We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take it..!!”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #152 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Kleve, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take it..!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at 4 places in Italy durin our trip and undoubtedly Bavaria was the best. Jst mainly because of the hospitality of the staffs. They are the best hotel staffs I have ever found. The room was big, had its own shower.The shared toilets were very clean. The breakfast was really good. The location is very good, close to the most important spot of Florence. Walking distance to the station. Worth the money.Loved it..!! Florence was awesome,so was Hotel Bavaria.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal4nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    207
    69
    27
    10
See reviews for
92
192
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Wonderful experience. Lovely staff. Great hospitality. And a very generous breakfast. Would come back to Florence just to stay there again. Rooms very a bit cold since its and old building but it didn't matter to us. The biggest plus was the location. Even the shared toilets were very clean. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lnly_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Hotel Bavaria has a great location near the center of Florence. We walked from the train station and, while the streets were quite crowded and it was a challenge to weave through all of the pedestrians with our rolling bags, we managed. There are 68 steps to climb to reach the hotel, and there is no elevator but, again, we managed, and were rewarded by a nice clean, comfortable, and secure hotel. We had one of the smaller rooms with a shared bath. We never had to wait to use a bath, although one of the shared baths was somehwat oddly located off of the breakfast room and so one had to be a little discrete about when and in what state of dress or undress one ventured there. Another reviewer faulted the breakfast, but I suspect she has not traveled much in Europe. Our continental breakfast buffet at the Hotel Bavaria was one of the better ones we had during our 3-week trip in Europe. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, even clearing a table in the breakfast room that had already been set for breakfast so that we could use it for our takeout meal one night. The hotel had free WiFi in the breakfast room and lobby area and even had a small book exchange.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Really helpful staff who were very quick to reply to our e-mails and even booked tickets to the Uffizi and Academia for us (you pay for and pick up the tickets at the respective galleries).

We had one of the smaller, basic rooms and shared a bathroom. Everything was spotless, cleaned and the bed were turned down every day. Fresh basic hand and bath towels were supplied each day. Free, efficient wifi in the dining area and reception - very handy! There was also a sink in our room. The walls were, however, paper thin.

The breakfasts were very basic and, to be frank, not that great - rock solid breadrolls and packets of crackers anyone?! There was, to be fair, also some cereal, yoghurt, tinned fruit, sometimes some cake and average coffee.

Room Tip: Don't go for Rm 1 immediately by the front entrance of the hotel! Noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarai j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This hotel oozes with history and quirky charm, and so while it may not be suitable for those who are looking for a standard business hotel, we enjoyed emerging ourselves into a historic experience of Florentine life. Our room was huge, with almost four meters to the ceiling that was decorated with a original painted pattern, and the room had a view of the courtyard. The breakfast buffet succeed our expectation for such a small hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, who is looking for an authentic experience while in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Me and my 2 friends were visiting Florence for 3 nights on a girly break. We arrived at Hotel Bavaria after walking with our cases from the train station. 10 minutes ish walk which may not appeal to some but we managed. I imagin it would be very simple and cheap to get a taxi if you didnt fancy the walk.

Yes there is several flights of stairs to go up with ur bags when u get there but its hardly an inconvenience. The owner offered a warm welcome, sat us straight down and pointed out on the map the best sites to see while we were there and was very accommodating when we asked to have breakfast slightly earlier the next day as we had a trip planned.

The room we stayed in was a triple, offering a double bed and a single bed with a shower cubicle and sink. The room was very big with high ceilings and paintings on the wall, very clean and really good for the price. There wasnt a toilet in the room but there was a clean shared toilet at the end of the corridor. The only downside which I will mention is although there are 2 fans in the room there is no airconditioning so was very hot at night so our sleep quality was affected.

The breakfast was basic but started us off well for a days sightseeing. The hotel is perfectly placed to reach all the sights in florence by foot. Id recommend walking up the steep hill to Piazzale Michelangelo, definately worth the hard work as the view across florence is one not to be missed!! (especially at sunset). We also went on The Best of Tuscany Tour (Reviews on this are on this site) which was fantastic and ideal for seeing a chunk of Tuscany in a short space of time.

Overall reasonable priced, clean comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just returned from a three week vacation in Europe visiting six different cities. This hotel was by far the best value we found. You really can't beat the location - right between the Duomo and Piazza delle Signoria. The place was very clean and quaint. It is certainly not a luxury hotel, but for the price and location it can't be beat!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#138 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#182 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing