We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different Place - Awesome”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #152 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very different Place - Awesome”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

It takes you a while to get used to waking up in a room that has 3-4m high ceilings and an average size of 5m times 8m, but other than this, it is an awesome place. Excellent value for money. Cheap Hotel in premium location. The only down side was that there was no fridge in the room and cooking facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a in-room bathroom. There are some rooms with a shared bathroom down the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    207
    69
    27
    10
See reviews for
92
192
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right near the Duomo. It was the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in, with a very comfortable bed. We stayed in the very highest room at the top of the stair. If you stick your head out the window, you can see the top of the Duomo. Very lovely. This is a bed an breakfast type hotel up many flights of stairs with no elevator. It isn't visible from street level with no signage, and is hard to find, but once you do, and if you are ok with carrying your luggage up quite a few stairs, you will not be dissapointed. Lovely litle hotel. Service is excellent. I will not stay anywhere else when I go back to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Three of us stayed in a quad room for three nights in late September. Two flights of stairs to reach the B&B and then we had an additional half flight in order to reach our room - keep that in mind if you tend to over pack. Our room was huge. No AC but a fan was provided. Mosquitos were not an issue but could not leave the window open at night due to the noise each night. It seemed like there were block parties outside our room each night!
Our room was next to the shared toilet which always seemed available although it appeared that someone kept smoking in there.
There was a sink and a tiny shower in the room. Awkward to use with others in the room even with the tiny privacy screen provided.
Only had breakfast once. Average. Location was great. Free wifi which worked perfectly in the room. Funky paintings in our room.
Overall loved the old building and heat was not an issue in late September. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drusilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great hostel with old charm staff helpful and friendly the location is brilliant. Not good if you struggle with stairs. Would reccomend for a cheap stay. The shared bathroom perhaps not for evreyone but didnt present any problem.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back there is a little street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harris891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed staying here during summer because of free wifi, good location, free breakfast, and it was quiet at night. The downsides were walking up many steps, shared bathrooms (only 2 toilet/showers between everyone so often had to wait) and that there was no AC so we melted during the night even with the windows open and the fan on. The manager was super friendly, kind, welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanamiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it wasn't the best place to stay. You have to climb alot of stairs to reach this place and is the worst during Summer. The room was nice with basin and a fan and they also provided towels and shampoo (which was not refilled during our stay). The shared bathroom is so-so, it's sometimes not that clean as many people use it. During Summer, the heat is unbearable in the room and you have to open up the window to provide some kind of relief. However, when you open the window, you let in the mosquitoes and the noise from the street. You will just be constantly bitten by mosquitoes and the fan does little to help with the heat. At the end of our stay we had bites everywhere and it was the most uncomfortable stay I've ever had. The location is quite good, however Florence is a city where all the attractions are within walking distance. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place during Summer or suffer from the heat, mosquitoes and the street noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The only downside was the shared bathroom but this is a minor issue because it was always clean and free. The hotel is quaint and very friendly and well situated. Highly recommended if you want a friendly hotel in a good location that has history and character

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#236 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#180 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Property: Hotel Bavaria
Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing