We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay if you don't have to”
Review of Hotel Guelfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guelfa
Ranked #357 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I arrived in Florence main station and the agent got me room in this hotel. The furniture was very old and in the night there was a lot of noise from some kind of transformer on the hallway, making it very hard to sleep, next to noise from other rooms. I was happy when the alarm clock showed 9am and I could leave!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Travelaroundandsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guelfa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2007

Operating on a limited budget, we wanted to find a cheap but cheerful central location &, in the Hotel Guelfa we found it. Flying into Pisa & travelling by train into Florence we were grateful that the Hotel is so convenient to Firenze SMN & all the principal tourist attractions. The staff could not have been more welcoming or more helpful. If you don't set your sights too high then this is the hotel for you.

Sherri & Iain
England

Stayed: November 2007
Thank cosimoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

The 2-star hotel has a good location - about 5 minute walk from the Dome. As it was high season and everything seemed to be booked out, we stayed in their shared bathroom double for two nights. The room was really tiny and faced the street. There was quite a lot of noise from the street and from the small airconditioner next to the bed (and it wasn't even powerful enough, so it was still quite hot). The shared bathroom was also very tiny, to shower, you had to separate yourself from the toilet with a curtain and there wasn't too much space to move. But for 55€ per night /double, I guess it could have been worse, and - as a lastminute deal, the location made up for most of its flaws.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aaanaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2005

Initially I was pretty happy with the place. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped us with our train bookings etc. And at first I thought the room was pretty quiet.

Unfortunately the noise outside is not what you need to worry about, it's the noise from wihin. Like a lot of other budget priced Italian hotels, the soundproofing is very poor. The banging of a door, voices in the hallway, someone running up the stairs are not only clearly audible, they seem to be intensified.

The location is great, the staff are great but if you're a light sleeper, forget about it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ouzo_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2005

I was quoted 85 Euros/night with continental breakfast ($312 for three nights). My cousin and I stayed in room 24, which was very plain. The room had a king bed and a twin bed, small table with TV, and armoire. The carpeting desperately needs to be replaced, as well as the "lock" on the bathroom door. The bathroom was very large with tub and curtain, toilet, bidet, and sink. The bathroom was in much better condition than the bedroom. Our room was very quiet as it faced an inner courtyard. I do not recommend the place based on a few things: My cousin complained about the tub because there was no stopper for her to take a bath; the cat that hangs around proceeded to use the tile floor of the lobby bathroom as its toilet; and the place needs to be updated, such as the carpeting. The location was good in that it was just a 5 minute walk to the outdoor market areas and about the same amount of time to walk to the Accademia. Up the street is a great little restaurant, Trattoria Guelfa on via Guelfa, 103r.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonicaPileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Favallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#312 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#237 of 411 in Florence
426 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 411 in Florence
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
#324 of 411 in Florence
270 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#209 of 411 in Florence
315 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 411 in Florence
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guelfa

Address: Via Guelfa 28, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Guelfa 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Florence's historic centre, this 2-star hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Duomo Cathedral and the Santa Maria Railway Station. It offers free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception. The Guelfa Hotel features air-conditioned rooms with satellite TV, en suite facilities and free Wi-Fi access. You will receive discounted parking rates in a nearby garage. The Guelfa provides a bright TV room and serves a typical Italian breakfast daily. The Guelfa is less than 500 metres from the Accademia Gallery and the trai station Santa Maria Novella and Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Guelfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guelfa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing