We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to find small hotel”

Ferdinando II dei Medici
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferdinando II dei Medici
Ranked #267 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“hard to find small hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

small hotel off pedestrian area with elevator. great staff. i forgot my umbrella and he provided one. good breakfast. nice comfortable room with great beamed ceiling! there is no air conditioning but there is a fan in the closet.

Room Tip: no air conditioning so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    38
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had scouted several others and were surprised to find that this, pleasanter and nearer to the centers of interest in Firenze, was cheaper. Almost all small hotels have to be approached through huge gloomy entrance halls and staircases and elevators, but as soon as you step inside this one it's nice. I liked the people; they had an unaffected humble style. Our room (1, I think) happened to be a few level paces from the counter and the breakfast room. The hotel is off the busy Via Corso a short way down a side street, Via Presto; a little farther along this and around a corner is the Dante museum and the church of Santa Margarita where Dante first saw Beatrice, whom he could not marry but who guided him through Paradise. And the other places of high interest in Florence are not far away to west, east, and south.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyOttewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived in Florence without booking a room because we like to see what we're getting. We called about 15 places in the guidebook and they were full, dingy or too expensive. About two hours later, one of the proprietors recommended Ferdinando II dei Medici. We liked it immediately. The room had the highest ceilings I've ever seen and a huge window overlooking a roofscape. The bed was comfortable with high-quality, crisp sheets. The breakfast was ample. The receptionist even gave us a cup of tea after we checked in. Luca was especially helpful. The location on a quiet side street is especially brilliant; Among other things, it's around the corner from the Dante Museum and the church where Dante supposidly first saw Beatrice.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 had high ceilings and a huge window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in May 2012 at this nice little hotel perfectly located in Central Florence. Very friendly staff, quite nice room, with a quite comfortable bed and surprisingly large bathroom. A typical Italian breakfast was provided which was very satisfactory. The only thing that I would have done different is to NOT sleep with the window open, as I was assaulted by some hungry mosquitoes on our last night. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone needing simple, convenient lodging in Florence.

Room Tip: If you prefer the quiet, ask for a room away from the street, as the late crowd below tends to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was looking for a low cost room in the center of Florence and we stayed at his hotel for four nights. It is centrally located but that is all I can say for it. Our room was noisy and not clean. The bathroom was not clean and I hated to use it. Breakfast was a misnomer. The worst of our 3 week trip. Better to seek a roll and coffee at a bar in the area. I regretted the reservation but did not want to waste time finding another room. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvspain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

went to a wedding in Artimino in Tuscany. Out of this world. Such a beautiful place ideal setting. Would need the use of a car as outside Florence.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballylooby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

First time staying at this Hotel. Good Points: The Hotel is in the heart of Florence and close to everything. Only a block or two off the Duomo. The room was simple and clean with a private, very small shower. Great price. I felt very safe. I would stay there again. Bad Points: The front desk guy was smoking out the window, but it made the lobby smell of smoke. I didn't want to have breakfast because of the smoke smell. The breakfast was so boring and the same every single day.(plain cord flakes, room temp milk, very sm glass of orange juice (just enough to make you thirsty), tasteless bread roll, barely warm tea or coffee.) You are better off saving your time and go downstairs and just outside the door on Via del corso there is a great cafe with fresh donuts, fresh squeezed juice, pastries and cappucino.

Room Tip: Ask for off-peak rates if traveling before April.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zantasticT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#204 of 421 in Florence
91 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#210 of 421 in Florence
162 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#284 of 421 in Florence
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#197 of 421 in Florence
281 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#207 of 421 in Florence
165 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#187 of 421 in Florence
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferdinando II dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferdinando II dei Medici

Property: Ferdinando II dei Medici
Address: Via del Presto 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Ferdinando II dei Medici 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferdinando II dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing