We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was my favourite of our whole trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferdinando II dei Medici
Ranked #264 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived in Florence without booking a room because we like to see what we're getting. We called about 15 places in the guidebook and they were full, dingy or too expensive. About two hours later, one of the proprietors recommended Ferdinando II dei Medici. We liked it immediately. The room had the highest ceilings I've ever seen and a huge window overlooking a roofscape. The bed was comfortable with high-quality, crisp sheets. The breakfast was ample. The receptionist even gave us a cup of tea after we checked in. Luca was especially helpful. The location on a quiet side street is especially brilliant; Among other things, it's around the corner from the Dante Museum and the church where Dante supposidly first saw Beatrice.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 had high ceilings and a huge window.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Ferdinando II dei Medici
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in May 2012 at this nice little hotel perfectly located in Central Florence. Very friendly staff, quite nice room, with a quite comfortable bed and surprisingly large bathroom. A typical Italian breakfast was provided which was very satisfactory. The only thing that I would have done different is to NOT sleep with the window open, as I was assaulted by some hungry mosquitoes on our last night. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone needing simple, convenient lodging in Florence.

Room Tip: If you prefer the quiet, ask for a room away from the street, as the late crowd below tends to make...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was looking for a low cost room in the center of Florence and we stayed at his hotel for four nights. It is centrally located but that is all I can say for it. Our room was noisy and not clean. The bathroom was not clean and I hated to use it. Breakfast was a misnomer. The worst of our 3 week trip. Better to seek a roll and coffee at a bar in the area. I regretted the reservation but did not want to waste time finding another room. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvspain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

went to a wedding in Artimino in Tuscany. Out of this world. Such a beautiful place ideal setting. Would need the use of a car as outside Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ballylooby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

First time staying at this Hotel. Good Points: The Hotel is in the heart of Florence and close to everything. Only a block or two off the Duomo. The room was simple and clean with a private, very small shower. Great price. I felt very safe. I would stay there again. Bad Points: The front desk guy was smoking out the window, but it made the lobby smell of smoke. I didn't want to have breakfast because of the smoke smell. The breakfast was so boring and the same every single day.(plain cord flakes, room temp milk, very sm glass of orange juice (just enough to make you thirsty), tasteless bread roll, barely warm tea or coffee.) You are better off saving your time and go downstairs and just outside the door on Via del corso there is a great cafe with fresh donuts, fresh squeezed juice, pastries and cappucino.

Room Tip: Ask for off-peak rates if traveling before April.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zantasticT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here for three nights and were pleasantly surprised. We had originally reserved a room with no facilities, but upon arrival the gentleman at the front desk put us in a room with a washroom as it was available. The staff at the front were always helpful when we asked how to get around town, where to shop and eat, and advised how to get museum tickets. The included breakfast was coffee/tea, breads, jams, cereal/milk etc. One morning we woke up later then 10am (the time the breakfast ended) and assumed we would just grab a snack in a cafe, but as we were walking out they still offered us something to eat, which was nice. The location of the hotel was wonderful, in the centre of everything, just a few minutes walk to the Uffizi and Duomo. The only negative was that there was no air conditioning (which we didn't realize would be that crucial for a good night's sleep in July). However, there was a fan in the closet that helped keep the room cool. Would stay here again as it was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We, too, were recommended by Evelyn at Pensione Maria Luisa De' Medici. Thank goodness! We met Luca at check-in and became fast friends. He helped us so much during our 3 days in Florence. We stayed in Room #1 - fabulous!! The view was lovely. It's a clean, modern little hotel in a quiet building off the Via del Corso. There's a great little elevator to make life a little easier. Luca recommended several restaurants to us. One, was the most "Italian" of our meals. No one spoke English to us and it was great! I highly recommend this little hotel. It was only 95 Euro a night for the double, including a bathroom. Enjoy your stay and tell Luca we said Ciao!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#338 of 411 in Florence
209 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#216 of 411 in Florence
669 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#171 of 411 in Florence
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#212 of 411 in Florence
169 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 411 in Florence
106 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#294 of 411 in Florence
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferdinando II dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferdinando II dei Medici

Address: Via del Presto 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ferdinando II dei Medici 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferdinando II dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing