We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay--couldn't have been better!”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #239 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We had a really wonderful stay at this hotel. Not only were the rooms newly redone and clean, but the staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending several places to eat. We were pleasantly surprised with the extensive continental breakfast that was included with our stay. They even would make cappuccino for you if you asked! Our room overlooked the Piazza Santa Maria Novella which was also recently redone and beautiful. We were a 15 minute walk from just about anywhere in downtown Florence! We stayed in three different places in Italy and we thought this was the most comfortable bed! Just a great overall stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed here during the winter 2009. The rooms are quite small but it was clean, the service was good and the location, just a block or so from the main train station, is OK. If on a budget it is a decent choice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millercgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I chose this hotel because of the excellent location and the reasonable price (65euros per night per room). Old but totally renovated, with funky colourful rooms, it was really worth its money. The staff was really helpful (they all speak excellent english, booked for us tickets for the Ufizzi, checked the trains timetable etc.), room was being cleaned up every day, breakfast was more than adequate -including a delicious capuccino, and everything in Florence was about a 5 min walk. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothea_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We visited Florence in July 2009 and found the Hotel Universo to be the perfect hotel. The hotel is small in size, but the rooms are large and clean. As another review noted, the hotel staff was wonderful. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning and an internet room (you must pay to use the internet). The location was perfect because we walked to various locations throughout Florence. We spent three nights at the Universo.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My husband and I were very happy with this hotel. It's close to the station. it's clean and had a reasonable sized bathroom. The choices in the breakfast were limited however. If you don't ask the kitchen staffs to refill the plates, they wouldn't. However, we find it no problem at all. Afterall, we only paid 85 euro for a night. It's good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandLee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The reason I booked this hotel was that the reviews were good, it was cheap and the location was good( close to station and Duomo). I was not disappointed on these factors. The decor of the hotel is nice and colorful. The receptionist was very helpful and patient while she checked the train timings for Pisa and Rome and suggested itineraries for us. The room was big as compared with other hotels we stayed in. There was a double bed and another single bed! But the shower was a disaster. I have never seen such a small place to bathe. I could hardly wash myself without touching the walls.Another bad thing was that there was no remote control for the A/C. The breakfast was basic and adequate. Overall, it was good value for the price I had to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Hotel Universo is very conveniently located: near the main trainstation (easy connection to the airport). When I read that rooms are quite "boutique" I booked an upgrade; glad I did! Even upgraded the room wasn't big. Great decor, though. Shame about the bathroom, though clean a bit outdated compared to the room. Breakfast was ok, always great coffee in Italy. Staff could have been a bit friendlier. When internet was down no alternative was offered. We were forced to go out and search for an internet café. Ended up in a different hotel where the employee at the front desk offered us the use of his own notebook! Wow, Italians aren't usually that friendly. Overall good stay, wouldn't give it 5* though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#145 of 411 in Florence
826 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#118 of 411 in Florence
1,623 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#175 of 411 in Florence
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#257 of 411 in Florence
171 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#101 of 411 in Florence
268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#313 of 411 in Florence
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £51 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing