We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location.”
Review of Hotel Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Toscana
Ranked #388 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here in September and our room was clean and comfortable. Even though the air conditioner could have worked a little better, we were still happy with the room. There is a laundromat right across the street, next to a small liquor store and a bakery close by. Walking distance to all the sights and a decent breakfast included. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarsmack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Toscana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times because it's right off the train station and fifteen minutes from all the great sights of Florence. For the price, it is worth it for that alone. The rooms are OK for the most part, and the breakfast is OK too. The staff can either be helpful or gruff and resistant to languages other than Italian. Even more, I was greeted in May by paper signs put up all over the hotel about the fact that one had to pay cash because there was a temporary problem with their credit-card transactions. I hadn't planned on paying with my cash, but I had no choice. Also, although they said this was only a short-term thing, the signs looked like they had been around more than the two days they said this had been going on. Given this, I would certainly think twice before going here again, even with the low price and the good location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesH064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

In florence, I feel you can do much better for same price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I'll start form the good points - it was the cheapest double room with a bathroom in September and it's just few steps from Firenze Centrale and located in the city center. But the room was upleasant and dark. Adequate for one star standard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

When we arrived, they tried to send us to another hotel, because they didn't have rooms for us! It didn't matter that I booked in advance. I had printed confirmation with me and was very determined to stay in that hotel, because it was convenient for my mother as she can't walk long distances. We managed to receive a room there, though not in Toscana, but in Pensione Sole - 1-star hotel above Toscana. It looked very cheap, a/c didn't work, no hot water. After some arguing the guy from reception switched on both, but a/c normally works only till 1-2 a.m. and then is switched off by the staff. Anyway you can't use it in the night as it flows directly onto beds. Neither you can open the window, b/s of mosquitos.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 2 week trip to Italy. The room we got was large, clean and fairly comfortable. The breakfast is basic but included in the price. Overall, with this hotel, you get what you pay for. We paid 60 euros a night and we were quite happy with it for that price.

It is very central, very close to the train station and all major tourist attractions. I wouldn't recommend for those with children or elderly relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobbes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at hotel Toscana for 4 nights in June 2009. We booked because of a reasonable price. All we needed was a room with shower and air conditioning. Our room did have the functioning air conditioning unit, but it took a separate trip to the manager to get a remote control for it. The roomed cooled quickly enough so everything seemed ok. Then we woke up in the middle of the night because our room was intolerably hot and air conditioner was not working. We tried opening the window, but the street was very noisy. First thing in the morning we went to talk to the manager who informed us that they turn the air conditioning off at night because the noise bothers people staying in other rooms. After some negotiations he promised that they would not turn it off again. This repeated every night of our stay. Another annoying feature of our room was that the bathroom was separated only by thin folding screen, which did not isolate any noises.
We stayed at 4 different hotels on this trip and hotel Toscana was our worst experience. We would not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssnd_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 411 in Florence
255 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#305 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#311 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#277 of 411 in Florence
95 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#287 of 411 in Florence
237 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#274 of 411 in Florence
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toscana

Address: Via del Sole 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Toscana 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toscana is in the historic center of Firenze,5 Mins from Railway Station.Hotel Toscana offers spacious rooms,with simple furnishings and all comforts.You are within walking distance of all the major monuments of Florence and just open the window to feel in historic Florence, and full of art and architecture of the Renaissance.Cozy and comfortable with a range of services make our hotel a great place to spend your vacation, internet Wifi, access as well as a desk in the reception will ensure the connection with the rest of the world.The Tuscany Hotel has 12 rooms,private baths, TV, air conditioning,WIFI internet connection, are the services available at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toscana Hotel Florence
Toscana Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing