We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good value deal.”
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #241 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This hotel was absolutely perfect! Mainly the location was so good for us - just few minutes from all sights. The stazione di Santa Maria Novella was just 5 minutes from hotel. Me and friend of mine has decided to book room in this hotel because we found it on lastminute.com. The price of the room was so cheap! We were staying there for 5 nights. Everything was great! Very clean room and bath, new furniture, so comfortable bad... Just one thing I didnt like was breakfast - actually it wasnt so bad but I dont like having on breakfast still the same food...But I think this is problem of most hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaKoliskova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon in April. It is right near the train station which was good for us and close to the other sites and attractions of Florence. It is an old building that has had a quick and cheap facelift. The room decor was nice and modern and our room on the 4 floor had a nice view over the piazza in front of the hotel. The lift only fits 2 people and is very bumpy and slow when it works. There are lots of sirens in the street that go off during all hours of the day. Breakfast was pretty bad. Not much variety and the rude breakfast ladies only bring out 5 bits of ham and cheese on a platter at a time for the bread rolls. They had Apple Mac computers to use for 5 Euro for an hour. Every time we went out there was a new reception person so there was not much consistency with them getting to know which room key was yours.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymooners160110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed for four nights and after the first night we were ready to leave. If we hadn't prepaid we would have. It's a glorifies excuse for a hotel. Decor is modern, bathroom, bed all quite new. However the noise is unbearable. It was either the lift clunking away all through the night or the neighbours conversations you could hear through the paper thin walls. Our room was on the top floor and overlooked a balcony which at first we thought was pleasant until we realised that was where all the late night and early morning smokers went and the fumes came straight in our window. Didn't matter whether the window was open or shut.

Breakfast was ok. Cold meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurt, cereal, coffee and tea. We foun out by accident that you could order fresh espresso from staff if you asked. They only offered it to the Italian visitors!

We would only consider staying here again if for one night only.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

hotel decided to charge us for an extra day because "we had stayed 45 minutes over the check out time" day before had refused to give us second key for our four person family..then said it was policy..then said they could give us one in a day..then did not. internet is charged by the hour. breakfast is bare bare minimum some cereal and bad coffee (how is that possible in Italy??) Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Stayed there one night in Jan 2010 and thought it of a good standard. The large room overlooking the square was clean and modern and the view great. While the bathroom was also clean, it clearly hadn't been updated at the same time as the room and smacked of more traditional hotel. Combined with the traditional central stone staicase painted in a ghastly pea green, it feels as if the hotel has undergone only a superficial facelift in an effort to boutique-ify the Universo. There is no bar, no parking (30euros per day valet parking with private garage around the corner, organised by reception), good staff, and a small but clean and minimalist breakfast area. It's okay. Good but not great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyattheback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We selected the Hotel Universo because it is conveniently located near the train station (we took a side trip to Pisa, highly recommended) and easy walking access to the city of Florence. It is clean and modern. I would not recommend a room facing the square if you are a light sleeper. Yes indeed it is a beautiful view but our windows on the fourth floor were not soundproof and I heard every truck and activity that went on all night. It did not help that our toilet ran all night, but in fairness we were only staying one night so we did not mention it to the desk until we left. Breakfast included cereals, yogurt, croissants, meats, etc. Clean is my major criteria for selecting a hotel room. The sheets and towels are not luxurious and the beds are fine, a bit hard for me, but all in all satisfactory. We were there to see Florence, not to experience a spa-like hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#151 of 409 in Florence
813 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#121 of 409 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 409 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#186 of 409 in Florence
1,367 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#257 of 409 in Florence
169 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 409 in Florence
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing