We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite side of Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oltrarno

Oltrarno
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.32*
and up
4-Hour Oltrarno District Food Walking Tour
Ranked #74 of 426 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the city's left bank, this neighborhood preserves the past.
Mass
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite side of Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent a great deal of time eating and walking around the Oltrarno area. It is lovely and a bit quieter. Wonderful restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank diverdiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    60
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Walk of Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I just love strolling Oltrarno in the early morning before many people get moving, in the afternoon when the crowds are milling and in the evening with the lights. It's just a beautiful walk by the river no matter the time of day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice locality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We never planned visiting but was walking around one evening and landed up in this locality. The area has a lot of locals and is full of little shops, cafes and gellateria. Nice area to explore by foot and maybe have a meal that is not very touristy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fewer People/Plenty to See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Oltrarno is the neighborhood on the south side of the River Arno. It is where we found the loveliest winding streets and the best restaurants during our visit. The streets were far less crowded than across the river, and we were able to truly explore and meander. In the Oltrarno, we found wonderful cured meats, olives, gelato, and Brunello. We even tried the fabled tripe sandwiches at the Porta Romana. Those with enough time in Florence should definitely spend some time across the river in the Oltrarno!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank inthecityintherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Paul R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice because it seems more "alive" and actually florentine than the other part of the ancient town, not as crowded with tourists.

Helpful?
2 Thank gammeldansk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oltrarno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Oltrarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing