We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferdinando II dei Medici
Ranked #259 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

A wonderful little quaint hotel. Close to everything and right on the bus line. It's clean, quiet and loaded with charm. The staff is so very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is so so, but adequate. Overall a great value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agrannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed there and it was a lot of fun. very good location right near the great piazzas and restraunts. We had trouble with parking but finally we did spot a car park after an afternoon of searching. nice area, very basic breakfast which did ruin a bit. After all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100daytripper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This hotel was a lovely surprise. It was in a great location, had a lift, your own bathroom and lovely artwork on the walls. Our room was a reasonable size and clean. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful.

The breakfast was adequate, nothing flash but enough to get going.

Another thing that I noticed was that for those guests with mobility issues, this hotel is a great choice as it has a lift and all the rooms are on the same level. There are no gaps or steps once you entered the hotel.

Although it was challenging for the taxi driver to find it, I found the location ideal as it was within walking distance of the Uffizi gallery, the Ponte Vecchio, the leather markets and the Duomo.

This is a simple hotel but great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

small hotel off pedestrian area with elevator. great staff. i forgot my umbrella and he provided one. good breakfast. nice comfortable room with great beamed ceiling! there is no air conditioning but there is a fan in the closet.

Room Tip: no air conditioning so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had scouted several others and were surprised to find that this, pleasanter and nearer to the centers of interest in Firenze, was cheaper. Almost all small hotels have to be approached through huge gloomy entrance halls and staircases and elevators, but as soon as you step inside this one it's nice. I liked the people; they had an unaffected humble style. Our room (1, I think) happened to be a few level paces from the counter and the breakfast room. The hotel is off the busy Via Corso a short way down a side street, Via Presto; a little farther along this and around a corner is the Dante museum and the church of Santa Margarita where Dante first saw Beatrice, whom he could not marry but who guided him through Paradise. And the other places of high interest in Florence are not far away to west, east, and south.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GuyOttewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived in Florence without booking a room because we like to see what we're getting. We called about 15 places in the guidebook and they were full, dingy or too expensive. About two hours later, one of the proprietors recommended Ferdinando II dei Medici. We liked it immediately. The room had the highest ceilings I've ever seen and a huge window overlooking a roofscape. The bed was comfortable with high-quality, crisp sheets. The breakfast was ample. The receptionist even gave us a cup of tea after we checked in. Luca was especially helpful. The location on a quiet side street is especially brilliant; Among other things, it's around the corner from the Dante Museum and the church where Dante supposidly first saw Beatrice.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 had high ceilings and a huge window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in May 2012 at this nice little hotel perfectly located in Central Florence. Very friendly staff, quite nice room, with a quite comfortable bed and surprisingly large bathroom. A typical Italian breakfast was provided which was very satisfactory. The only thing that I would have done different is to NOT sleep with the window open, as I was assaulted by some hungry mosquitoes on our last night. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone needing simple, convenient lodging in Florence.

Room Tip: If you prefer the quiet, ask for a room away from the street, as the late crowd below tends to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#215 of 409 in Florence
172 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 409 in Florence
215 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#188 of 409 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#206 of 409 in Florence
596 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#212 of 409 in Florence
693 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#201 of 409 in Florence
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferdinando II dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferdinando II dei Medici

Address: Via del Presto 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ferdinando II dei Medici 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ferdinando II dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing