We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience”
Review of Fiorentino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiorentino
Ranked #344 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel is very very near the Santa Maria Novella train station, but we were lost finding it. It's in the side of a small corner, so it was difficult finding the hotel. There are no lifts in the hotel so expect to go through many flights of stairs. The shared bathroom was very sketchy and the water went from hot to cold and back to hot. The beds were firm and clean. However, my mother did not feel safe in the hotel and felt the need to carry her valuables with her. Also, it's really noisy outside since you're on a main street. There is no free wifi. It's 2 euros per hour. Ridiculous! We just used free wifi from the cafe across the street. Overall, my experience with this hotel was rather poor. I would try finding another hotel preferably with an elevator in the same area. There are many.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladynicolette091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

The rooms look friendly and nice, but are basic on services. Lots of stairs. Very convenient for train station. However, the owner is one of these people about whom you wonder why he got into the hospitality industry. He's testy and mean-spirited and seems to be motivated by the money rather than the desire to provide a good experience for his guests. Having had such wonderful, kind experiences with the rest of the people in customer service we met, I can't see why you'd mar your trip dealing with this guy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank velvetbarnacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Being advertised as a 1 star hotel, it seemed to be much better place from the 3 star hotel we had in Venice. Clean rooms and a superb central location. If you are not scared of stairs (2 floor up), its a great budget stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasikp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent, right by the train station and only a short walk from the local attractions. The room was spacious, beds were very comfortable, and rooms were very clean. Friendly service, safe location.

The downsides of this hotel would be that the bathrooms are shared bathrooms, however they are kept extremely clean, so its not a big deal. There is no elevator and it is quite a hike up the stairs, especially with luggage. It is quite noisy at night outside so the sleep quality isn't great.

I would personally prefer to find a place with an elevator if I make it to Florence again, but otherwise I would probably stay at this hotel again, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We spent 4 nights here in June 10. Very well located for the main Railway Station and the middle of the City it's location is excellent. The rooms are reasonably basic, albeit clean. On the downside all the accomodation is located up quite a hefty set of stairs and if you have a lot of luggage this could be quite exhausting.

Reception is a small area at the bottom of the stairs. The chap who staffs the hotel (well every time we entered or left) is very friendly and spoke very good english. He was happy to offer advice on the city and use his internet to get up to date weather forcasts for us.

In summary if you are looking for a nice, clean, economic very basic room very handy for the City and the station this is ideal. If you like your luxury, or hate stairs then possibly not. We liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Hotel was in a superb location right in front of the piazza S.Maria novella and a very short walk to the other attractions. Having turned up without booking we were delighted to find it and chose to stay in a room with a shared bathroom. The room was very clean although basic, it did have a table and sink, but great for 49 euro's a night. The bathroom was also extremely clean although very small, the shower was amazing.
The man on reception was extremely helpful recomending places to eat, his english was fantastic.
Breakfast was not provided but there were many cafe's around and it was only a short walk to a small supermarket.
Overall a great place to stay if you want to see florence on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jimbo1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank beta921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,954 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiorentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiorentino

Address: Via Degli Avelli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £98 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Fiorentino 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiorentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorentino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing