We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean simple hotel”
Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #243 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel was ideal for sightseeing Florence / Pisa
Occupying 1st and 2nd floors off typical terraced housing along typical Italian street, short walk from station and close to everything you need. Rooms very clean, air conditioned, basic furniture, nice powerful hot shower, in fact all you need when just using a room as a base. If you are looking for a room with a view, then this is not for you. However it is so well located I walked back to the hotel several times each day as I toured florence city.
Breakfast is basic continental but enjoyable on the terrace each morning. The coffee was good even though it was from an automatic machine, better than some made by barista in the city.
Service was good, always someone on the desk whatever time I returned during the day or at night.
Value for money and location.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank NeilOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

great hospitality, all our small requests (esp for our kids ) were met. we got a large 3 bed room. location is great 5 minutes from railway station (follow route given in website bcos the house numbers in the lane are haphazard). all tourist spots are at a walking distance

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Excellent location, just a few minutes from the rail way station and from all other main attractions. Room was spacious and extremly clean. Friendly staff and the breakfast was a great start for my long working day! For me it was also perfect because just a few steps far away from the fortress da basso exhibition fair!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigcity2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Amazing owners - very, very nice. Continental breakfast is included (which is such a nice touch after weeks of eating breakfast at cafes) and the ensuite room that we had was very clean. Will definitely recommend as the hotel's at an excellent location (literally 1 minute from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station and 4 mins from Piazza San Lorenzo) and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybaby789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We are a mature couple who booked into the Hotel Monica for 3 days in Sept 2012, on arrival the lock did not work and we were left sitting in the bed room, the room did not have a bathroom, safe or fridge which is what we ordered and the air conditioning did not work ( warm air ) The bathroom 'down' the corridor was smelly and not very accomodating, ok for a very low cost backpackers, we stayed one hour and got out fast. The twin bed was 2 army bunks with the 50mm thick pillows.

Room Tip: List your must haves, and check that they say they have them, check trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo T, Direttore at Hotel Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Madam/Sir,
you booked through an online agency a "twin room with shared bathroom": When you got here were disappointed because there was no private bathroom in the room. All the rooms of the hotel have their onw private bathroom except that one and we never had refrigerators in any room. We were full that day so we could not give you a different room, you decided to not stay and pay the cancellation fee. I can try to understand your disappointment in everything but I think also that the cause of your "bad experience" was the lack of attention in making the reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel is small and basic, but our room was clean and comfortable with a very large bathroom. The staff were helpful, friendly and polite. The best feature of this hotel is the location. It´s a 5 minute walk from the train station and within walking distance to the main tourist attractions. The breakfast was very basic, but it was served outside on the terrace which was nice. Overall, good value for money for its location. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Enjoyed my stay there, iwt was very hot on the first night and the Air conditioning did not work so we had to sleep with the windows and shutteres open which then made us bait to the Mosquitos. My friend had to sleep on the floor to get the draft from the door. The bathroom was very clean, enjoyed the breakfast but there could have been a wider choice, the terrace is nice to chill when left with nothing to do or need to take a break from or after sight seeing. The staff were very hospitable, they booked us tickets to see Michelangelo's David at the Galleria dell'Accademia and even let us keep our bags there on our last day after we had checked out of the hotel.
Quite a lot of restaurants nearby.
A decent stay if you are in Florence for the sights.

Room Tip: A decent stay in you are more into the sights than the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 411 in Florence
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#177 of 411 in Florence
499 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#220 of 411 in Florence
166 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#183 of 411 in Florence
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Address: Via Faenza 66, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £32 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing