We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
italhotels san lorenzo
Ranked #327 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights (December 7/10, 2013) in hotel San Lorenzo. I booked a triple room (53 euros/night/room), for me and my friends, and I wrote to the hotel asking them for either a smoking room, a room with balcony or easy access to a smoking place.
We reached the hotel, which is located on the second floor of a villa in the San Lorenzo area. There is no elevator, which was a bit of a challenge for me, with my heavy suitcase (my friends know how to travel lightly, a secret I never discovered). At the reception we had a wonderful surprise. Instead of a triple room we had one floor only for us. It was the third floor, connected with a second by a secondary, narrow staircase, where there were two rooms (a single and a double, no 10 and 11) and a bathroom. I had the single (since I tend to wake up early and I was the only smoker of the group) while my friends shared the double. Rooms were under the roof, with ceiling windows, old wood beams supporting the roof, with nice furniture and all gave us the impression of going back in time. It was extremely nice and comfortable. One of the rooms had a refrigerator, both had coffee making facilities and I got a hairdryer from the reception. Both rooms had good heating systems, which was important since we were there in December.
Breakfast was in the small room near the reception, more varied than the usual continental breakfast you usually get in Italy hotels. There was free WiFi access in the breakfast room.
The location was perfect also, in the San Lorenzo area, within walking distance to both the train station and the central Florence (Duomo and Piazza della Signoria), with plenty of good and not very expensive restaurants just around the corner. We were all very happy with our choice and we will return there when visiting again Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just for a week-end but very pleasent place, close to main city attractions. Walking through main streets of shopping you can watch better historical corners of this ancient town. Close to the hotel you can also have a tour into Cover Central Market, you can find all better typical foods of Tuscany. Just close to the hotel you can have a magic tour with Pepo' restaurant cuisine.
All people we found was so friendly, Florence is a young city with multiethnical culture.
Better visit it with NO CAR, better with train and local transfers.
Good idea the taxi-biked, only for two people, but .....a great way eco-sustainable.

Room Tip: room with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zi0Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel San Lorenzo for a few days on September 2013. The staff and the receptionist Sanji particularly was friendly and helpful. He has done detailed explanation of the area and assist to upgrade our room for the bigger one. Breakfast included and had a selection from tea, coffee, breads spreads, cereal and more. But, having in my mind our busy day schedule and habits we preferred to buy some vegies and meet from the farmers and combined it with breakfast provided. (The hotel is located just a hundred meters from the market). Sanji and the girl on duty have supplied us with additional plates and cutlery. Hotel has no lift, so be careful if you have some health problems or heavy baggage. We had no problems to jump on the third floor. At least 500 hundred years local residents did it. Have a nice Florentine atmosphere! Before booking call them and clarify your room position and size. I would stay there in a future because of the food market and SMN Train station close by. Best wishes to the staff of the Hotel
Alex and Irina

Room Tip: Before booking call them and clarify your room position and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at Hotel San Lorenzo for one during our time in Florence. The hotel is located a five minute walk to the Duomo. The rooms were clean and was cosy as there were five of us in the one room. Breakfast was included and had a selection from tea, coffee, breads spreads, cereal and more. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It's just around the corner from the leather market also. Great for a short stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff at the Hotel San Lorenzo was extemely helpful and made the Hotel. The location is good for food, attractions, & travel. The drawbacks are the rooms are small, the shower gets the whole bathroom wet (poor design), the hotel is 4 floors up, and the window is to a courtyard. It was a nice value and I'd use the hotel again if in Florance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Strictly backpackers at best. No lift and the hotel starts on the second floor. Given a room with bathroom across the passage for 'your exclusive' use. This lasted one night! Changed rooms with improvements but the air conditioner had little affect as it was in the bathroom! Most fittings were either broken or ineffective. The only plus was the location but that would not make me return or recommend it. A disappointing experience. The manager is too old and not capable of making decisions that are necessary for such a business. The one star is for location only.

Room Tip: Use the filters offered by providers to help eliminate some pitfalls,ie lift, air conditioning. Flor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

134 euro for 5 people, 1 night - we could not have ask for any more that we got at this hotel for this price. We were all in one room, which was cosy, but nice. Breakfast in the morning was included and was tasty. The hotel was a 3 minute walk to the Duomo and find that we were welcomed to another hotel in a 500 year old cellar for a free wine, this was also a great experience. Fantastic place for a short term budget stay - we loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#264 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#318 of 410 in Florence
328 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#277 of 410 in Florence
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#307 of 410 in Florence
43 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#235 of 410 in Florence
227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#162 of 410 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to italhotels san lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about italhotels san lorenzo

Address: Via Rosina 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £27 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — italhotels san lorenzo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lorenzo is a small hotel situated in the central square of florence, the hotel at the second floor offer all the rooms with the private bathroom, tvc, minibar and others many confortable services.the location is very good, only 10 minutes from the train station and in the middle of all the more importants monuments, just in front is situated the famous and historical san lorenzo market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your italhotels san lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo Hotel
San Lorenzo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing