We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold in winter”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #167 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This february even though it was not a cold winter at all the room where we stayed was rather cold. We had to use the extra blanket and sleep with a sweater and socks on. The hotel itself was nice and the people at the desk were really friendly! Definitely a good deal for the price. The location is great, you're very close to, well, everything. The breakfast was fine. The room was good, except that the shower pipes made some noise after use and the shower was a bit weak, but not a major problem. Overall I would say it is a lovely hotel (for the summer)!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherk341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Irmtraut T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We really enjoyed the convenience in the heart of the old town and the price was quite reasonable for the location. The room was fairly large, clean and had a magnificent view of the Duomo. The desk clerk was very helpful in recommending local restaurants. This is a very decent hotel for the money you pay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank wahoowa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It's an odd and charming place with its historical atmopshere.

Spacious rooms with a little "old" smell but the bed is very comfortable and provides good sleeping quality.

Breakfast is not special but ok for a couple of days.

Shared bathroom was clean. (3rd floor)

It's in the heart of old city and very reasonable priced. Daily room service is a plus.

Room Tip: room number 16 with shared bathroom facilities would be a good choice; - not near the toilette an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the end of August. The staff was welcoming , they offered us a lot of informations about the city, restaurants and places to see. The informations on the booking was equal with what we have found. Actually was even better, seeing the history of this place.
I would definitely return to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anamaria_dediu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September and it was great for what we needed- characterful building close to the historic centre, very clean, nicely decorated rooms and good breakfast selection. We stayed on the floor above the reception which had a large communal lounge with bedrooms leading off. There are stairs to get to the hotel but we didn't find them a problem at all. We had a shared bathroom which was next door to our room and was clean with a hot shower. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the street which was quite noisy at night but we were that tired from walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM_hayes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I just completed my stay at this hotel in early October. The hotel is in nice old building. Lots of stairs but it was a nice place to stay. It was charming and my room was small, but I only needed a place to rest at night because I was so close to all the attractions in Florence. I had a single room with a sink and shared the small bathroom with other travelers. I had no problems sharing the bathroom and all was clean and tidy in the bathroom. My room had high ceilings and had an old fresco on the ceiling...quite charming. The owners graciously gave me a great map of Florence and made sure to tell me of their favorite sites. Breakfast was standard caffe, juice, croissants, cereal, etc. I thought it was an adequate start to my day. For those traveling on a budget, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evitale2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
664 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#242 of 410 in Florence
225 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#156 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#115 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#173 of 410 in Florence
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing