We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get confirmation of exactly what you are getting before you book.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence San Niccolo
Ranked #171 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Resildence San Niccolo advertising is very mis-leading indeed as it would appear they have two types of accommodation available 1st the actual Apartment building it self as shown in the photos on the website and the 2nd be in a very old building on the opposite side of the car park with two separate apartments that is opened up by a narrow doorway to become a 2 bedroom apartment.

We saw one ground floor apartment through the window of one room as it was being cleaned and appeared very modern,clean and what I expected to get for the price I paid per night. Unfortunately for us, as we had booked a two bedroom apartment we were allocated the 2nd choice and OMG!!! I could understand and would have accepted what we got if we had paid HALF of what I had paid for our 6 night stay. In choosing a 4 star Apartment building I was expecting 4 star accommodation - at the very least 3 star but what we given was only worthy of half a star.

The apartments we were in are as I said located on the far side of the car park and is a very old two story building we where on the ground floor. The apartments and its contents are very old. Fortunately as it was two separate single apartments we had two bathrooms as we could only use one bathroom - the shower in one of the bathrooms was so small we couldn't use. The reason for staying in an apartment was that we cook our own meals although there was plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots & pans and the small fridge was big enough. The 2 burner stove is a joke as you can only use one burner at a time which made it impossible to cook even a simple meal.

Also I had booked a two bedroom apartment with two beds plus a foldout bed but on arrival only the two beds were made up. On asking about the foldout bed being made up - I actually had to insist on it and then when the care taker and his wife came to make it up it was very clear that they were not at all happy about having to make it up. The male care taker was extremely rude and abrupt with me on each occasion our paths crossed EXCEPT when one my sons was with me ( aged 21 & 18 ) was with me then he was rather polite.

The worst thing of all about our stay was the SMELL in one of the apartments that started on the 3rd night of our stay - honestly it was like having a chain smoker in each room. I asked to be moved as my youngest son is an Asthmatic but was informed they were fully booked due to it being men's fashion week.. The receptionist advised that the smell was very unusual and had not been reported before - mmmmmm we were not convinced. We were simply advised to turn the heaters off at night and were given a can of air freshener - neither of these two things made the slightest difference and was not a good combination with an Asthmatic as each night the smell got worse.

SO I do not and would not recommend a stay at Residence San Niccolo Florence - my tip would be to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make you sure you get confirmation that your room is actually in the Apartment Building and not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirsten6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Resildence San Niccolo is the perfect spot! We stayed a week. Our suite was very large and consisted of a large kithcn, living/dining room with TV and internet access. The shutters opened to the street on the Arno River, one bridge down from the Ponte Delvecchio. It was clean, comfortable, and within easy walking distance of everyhthing! The concierge was friendly, and called taxis for us whenever we needed one. This is a great place to stay and visit all there is to see in Florence and surrounding areas. It also gave us a chance to cook our own meals in Italy after shopping at local markets. When we return to Florence we definitely will book this hotel!!

Room Tip: The suite we had was on the first floor and was very large. The only other suite we saw was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B4Ugocitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I made this booking on Hotwire assuming that the "4 star" designation meant something. They mean nothing - this is not a hotel, it is an apartment; very poorly serviced; with tiny windows that look out over the river - if you stand up and peer out the view is wonderful but sitting down there is nothing to see; the shower cubicle is the tiniest I have seen in a long time -you can barely take a shower, and wonder of wonders, nobody bothers to clean the room. We booked for 4 nights and went without cleaning for all 4 nights.

The housekeeper flatly refused to clean the apartment when we went to request him after 2 days of living without cleaning - he barely understands English and it was tough communicating anything. He said something that sounded like "not included for you".

This is cheating on Hotwire's part - they should not be calling this a hotel since it definitely is not a hotel. And I am not using Hotwire again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor (they seem to have bigger windows). Our room was on the 2nd floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveller1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Contrary to this site advertisment, there is on breakfast in this residence. Otherwise, this résidence is prêts cool. My recommandation: don't book with this lousy company and have a Nice day. Enjoy Life!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Could be a terrific property but comes up short.
The Pro's: Apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and modern in its appointments. Nice continental breakfast selection was provided in the room.
The Con's: booked the place partly because it advertised internet connectivity - there wasn't any. When asked where I could find a local internet cafe the manager was vague, contradictory and generally unhelpful...and seemed as if he could care less.
The place also advertised air conditioning in the apartment, which turned out to be something of a joke (on us). There are wall mounted controls that generate impressive noises, but any actual air flow, cool or otherwise, into the room was minimal. Had to open up the window that faced the street to cool the place down and generate any fresh air. Would have been OK except that the street noise right outside the window was quite loud, and opening the window let in the bugs, so that really wasn't a satisfactory solution at all.
Bottom line was that we couldn't wait to leave, which was really unfortunate since the apartments appeared to be newly refurbished and were quite modern inside. No complaints about the general layout or the housekeeping. Suspect that the apartment must be unbearable in truly warm weather. Probably not an issue in the winter months when you can shut everything up and block the outside noise, but our experience was not a happy one. Wouldn't stay there again, and don't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this hotel last minute as we were staying in Florence one night before flying out. We were pleasantly surprised the service at reception was excellent (got us in as soon as possible and booked our cab for the next morning) we got the little cottage, so cute, a bit dated but part of the charm, really clean and had jams, and treats for breakfast!
It is a little out of the way but it is a walking city so a a bit more walking isn't a big deal. Oh and go to Baldvino, a restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Booked in for 5 nights with 2A / 2C after checking website - very overated for the money.

Rooms are good size and clean but shower is very small and cannot turn around even for small kids. Cooking utensils are very limted for a family apartment. Stayed in room facing river - very noisy at night with ambulances always using sirens. Service was friendly and helpful.
Temperatures were warm but air conditioning was not able to be turned on.

Although carpark was cheap compared to other places, it was very tight to manoeuvre - almost impossible for a big car.

Only 10-15min walk to almost all attractions, restuarants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ronbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cimabue
Hotel Cimabue
#341 of 410 in Florence
498 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#242 of 410 in Florence
562 reviews
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#228 of 410 in Florence
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#30 of 318 in Florence
92 reviews
Select Executive
#546 of 657 in Florence
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence San Niccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence San Niccolo

Address: Piazza Piave 1A/2 | Lungarno Zecca Vecchia 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence San Niccolo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence San Niccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence San Niccolo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing