We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special, shabby room”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giappone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giappone
Ranked #270 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nothing special, shabby room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

nothing special, hotel in the 4th floor without elevator, service not friendly at all

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fraza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
25
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

I booked a dorm bed at Soggiorno Prestipino and got moved to Hotel Giappone. I ended up paying 20 Euro a night to live in a very clean, nice room by myself. Staff were nice, location was unbeatable - only complaint is that it is at the top of four flights of stairs and there is no lift.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tianguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

Price is very good for the location. Room is ok.
However, i was very surprised by the many flights of stairs i have to climb painfully with my heavy luggage. This would not be a problem if you are not travelling alone or if your luggage is not too heavy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

Rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Also, you can't beat the location. Located in the middle of everything! I definitely recommend this place

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and the location
  • Disliked — The lack of an elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend the extra 5 euro and get a room w/ a private bathroom
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2006

For Italy, this place is pretty good. I paid 55 euros for a small single. It came with a bed and tv. I was 2 minutes away from the Duomo (and everything else). You can come and go at anytime of the day no matter how late. The place was above average for cleanliness in Italy. I liked it. The only potential problem was that my room faced a busy street so the traffic in the morning could be rather loud. If you're sensitive to noise I would suggest asking for a room in the back (they have them but I don't know what they look like). Excellent for budget traveling.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#245 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#215 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#255 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#281 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#277 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giappone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giappone

Property: Hotel Giappone
Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Giappone 1*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giappone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing