We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not worth 3 stars”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #247 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Very central and walking distance from most of the touristic spots. However, the rooms are very tired, old towels and reception area very cold.
To my standards, this hotel wouldn't have 3 stars.
Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boyboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved the location as it was very near the train station. However, the room was not well maintained as some things were damaged and not repaired or replacement. The room was also too dark as there was insufficient lighting.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank harry3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed for three nights in early December 2013 and loved the big, wide view of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella out of two large windows! It is a somewhat quirky hotel with weird decor but once you adjust to that, it becomes part of the background and you can just enjoy being there without too much fuss..the sun streams in through the windows in the afternoon and makes it a very enjoyable experience, relaxing, quiet, and yet with a spectacular view!
the breakfast is good but could be better! Maybe some hot eggs need to be aded to the menu to make it worthwhile on a cold, winter morning!
nonetheless, Universo makes for undeniably good experience and comfort!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the Piazza of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am going with the very good rating on account of the service we received after we complained about the first room, and the room improvement after our first day.
We saw a construction crane in front of the hotel on Google street map when we checked out the hotel before booking and were concerned about construction noises. As the street view map could be old and nobody in recent TA reviews mentioned anything about construction noise, we emailed the hotel which assured us that construction IN the hotel was finished. What it didn’t say was that there’s construction right next door. We read a raving TA review about Room 509 so we asked for that room if at all possible when we went ahead and booked and paid extra for a view room. We also prepaid to take advantage of the free internet offer.
On arrival around noon, we immediately saw the big crane by the hotel just as on the Google Street map, somewhat worried but there was no unusual noise (read on!) as we approached the hotel. On entering the small lobby, a very nice, all smiley man helped us, offered to hold our luggage which was delivered to our room before we came back from lunch and visiting the Duomo. We did not get 509 as requested but another one (51). When we entered the room around 3:30 or 4pm, we were blasted with jack-hammering noises that were just unbearable even with the window closed. Both the room and bathroom were extremely small. The AC wasn’t working (remote control nowhere to be seen) and it was quite hot from the afternoon sun. We went down to talk to the front desk, a.k.a., Lisa, to see if we could have an alternate room. We were shown another room (29) in the back. My husband emphasized to Lisa that we had paid extra for a view room and had asked for 509. She said 509 was taken but would be available the next day. We needed to only pack up in the morning and the staff would move us while we’re out. We agreed to the compromise and kudos to Lisa as I felt that she did try hard to make us happier given the circumstances. Even without a view, we’re definitely happier with 29. It’s much more spacious and the AC worked and it’s quieter by virtue of the location (Lisa assured us that the construction noises were usually not as bad and they’re contained from early morning (7:30 or 8am to around 5:30pm, so if you want to sleep late or take an afternoon siesta, factor that in). The bathroom was just as tiny and the shower just as cramped.
When we came back from Pisa the next day, we went to 509 and found incredible improvement. It’s two level, modern and good-size bathroom and a small sitting area (sofa can be pulled out to be a bed) with a TV downstairs (there’s even a safe), and a spacious bedroom which open to a small terrace upstairs. There’s even a huge sink for doing laundry in the bedroom. This space was night and day when compared to the other two rooms. Except for the concrete floor (luckily we brought disposable slippers) and the weird space (not exactly a closet and the hangers couldn’t be removed) for hanging clothes, and no chairs out on the terrace), everything about this space was excellent. If this was the room we got from the start, we’d have rated this hotel excellent.
Breakfast was average but decent considering it’s included in the rate. Brioches tasted packaged but there’s a selection of meat and cheese which we’re not expecting for a continental breakfast. We could also order cappuccino from the woman staffing the room. The elevator was definitely your typical small European contraption and we found that we had to walk a few steps up or down depending on the floor we selected for the elevator to stop. So beware in case you need help with luggage. We would recommend this hotel only if you can get 509 or one of the rooms with a 3 digit numbers as they appear to be the newer part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 509 or one of the newer rooms that have a 3-digit number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunTrips101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in 2010 and again last week with 6 friends. For 3 star this hotel is very good, excellent staff, good breakfast, excellent location for seeing Florence. The rooms are good, clean with comfortable beds, but need a lick of paint.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked a doubleroom i January for two nights in end of September. We got a bedroom 2.33x3.50 = 8,155 sqm. We had to through out a chair to go inte our room and we hade to keep our luggage in the toilet (1.95x1.20 = 2,34 sqm) and take it out in the corridor when we need to use the toilett for other purpose. When we complained in reception they told us it was normal (!) size of hotelroom in Italy. A very bad explanation to a couple with experince of hundreds hotels in Italy and other countries in Europé and USA. After much argue we got the adress to the manager, but he has not answered our complaint and our demand in paying back a part of the roomprice. One star for the location is almoust too much for such a bad hotel.

Mats&Inger Jeppsson

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mats-in-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Be prepared to walk up steps to your room even though they have an elevator!
Room standard except for wild color
Bathroom not so good. Mold in shower, window
Breakfast decent
Would
not choose this one again

Room Tip: One without steps to reach it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickiD835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#148 of 410 in Florence
807 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#99 of 410 in Florence
244 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#245 of 410 in Florence
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#208 of 410 in Florence
383 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#81 of 410 in Florence
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £60 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing