We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good value for the money but don't stay here when it is hot”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #179 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a decent stay here, the only thing I would highly advice against would be staying here when it is hot. There are not air conditioning units in the rooms and we opened up the window for maybe an hour and I woke up covered in bug and spider bites. The internet also does not work in your rooms and only in the small lobby (which is also the dining room) which sucked at times. The rooms are comfortable but when it got hot it was down right miserable being in the room. Also, there are no vending machines or any water available which was awful to realize when our room was 90+ degrees. Good value for the money and the location if you can stand everything I listed above in addition with super thin walls.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were amazed by the beauty, location and warmth of the Hotel employees here...It's hard to describe how breathtaking this 450 year old "palace" is, but it you feel it upon approaching the main entry door. Our room had a view of the Duomo and a small tiled rooftop patio overlooking a few of the magnificent tiled rooftops of Florence. The location was simply perfect for us, and Florence, being an extremely walkable city (compared to Rome for example), was made more so by staying here. Our extremely large, beautifully simple room had a shower and sink, but no toilette, which wasn't always ideal, but we loved the place and the staff so much, a 5 star rating seems perfectly in order.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed with our two children recently. This hotel is in the middle of the historical city in a brilliant location. It is situated in an old charming building filled with history. Yes the hotel is not for the elderly or disabled due to its location on the 2nd floor (no lift and a lot of stairs!) but it is a great option if you are travelling on a budget or family (as long as you don't have a baby to carry up those stairs). The rooms are basic but charming. We booked a quad room but we were given the triple with a fold out extra bed. Which was still big enough for our needs. The bathroom was clean enough but we had a tiny shower in our room. A few parts of the hotel are starting to look a little grubby and probably need a fresh paint but overall it is clean. Wifi is only available in the lobby which is a little annoying considering most hotels offer it free throughout these days. Breakfast is basic and I didn't really bother to have much more than a coffee and pastry. I enjoyed staying at this hotel but I wished the owners didn't smoke in their area/office within the hotel as the smoke drifted throughout the whole floor and put me off a little being a non smoker. Apart from that, I would look at staying here again due to the location, charm and value.

Room Tip: our room was quiet as it overlooked the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This place is very authentic with high ceilings, stone floors and shutters. Our room had a view of the duomo above the courtyard which was perfect and very quiet. The location is ideal for exploring the city and the room was kept immaculately. The room we had opted for had a shower inside. There must have been an issue with the plumbing as it made noise sporadically through the night (a gargle loud enough to wake us occasionally). The breakfast is very basic. I would have loved to have been given some good coffee and some fresh fruit rather than tinned. The internet is only available in the foyer which is frustrating too.

Great for exploring the city, not so good if you want a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Firstly, Lenny is excellent. He is informative, friendly, speaks excellent English and appears to have a genuine interest in history and art. (A testament to this is the Bach playing in the mornings which floats into the breakfast area.) I can't speak for the reception-floor of the hotel, but we stayed in the floor above (be wary, lots of stairs to climb with luggage - but Lenny happy to help out) which was really quite special. The small door opens to a spacious atrium with communal seating and all the proportions you'd expect from a former sixteenth-century palace. Our room was the most basic, a single double with shared bathroom facilities (clean, excellent, really no fuss to share) with large windows with views stretching across the central-Florentine streets. It is noisy at night, I do warn, but this did not detract from the overall pleasantness of the stay (or our sleep). Warm, comfortable. No qualms with the bed, sink in the room with a sofa and wardrobe. Ceilings very high; you really do get an authentic feel for sixteenth century architecture. The breakfast was simple and no frills, but was a warm addition. Small cakes, lots of breads, orange juices, teas and coffees. Whilst our room had no television, this was not a bother; the hotel is so conveniently close to all the nearby sites that you have no excuse to stay in your room. WiFi is available, but was not accessible from our room. Overall, this is a special little hotel for those who want an authentic feel but do not care for the luxurious thrills of more competitive and expensive mainstream hotels. Access to hotel is through a spacious courtyard with some original frescoes, above the Pandolfini which is an exclusive art dealers. Very happy indeed and will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07h126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This february even though it was not a cold winter at all the room where we stayed was rather cold. We had to use the extra blanket and sleep with a sweater and socks on. The hotel itself was nice and the people at the desk were really friendly! Definitely a good deal for the price. The location is great, you're very close to, well, everything. The breakfast was fine. The room was good, except that the shower pipes made some noise after use and the shower was a bit weak, but not a major problem. Overall I would say it is a lovely hotel (for the summer)!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherk341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Irmtraut T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#135 of 409 in Florence
670 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#245 of 409 in Florence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#174 of 409 in Florence
1,088 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 409 in Florence
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#136 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £34 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing