We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a cheap hotel but the price wasn't cheap”
Review of Hotel Guelfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guelfa
Ranked #355 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were welcoming and friendly, but we did not love this hotel. Location was great, 5 min walk to the duomo and 5 min to the train station. The common areas were very dated and didn't look very clean. The wifi only worked in common areas. There is no included breakfast. I understand that Florence is an expensive city to stay, but for the price I thought this place would be a bit nicer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Not only did this hotel have a great location, but the breakfast was amazing! There was a full array of eggs, yogurt, pastries, cereal, cheese and cold cuts, toast, and of course fresh coffee! The rooms were clean and had free wi-fi and a safe in the room. The location was one block to the Accademia Museum (David), 3 blocks to the Duomo, and 2 blocks to San Lorenzo and the market. The staff at the front desk were friendly, nice, and helpful. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Venice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Hotel Guelfa:
This two star hotel in the heart of old Florence is close to all the sights the average tourist would want to see. The entrance to to the hotel from via Guelfa is old and unimpressive. You must go up one flight of dirty stairs with rugs that appear to have been put in place when the hotel opened. The reception area is a small cramped entryway manned during the day by a man who speaks very basic Emglish. In the evenings reception is handled by an old man who is half blind and who must read your documents with a magnifying glass. Since we arrived at the hotel around ten in the evening it was this same gentleman who took us up the second flight of stairs to our room. Since we are senior citizens we opted for a room with a bathroom as we have to visit that room at least once during the night. The room itself was reasonably clean and had three single beds in it, two of which were pushed together to form a large king sized bed. The bathroom itself was moderately clean by American standards. The floors,toilets, and bidet were spotless. The tub and shower combination was difficult for arthritic senior citizens to get into as it was the older variety with high sides. The hot water was plentiful. The towels provided were very good and came in three sizes, small, medium, and large bath. The bath, shower combo was heavily caulked to prevent leaks but this also provided for some minor mold growth in corners which I didn't find objectionable. The beds were extremely comfortable and room was quiet. The room came equipped with a TV which received Italian, English, German, and French channels. Hair dryers were available upon request. Since we were in the hotel for three days in November the heat was on and good. We could control the radiators in the rooms and could adjust the heat to our preference. We rinsed some clothing and placed the wet garments on the radiators and they were dry in the morning. The provided continental breakfast, (served by the old man, the young man doesn't arrive until 9:30), was very good consisting of coffee brewed to your preference, rolls, croissants, cold cereal, yogurt, and fruit. The old man is quite knowledgeable about the area, (he speaks only Italian), and was a great in helping us find the correct bus for out of the area places we wanted to visit. The hotel is only a few streets from the Academia and The Duomo, and is in easy walking distance to all the other major sights in Florence. During the day and early evening the area has many people around and appears quite safe. I, myself, would probably not venture out after 10PM. This hotel was recommended to us by BudgetPlaces.com. We were traveling in November on a tight budget. The major hotels were getting upwards of €125-150 per night. This hotel was €50 with everything included. Be aware that there is a city tax which is not collected when you book. You will be required to pay this upon departure. The tax is €2.50 per person per night. In all, our stay was quite pleasant and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilKar1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I'm really disapointed to read so many bad reveiws about this place I thought it was great!
There are Mosquitos but i've been to Italy before and if you are staying near water there are going to be Mosquitos I took repellant and was fine.
The old furniture adds to the charm of the place, both the men that work there are so lovely the old man makes a great coffee in the morning and you get a complimentary tray of breakfast food including a bread roll that is delivered fresh daily.
The old man doesn't speak English but he understood my poor italian and was very nice.
It is clean, safe, cheap and in a good location.. If you want fancy furniture or a big shower it's not for you but we had a spacious room with air con and a tv :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed for four nights. The room was tiny but immaculately clean. Family-run business and very friendly. Lots of old and ecclectic furniture around the place. Very central, close to the markets and the Duomo. Lots of great little cafes and restaurants around. It was cheap, clean and I didn't get bed bugs so this hotel is a winner and i'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happiestcamper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

It is located in the very near to the centre and not far from the raillway.
The rooms are small, but the an interior of the hotel itself is real great - like a small antique shop or fleamarket.
There is no elevator in the hotel, but the staff was extremely friendly to carry our luggage upstairs and provide the florence map - all for free. All staff is really helpfull, but night-porter can be one who does not speak English.
The breakfast is really tiny.
In total^ friendly staff and nice atmosphere make this place a little bit better then just OK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We chose this because of its location and the fact that it had air conditioning. I'm not sure why it is considered a 2 star property as the furnishings were very out of date and there was no shower stall (you pulled the shower curtain across the toilet area and the water went into the floor drain). The internet allowed you to sign in once (in the evening) but when we tried in the morning to plan our day, it didn't allow us to sign back in and the desk clerk didn't know anything about computers/internet.

There was a breakfast, which was nice and very convenient. And, we were there during a hot spell, so having a/c was great!

The biggest drawback was that it was a gated hotel, so you had to wait to be buzzed in. It felt a little like we were naughty teenagers coming in after curfew.

I would not stay here again and I would encourage others to find a different hotel in the same price range.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#242 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#312 of 410 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Classic Hotel
#221 of 410 in Florence
184 reviews
San Lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
#323 of 410 in Florence
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guelfa

Address: Via Guelfa 28, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Guelfa 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Florence's historic centre, this 2-star hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Duomo Cathedral and the Santa Maria Railway Station. It offers free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception. The Guelfa Hotel features air-conditioned rooms with satellite TV, en suite facilities and free Wi-Fi access. You will receive discounted parking rates in a nearby garage. The Guelfa provides a bright TV room and serves a typical Italian breakfast daily. The Guelfa is less than 500 metres from the Accademia Gallery and the trai station Santa Maria Novella and Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Guelfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guelfa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing