We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money?”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #241 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The location is great, the hotel itself- not so much. feels more like a hostel to me. weird, old and badly renovated, keeps on being renovating (worked there during our stay).
the staff was nice.
No wifi, nice breakfast.
The shower had almost no stream in it.
Just felt weird, didn't like it so much, but it was OK... Guess u get what u pay for, right?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotem Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel is located very conveniently on the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, which is situated in historic center and yet very close to Bus and Train Stations. Duomo is just 5 minutes away so as Ponte Vecchio and other attractions.
The staff is VERY friendly, speak English and super helpful.
Rooms very very clean and nice, although it would be nice to have a full size mirror in the room. not a stylish zig-zag in which you see almost nothing. The design of our room was very sleek and elegant.
The breakfast is good (although is the same every day), you can ask for additional cappuccino or caffe latte from the waiter, which was nice. Water for tea is also available on request.

The only huge downside was the noise from the street. It wasn't regular city buzz, but just plain torture: teenagers and drunk people laughed and talked loudly until 4-5 am, then at 6 cleaning machines started to wash the Piazza and around 7am construction works in the shop next to hotel started... of course the sound of ambulances, buzzing Vespas and other rollers, cars etc in addition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had booked this hotel after reading previous reviews: primarliy for the location. We arrived at Florence SMN Station from Rome by train. Upon exiting the station, on the right side, you can see the towering Basilica di Santa Maria Novella (church). Cross the road, walk till the basilica (there is a tourist information office there as well) and just take the road along the church with the church wall on your right. The hotel is on the left, and among the first few buildings. The location saves time, money and a lot of effort especially if one has heavy bags to carry!

Staff (Tony) was helpful and upon check-in provided us with useful & practical tips on Florence sightseeing. Appeared very honest & did not try to "sell" any local sightseeing tours; instead advised us to walk around to absorb the sights. Our room was on the fourth floor, reachable through a tiny lift, and the 4th floor corridors appeared dark. The room itself was spacious and walls were painted in bold colors !

All the sights inside Florence are within a few minutes walk, e.g. Cathedral (Duomo) is maximum five minutes walk from Universo. The hotel is located in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella which is vast open and has a few restaurants with outside & indoor seating. We had our dinner at one such restaurant, barely a few meters from the hotel entrance, which was a nice experience, We found the breakfast room quite small and was crowded when we visited; breakfast spread was minimal and much lesser than many comparable hotels in Italy & Europe - only cereals,breads and fruits. An area of improvement, since the tariff is not low as such.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaideep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and i are not too picky with hotels since we are barely there when we travel. Id give this place an average of what we've seen in Europe. But remember that Europe is expensive in general so you get what you pay for.
+
Great location
Free breakfast and it had a lot to choose from
Friendly staff
Clean
-
The rooms are a bit dim, which seems weird that it would bother you but it kind of does.
6 Eur a day for wifi
Only a few hangers for your clothes

Overall the positives outweigh the negatives so enjoy!

Thank angiejean01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Nice room, very "mod" decor, EXCELLENT breakfast (especially since I was traveling with a teen boy who ate much more than the typical continental breakfast), large, clean bathroom. Gorgeous location. Very convenient to the main train hub in Florence!

Room Tip: We did have very low wattage bulbs in our room, it seemed kind of dim, but the staff was accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Fantastic location in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, within walking distance of the many famous and historical sites. There are good transport links with the train station around the corner and Pisa only an hour away. Also many shops and restaurants located nearby and the staff at the hotel are always pleased to help and advise you. The rooms are clean and neat and breakfast is also available, cereals, pastries, ham and cheeses etc which were of a good standard. They are also quite happy to make you a coffee which was lovely. Would definitely come here again, all the staff were so hospitable and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Located in front of piazza Santa maria novella, this hotel is not necessarily in the core of downtown Florence but it is very close. In the piazza you can find food vendors, and even sit down and enjoy a glass of wine or two (or five lol). The room was beautiful. It was clean, comfortable, the decor was nice and we had a view of the piazza which was excellent. The only thing I was not too thrilled about was the fact that the room were breakfast is served is very small, and it became overly crowded very easily. If you are traveling to Florence, I would definitely recommend staying at hotel universo :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#151 of 409 in Florence
813 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#121 of 409 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 409 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#186 of 409 in Florence
1,367 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#257 of 409 in Florence
169 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 409 in Florence
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing