaffolding would block our view but it didn't at all. We had a minor incident one day where the work crew was working outside our window while we were trying to take a nap and it was very loud - we talked to Marco - he came up and talked to the crew - when he couldn't get them to stop he offered to let us go down to another room for a couple hours until the work was done. We really appreciated him making the effort to make sure that we were comfortable and happy. We thought he handled the situation very well.
Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

1. Arrived at the Front Desk, saw about 10 pieces of luggage sitting there. There's not always a person at the Front Desk, which means they were in plain sight and not secured, as with the marked room keys on the wall.

2. Our room was actually in a building across the street.

3. The elevator in our building is probably the most ghetto elevator (see photos) I've ever seen that's still being used. But at least it works, right? My husband had to go up with our luggage first. Then I went up with the receptionist on the next ride because there was not enough room in the elevator.

4. The room space was adequate, not too small.

5. My husband loved the satellite TV that allowed him to watch the NBA games.

6. Good to have a desk top computer wired with internet because their wifi stopped working for 1-2 hours every night. Also, since the reception was across the street, and the rooms had phones, they told us to use their free Skype messenger to get contact them. One of the 2 times we contacted them, they responded promptly. The 2nd time another couple was having issues with their key, so we tried to get the front desk for them. But no answer. They probably stepped away again.

7. Shower stall was small, with no soap holder. Drain was spiky!

8. The extra blankets in the closet looked really old & worn. I was willing to use one when I got sick, but my husband was hesitant to let me use it.

9. Bedside "lamps" had only bulbs. No --- lamp --- shades. *shaking head*

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsmopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Location, value, amenities and helpful/friendly staff. Hotel Ester has it all. Less than 5 minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella Station, 5 minute walk to San Lorenzo and about 10 to the Duomo. Check in was easy, the clerk offered the 15 of us her services at booking any activities. The owner came by shortly after to greet us, offering freshly made coffee and espresso. The room was spacious, quiet and had a fine view of their courtyard and the red tiled roofs of Florence. They gave us a voucher for a 4 Euro breakfast at a nearby cafe that was perfect. Good information for tourists and plenty of maps to plan you next destination. If this was not enough, someone traveling with me requested a laundromat and someone at the hotel did his laundry for 3 Euros! Thank you Marco and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for three nights in May. The staff were great. Room 3 was massive with a large juccuzi, just the thing after a long day sight seeing. Free Internet access with even use of a computer provided in the room. The location was great being about five minutes walk from the station and just as close to the Dumo.
They did the small things well. A variety of tea's and coffee always available. Tourist map provided with suggestions of where to visit..
All in all it was a great hotel and a big thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Ask for room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,316 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#106 of 410 in Florence
927 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#124 of 410 in Florence
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#99 of 410 in Florence
268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 410 in Florence
524 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#114 of 410 in Florence
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#112 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £54 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ester 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing