We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a reasonably-priced room near city center”
Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #256 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice for a reasonably-priced room near city center”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monica for three nights this past October. We found the room a bit spartan but otherwise clean and comfortable. The accommodations were basic but the location and price were right. The hotel is located only a couple blocks from the train station and within easy walking distance of all the major tourist sites in the city. It is a 10 minute walk from the Piazza del Duomo. It was definitely a very good value in an otherwise expensive city.

The hotel lobby is located on the first floor (second floor by American standards) of a walk-up but it is easy to find and the staff was always cordial and helpful. Our room faced the street so we did have to contend with a bit of street-noise as the weather was still warm enough to require an open window. We also had to contend with the occasional mosquito as well… Although not an issue for us, it should be noted that this hotel does not have a lift.

The breakfast was basic – cereal, bread, cold cuts, etcetera, but that was to be expected. The espresso machine was the highlight of the morning. In a city with so many sites to see, we really weren’t too interested in lingering over a hotel breakfast anyway.

Our biggest objection to the room was the bed. The mattress was not very firm or supportive and was laid over a simple spring base rather than a foundation. The pillows were also on the thin and un-supportive side as well. A more comfortable bed would have been appreciated after a long day of sightseeing. If there is anything I would recommend be immediately upgraded in the hotel, it would be the bedding.

The bed-comfort aside, we found the Hotel Monica to a great value. Its proximity to the train station and the major sites of Florence combined with the clean and pleasant accommodations make it a near perfect choice for sightseeing. I would recommend the Hotel Monica with few reservations.

Tip to travelers arriving early or departing Florence late - there is a reasonably priced luggage (baggage) drop at the train station.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms will have traffic noise as Via Faenza can be quite busy until the late-night hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Work2Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    76
    60
    12
    7
See reviews for
40
96
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was very accommodating. While the room was tiny, it had everything you needed and felt cozy. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was satisfying with a variety of things to choose from. The location was excellent--a five-minute walk from the train station and five minutes from the Duomo and leather market.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ideal for sightseeing Florence / Pisa
Occupying 1st and 2nd floors off typical terraced housing along typical Italian street, short walk from station and close to everything you need. Rooms very clean, air conditioned, basic furniture, nice powerful hot shower, in fact all you need when just using a room as a base. If you are looking for a room with a view, then this is not for you. However it is so well located I walked back to the hotel several times each day as I toured florence city.
Breakfast is basic continental but enjoyable on the terrace each morning. The coffee was good even though it was from an automatic machine, better than some made by barista in the city.
Service was good, always someone on the desk whatever time I returned during the day or at night.
Value for money and location.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NeilOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

great hospitality, all our small requests (esp for our kids ) were met. we got a large 3 bed room. location is great 5 minutes from railway station (follow route given in website bcos the house numbers in the lane are haphazard). all tourist spots are at a walking distance

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Excellent location, just a few minutes from the rail way station and from all other main attractions. Room was spacious and extremly clean. Friendly staff and the breakfast was a great start for my long working day! For me it was also perfect because just a few steps far away from the fortress da basso exhibition fair!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcity2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Amazing owners - very, very nice. Continental breakfast is included (which is such a nice touch after weeks of eating breakfast at cafes) and the ensuite room that we had was very clean. Will definitely recommend as the hotel's at an excellent location (literally 1 minute from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station and 4 mins from Piazza San Lorenzo) and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybaby789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We are a mature couple who booked into the Hotel Monica for 3 days in Sept 2012, on arrival the lock did not work and we were left sitting in the bed room, the room did not have a bathroom, safe or fridge which is what we ordered and the air conditioning did not work ( warm air ) The bathroom 'down' the corridor was smelly and not very accomodating, ok for a very low cost backpackers, we stayed one hour and got out fast. The twin bed was 2 army bunks with the 50mm thick pillows.

Room Tip: List your must haves, and check that they say they have them, check trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo T, Direttore at Hotel Monica, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,
you booked through an online agency a "twin room with shared bathroom": When you got here were disappointed because there was no private bathroom in the room. All the rooms of the hotel have their onw private bathroom except that one and we never had refrigerators in any room. We were full that day so we could not give you a different room, you decided to not stay and pay the cancellation fee. I can try to understand your disappointment in everything but I think also that the cause of your "bad experience" was the lack of attention in making the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#145 of 411 in Florence
472 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#148 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Careggi
#186 of 411 in Florence
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#244 of 411 in Florence
154 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Via Faenza 66, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing