We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bijou
Ranked #275 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, great location!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel owner is very polite. Also the room is clean and cozy. We have just stayed here to celebrate our 19th anniversary & it was in the perfect location. It is located in the center of everything. It is just 3 minutes walk to the the train station, close to the duomo, uffizi gallery, ponte vecchio and all the tourist sites but also close to the traditional market, cheap pizzeria's etc.
I definitely stay in this hotel if i'm coming back.
Would highly recommend the Osteria il Giardino for good local food & wine.

Room Tip: Room #4, it has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    32
    45
    19
    34
See reviews for
43
71
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My fiancée and I stayed 3 nights in this nice hotel. The hotel is an old palace that is spacious inside. It is clean, friendly, comfy and incredible value for money.
From the hotel terrace you can see the main sights of Florence. It is located the historical part of town. The hotel staff recommended some restaurants nearby; we tried two (Osteria Il Giardino e La Lampara) and both were quite good.
We stayed in a double room. The room was spacious, with a high ceiling and windows overlooking a patio balcony. The ensure bathroom was absolutely clean and larger than in other hotels we stayed at in Europe. The bed was comfortable and I was pleased that it was a large bed rather than 2 singles pushed together as seems to be the norm here.
The staff were all helpful, friendly and very kind. All that I met spoke English quite well; one of the concierges is Greek.
We loved our stay. The hotel is for everyone, perfect if someone wants close proximity to the sights and monuments, so it was perfect for us and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: A room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fra-Ge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We appreciated this hotel so tuscan and nice: we could describe it as a 3 "C" hotel, i.e. Cheap, Comfortable and Central. We had a very quiet room overlooking the courtyard and could open the windows all the time.
The hotel is in walking distance to the city center and all the main museums, close to everything.
Service was ok, they are warm and polite. The rooftop terrace is so amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 124Vera1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Bijou for five nights in late Oct 2013. Very nice, worth every euro! Our spacious room was equipped with a large balcony too. Staff service was perfect. Breakfast was excellent, the buffet table was full of cakes, biscuits, croissants, juices and so on. Also, you can have your breakfast on the rooftop: you can enjoy the use of an amazing terrace. Regardless, we would stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a cozy hotel! The rooms are spacious and large, and the bathrooms are very clean. The location is perfect, in downtown at a short distance from the main train station. Also, the room price was cheap: a very good deal for us. But most of all it's about the roof terrace: from the rooftop you can enjoy an amazing view of the city and its wonderful hills! We'll choose this hotel on our next trip for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 4 nights very happily at the Hotel Bijou. The room was very large, cozy and had a lovely balcony overlooking a courtyard. We also liked the location -- close enough to everything (train station, stores, museums, monuments). The restaurants and trattorias in the area are very good. The rooftop terrace is a must. The building is ancient, and the elevator is amazing! I would absolutley return -- a very good choice and an excellent value.

Room Tip: A quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Upon my arrival to the hotel I was greeted by a very unfriendly hosts (a female and male). That rushed my mother and I to our room. Once in our room, we were not able to open our room. I knocked for help and the lady and man came outside the room trying to assist us to open the room. They kept yelling in a very rude and mean way, "turn the knob to the left!!!!!!!" I responded that, "I am I am." After minutes of the no success and horrible tension, screaming to us in Italian. The lady instructed me to go the bathroom and open the window and give her the key. As I was opening the window I could hear screaming between the man and woman. Once I was able to open the door, I was confused on where to give the key. At this point I was shivering and scared and all they could do was scream at me. Once the key was given to them, they were able to open the door from the outside. The man and woman screamed, taunted and yelled at me for not being able to open the door. At this point I feared for my life. What if an emergency were to happen how can I open the door? The woman and man were so upset at me that they could not stop yelling at me. I decided that this is not a safe place to be. I demanded for our passports and ran out.
Besides the rooms are nasty and run down do not stay here.
I request my money back due to the harsh and unsafe circumstances at this hotel. I have already sent an email to venere customer care as instructed. This could have been a very fatal and scary circumstance.



Sincerely,

Moris Aynechi

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Nana2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etrusco1966, Direttore at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
First, a real clarification is necessary against your slanderous and defamatory comments: you have never arrived at the Hotel Bijou, we have never seen your faces. You have invented this false, absurd and ridiculous story by defaming us on this website only not to pay the penalty; in fact, you have booked through Venere / Expedia, and you know very well our cancellation policy on Venere, which is as follows: for late cancellations made after this time 100% of the entire stay is charged; for no-show, 100% of the entire stay is charged.
Therefore, according to our cancellation policy, we can charge the full amount of the booking, but generally we charge only the amount of one night. In any case, if you arrive at the hotel, you do not like the room and go away, you are still obliged to pay the penalty: our cancellation policy is clear, for late cancellations we can charge 100% of the entire stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#255 of 421 in Florence
245 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#279 of 421 in Florence
192 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#288 of 421 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 421 in Florence
264 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#289 of 421 in Florence
48 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Property: Hotel Bijou
Address: Via Fiume 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bijou 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is situated at 3rd floor of a magnificent old classic Florentine style building in the historical center, very close to the central train station of Firenze S. Maria Novella (100 mt., only 3 minutes walk) and Mc Donald's store, nearby the Exhibition Center of Fortezza da Basso, and in front of the Congress Center and the Business Center and in short distance from all the points of attraction of the city. The hotel is very near the wonderful Church of S. Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the traditional Market of San Lorenzo, next to the marvellous Church of San Lorenzo. At only 50 mt. there are also a nice Chinese restaurant on the corner and the Supermarket CONAD. The hotel has an elevator; rooms are equipped with private bath, A/C, heating, telephone, and TV set: some rooms have external bath. On demand, it's possible to have rooms with balcony. There is also a nice terrace on the roof where guests can sunbathe and enjoy a marvellous view on the city. Information about museums and wine-and-food tours in Florence and in Tuscany countryside. Breakfast is Continental with buffet: prices can range. No night curfew in hotel: concierge service is 24 hours a day. Fax service in hotel. We accept all kinds of groups: schools, religious, seniors, families, etc. Before departure, you can leave your baggages in hotel free of charge and for all the time needed. Credit Cards accepted: VISA, MC, JCB, AMERICAN EXPRESS. There is possibility of FREE parking or garage in the area. Hotel run by a family; they take care of their hotel personally and speak English, Spanish, French. To get FURTHER INFORMATION, LAST-MINUTE, CHEAP RATES, DISCOUNTS & SPECIAL OFFERS please visit our websites => hotel-bijou - florenceroomshotelbijou ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing