We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universo - Modern and well located”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #248 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Universo - Modern and well located”
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed in Hotel Universo for 2 days in the beginning of the year.
We discovered the hotel in the Internet, and as it seemed it was very modern and really well located (close to railway station and to historic center).
As we had big expectations we were just dissapointed with some details, nothing serious, but without them our accomodation would just be perfect ;)
- our room was in an intermedious flour, we had to go out in 4th flour and then climb some stairs (with all bags was not so easy!)
- in the 1st morning the air conditioning wasn't working and so wasn't the hot hater, and the staff wasn't nice to solve the problem.
- the rooms are perfectlly redecorated but the wc's are in the original state, it would be nice if they change the bathroom decoration too.
But we found some really nice things too.
- The hotel site is really good and have nice promotions
- The hotel is really well located
- the breakfast is very nice and helpfull.
- the breakfast staff was very nice too (speacilly the brazilian girl)
Overall it was a nice experinece and we recommend it almost everyone.

  • Liked — The modern decoration
  • Disliked — The intermediate floor
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    219
    104
    68
    38
See reviews for
80
262
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

If you're looking for a great hotel on a budget, this is the one. My husband and I stayed at the Universo for two nights in October while touring Italy. The room is definately "Ultra Modern". The decor is like something from the future, regardless it was very clean, new, fresh, and spacious. We did pay a little extra for the superior room.

The location is great! If you arrive by train, which we did, you simply walk across the street. We walked to all the sites from our hotel. I found Florence in general to be very walkable.

Breakfast was very good consisting of breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, bottled water, etc. It was more than sufficient to get us going on a full day of sight seeing.

If you want an amazing dinner that's very, very, very close by go to Buca Mario. Order the Florentine steak. You will not regret it! The service was amazing too.

The staff at the hotel was also very nice and helpful.

Overall, we would definately recommend this hotel to our friends and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — The Room and Location.
  • Disliked — Stairs to the room.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chirocristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We had a great 4 night stay at Hotel Universo, 5 minute walk from Santa Maria Nouvella railway station and within easy walking distance to most attractions. The staff are very helpful with directions etc. The bedrooms were decorated with bold funky colours and we started off each day with a lovely continental style breakfast. Would definately stay again!!!!

  • Liked — The convenient location and funky decor
  • Disliked — It didn't have a bar/lounge
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Really nice hotel, very stylish.
Good price, helpful staff (all Eng.speaking), decent breakfast.
200 mtrs. from the Santa Maria di Novella station.
10 min. walk to the Duomo.

We had a room towards the yard, very quiet.

Will highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Liked — The stylish ambient
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dubbelklick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Universo was comfortable, convenient, and affordable. The decor is funky and whimsical with modern amenities, a decent breakfast, and helpful staff. The location was great - minutes from the Duomo or Santa Maria Novella Station, and quite quiet. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veggie_spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We had a large and clean room and en suite in this excellently located hotel. The staff were really nice and very helpful, they also spoke good English. Everything that we wanted to see in Florence was within easy walking distance from the hotel and it was not a problem walking the short distance from the train station to the hotel with our bags. Breakfast was nice and the beds were comfortable. No complaints at all!

  • Liked — The room was very nice
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2008

The hotel is very modern for the country and for this classification level (3 stars).
The breakfast was the best we've got in Italy.
No noise in the room despite of the civil engineering near the hotel.
Perfect location (near the central station and all cultural attractions).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tonio79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#140 of 412 in Florence
796 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#105 of 412 in Florence
232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#124 of 412 in Florence
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#212 of 412 in Florence
374 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#239 of 412 in Florence
159 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#77 of 412 in Florence
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Property: Hotel Universo
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing