We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green and Black - Excellent stay - But you really aren't getting wifi”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #239 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel is a unique contemporary hotel. Its hotel colors are neon green and black. Overall, we really liked the hotel. The room was painted black and white and it was dark overall. Although it seems to be a big deal to others, we like the decor. It made for great sleeping in the morning. :) The bathroom and showers were clean and modern. The rooms are situated funny. They required climbing a mini set of steps. The breakfast was ok. It did not have cappuccinos or espressos. The food was fine. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Train station and a quick walk to the main attractions. Here is the major complaint. Their wifi sucked!!! None of my devices (laptop, iphone, ipad) would stay connected. They had a funny set up. I complained and the guy said it was my computer. I hardwired connected to the router and it still dropped. It wasn't my wireless. They had nice computers and it would take about 1 min between screen changes. It was slow. There was no internet in the room. Only on the first and 2nd floor. If internet is critical to you, I would suggest not staying until they upgrade. That was the only issue. The beds were nice and the hotel was clean. I recommend staying as long as you DO NOT require wifi. Hopefully, they upgrade because everything else is great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverTravelHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

The room was so dark , and I am not exaggerating. I had to ask for extra light as I could not even see to unpack my bag!.The ceiling, floor, furniture were all BLACK. The bathroom seemed clean for from the first look but there were public hairs all over. One of the women at the reception was rude she would not even look at you when she talked to to you.
The plus side was the location in the historic center, air conditioning and break fast was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mylovelybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My room had a view to the church, quite cute! Breakfast is very good, and location is excellent, very convenient to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Ok, this was one of those times that you dont necessarily get a room like the one shown on the webpage... But, it is a very nicely set up hotel with a great location , and very good front desk service .. We had room 527, which we wouldnt recommend .. It barely had a window, and the bathroom stinked pretty bad honestly ... Had the chance to see another room, and guess we had bad luck, cos others were way nicer, but we only stayed one night, so we didnt mind... Breakfast was far above the average european breakfast, with fast replenishment (the hotel was fully booked)... Lobby Wifi has a modest charge, but not a burden, elevator is tiny (but its Europe anyway) ... I would probably stay there again, but not in the same room...

Room Tip: Dont get room 527, the rest is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MX_TrueReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Under a 5 min walk from the train station and in a lovely square. Very near the Duomo and the city centre. Florence itself is lovely but packed with tourists so we came back to the hotel every now and then to relax on the balcony. The fact our room had the only balcony in the hotel (facing the square) was a major plus and what made the hotel for us. Being able to sit out with a glass of wine in the evening with a fab view was incredible. For the price we were not expecting this added benefit (ask for room 54 if you can!). The reception staff were lovely and very friendly. The stairway did smell of damp a bit, so dont know what the other rooms were like. The shower was good but a bit small but nice and clean. Breakfast was also pretty good but nothing special.

I just think for the price, the location was amazing and we wouldnt have wanted to have stayed anywhere else!

Room Tip: ask for 54 with the balcony facing the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eharvey1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We enjoyed this hotel. We had a triple room and it was very large, and facing the square.

The decor is clean and funky, the breakfast fine and the service very good (eg the maid service came while we were having breakfast!). Our room looked out over the square, which I loved. There is quite a bit of pedestrian traffic but no vehicles and the windows are double glazed so although there is some noise, with the windows closed, it is muted. If you are very sensitive to noise you may want a back room although you then don't have the view.

The other thing to note is that our room was up 13 steps from the elevator so if that is a problem for you, make sure you ask for a room on the same level as the elevator (reception did offer to have someone take our bags up on check in). There is no wifi in the rooms but there is a computer room where you can use the hotel's apple computers for 6E an hour or, if you have your own laptop, wifi is 5E for 24 hours (continuous).

My only reservation is the air conditioning - we were there in May so not too hot but I'm not sure the air conditioning unit was great and our room was very sunny so in the height of summer there may be a problem.

The hotel is very near the train station, which was handy, and also easy walking to the sights of Florence (Florence is small - you walk everywhere).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This hotel is remarkably handy if you arrive in Florence by train. It's location is extremely close to the main railroad station of Firenze Santa Maria Novella. The hotel was adequate and good value for money. The building faces the Santa Maria Novella Church which is one of the jewels of Florence. As for the hotel itself, the room we were given was at the rear of the hotel and looked out over a rather grubby back yard with feral pidgeons fluttering about. The buildings at the rear had wall mounted air conditioning units which gave out their high pitched noise which meant that the windows could not be left open at night, not to mention the stinging insects which shared the room with us and managed to take chunks out of my arms and face. This was not the hotels fault but the fact that the airconditioning was not operating even when I asked why it wasn't was really not good enough. The weather was extremely warm and sleep quality therefore was not as good as might have been expected given the miles walked in the day visiting the sights and fear of mosquitoes.

On the positive side the included breakfast (cereals and cold buffet) was enjoyable and adequate as a start to the day. Breakfast started at 7.00am and it was a good idea to get to the breakfast room on time as it got very busy early on. Staff were friendly and polite. Communication in English was not a problem.

A note of warning, if you have a walking problem or stairs are a difficulty, then this might be a problem for you, although there is a tiny elevator.

I would stay there again but not in a back room.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanmarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#144 of 411 in Florence
827 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#101 of 411 in Florence
269 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#116 of 411 in Florence
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#173 of 411 in Florence
1,390 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#257 of 411 in Florence
171 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#146 of 411 in Florence
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £52 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing