We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ester
Ranked #160 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a family of four and stayed for 4 nights in July. Our room had a small balcony which overlooked a courtyard.The hotel is very close to the train station. This was very helpful as most sightseeing tours start from near the station. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Though the hotel does not offer breakfast, they provided us with coupons for a nice place just round the corner where u could have an assortment of breads and muffins with juice and coffee.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamrbalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    136
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
67
144
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lets not judge the hotel by its looks is all i can say about Ester. Was so glad to pick up this hotel after seeing our room on the 5th floor. It had an breathtaking view. Sad we were there for just a day. The guy on the reception recommended us breakfast and dinner joints, which were just fabulous. Would go back for sure !!

Room Tip: 5th floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmitaB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights! The hotel is a block away from the train station and close to all sights! I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly the staff were! They provided us with helpful info, restaurant suggestions, etc! Location was perfect. There were cafés and a supermarket right across the street! A great find!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cannot say enough nice things about how pleasant and helpful the staff were at Hotel Ester - from check in to check out the staff were willing to help with directions, recommendations, and reservations. We even had pleasant surprise when we showed up and our room had been upgraded!

In terms of the rooms - as I said before, we were upgraded to their best room so I am not are what the others would be like. However, ours was extremely large and very clean -I am constantly concerned that rooms will be unclean (I travel with a silk sleep sack to be sure) and I had no issues with this hotel at all. The bathroom was newly remodled and also quite clean. The best part of our room by far was the view - we had a lovely balcony with a view of the entire city including the Duomo. The location was also excellent - only a two minute walk to the train station and 5-10 minute walk to most of the major attractions.

The negatives of Hotel Ester are that it is quite old. The rooms have clearly not been refurbished in several years and show many signs of wear (scratches on the walls, dings etc.). The quality of the furnishings is minimal (cheap art, weak mattress, thin linens etc.) although they do have a computer monitor, tv, and blow dryer in the room which was lovely! In addition, in order to get to the hotel you have to take an old lift or go up a somewhat sketchy looking stairwell. To be fair, it is gated at night however, I definitely didn't care to be in it during the evenings alone.

Overall, this is a great hotel if you are looking for basic amenities, cleanliness, and location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarbysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Discovered many pleasant surprises after checking in. The gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and kind. He showed us to our rooms which were located across the street from the main hotel and showed us a very nice trick to getting our luggage up the tiny elevator to our floor. He also gave us some good suggestions to restaurants and things to see. He saved us 9 euro with his dinner suggestion and card. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The satellite TV and in room computers were a very nice addition. I also really liked that they had a kitchen and laundry machine available for guests to use. A couple of other added bonuses you might like is the supermarket that was located a few doors down. It was nice to stock up on essentials and pay reasonable prices for a change. The train station is also just a very short walk, which can save you some money on a cab fare if you are hauling luggage. Many major attractions of Florence are easily within walking distance to this hotel. I also felt safe in this hotel, as it had two sets of locks to pass through before getting to your room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2014;
It was very comfortable;
We booked a triple room and we were surprised that the room was big (4 beds & large bathroom), clean & quiet;
The Staff helped us a lot, they advised us about the main attractions & shopping locations; moreover they gave us many suggestions to do in Florence as we had to change our plans due to the bad weather,
The internet connection was very strong;
The location of this hotel is really perfect as it is located near the train station, and nearby many important locations in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana-Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Ask for the room with a view on the 5th floor---separated from the rest of the hotel. You will be thrilled with the panoramic view of the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio. Even the small balcony is good. The room is "Paradiso"; the beds are "Inferno"! I don't know what the mattress was made of, but it was HARD! We spent three nights and woke up each morning with stiff necks and backs. If they make the budget to include a proper, comfortable mattress, they can easily raise the price for this very special room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChasInLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#146 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Property: Hotel Ester
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in Florence
#112 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ester 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing