We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Hotel and a true gem in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House
Ranked #199 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising Hotel and a true gem in Florence”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you are lucky enough to have one of the 8 rooms in the guest house. The staff are so generous with their attention to detail and their ability to accommodate our requests. It is a very special place and this is because of the wonderful people who are taking care of you during the visit.
Amazing service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    112
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
68
228
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Casa Howard is a gem. As they remind guests, Casa Howard is not a hotel. It's a guest house that would be most appreciated by those who place a premium on design and discreet service. Travellers needing the full scope of hotel services (bellmen, restaurants, a large staff, etc) may want to look elsewhere. But independent travellers looking for a well-situated, apartment-like setting should strongly consider Casa Howard.

A few experiences stand out from my stay. First, the Hammam (Turkish steam bath) down the hallway from my room was an absolute delight, and such a departure from an ordinary hotel experience. The staff were helpful and courteous, and provided expert guidance on restaurants, directions, and the like when needed. A lovely sitting room with espresso and free internet access was a welcome service.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel and its sister properties in Rome (via Sistina and via Capo le Case). I look forward to future repeat visits to the Casa Howard guest houses in both cities.

Room Tip: The Casa Howard web site offers periodic specials (advance booking discounts, etc). We stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are looking for something special for your trip in Florence, check this place. It's not a hotel (as they mention on their web page), but it's much more. We loved our staying there and we will go back one day, if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi323232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not the most beautiful part of Florence, but very convenient to the train station. We easily
walked to the hotel with our luggage and back to the train station to catch our next train.
Florence is small and easily walkable, making this location convenient. Also, some inexpensive
restaurants nearby on the next street, Via Palazzuolo, Trattoria Il Contandino - nice full
meal for 13 euros - not including dessert. Breakfasts are a bit pricey, but definitely recommended.
Very nice fresh fruit - like kiwi, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, freshly baked croissants.
One night we forgot to order, and walked across the street to a small place - had a super
inexpensive small breakfast. Room was nice, quaint, bathroom was nice. Shower worked well.
Hair dryer was useless - didn't blow hot air. So much for nice hair in Italy! Wifi worked well.
Neighborhood questionable at night ??? - but didn't have any problems. A little weird having
to use a key to open the doors. Housekeepers are very pleasant. They said it was safe
at night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good location. Unlike Casa Howard Rome, there is an outside seating area - albeit small. Management was OK, but not as professional as Casa Howard Rome. Poor internet, but there is a computer in small office for your use. Restaurant recommendation was very expensive, far from hotel, and miniscule amount of food with an arrogant owner - not the hotel's fault, but perhaps there is another recommendation closer to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good location, lovely and charming rooms, the two ladies who ran the place were nice but not over the top. This was our first stay in Florence and I love small boutique hotels like this. The downside is that it is very small and guests coming home at 2 in the morning can be heard all over the place. We had that happening to nights in a row and the last night a couple decided to check out at 5 am and we had trouble sleeping because of all the noise. The guests staying here should be reminded that this is not a large hotel and act thereafter. The breakfast was a small issue, we usually get up at 7 to eat, but one of the ladies had a problem with that and served us breakfast at 9 instead. The breakfast comes on a tray, and had all the basics covered, not more. The wifi didn't work in our room, we had to stand in the hallway to get reception. Over all a charming experience, I loved the interior but... 4 weak points.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

What an amazingly central place to stay. I loved listening to the chorus of church bells. We had the terrace room and had breakfast served there in the morning. The whole experience was just beautiful. Next time I would take industrial strength insect repellent as the little black flies are vicious beasties.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#159 of 421 in Florence
678 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
1,431 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#65 of 421 in Florence
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#211 of 421 in Florence
477 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
807 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 659 in Florence
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House

Property: Casa Howard Guest House
Address: Via della Scala,18 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA HOWARD Guest Houses – Rome and Florence The Art of Hospitality. Casa Howard Guest Houses are not hotels. Each Casa Howard is a beautiful private house, in an outstanding location whether an apartment, palazzo or farmhouse, which gives personal service, and where some typically "hotel" ideas, methods and services have been borrowed. With uniquely designed, cosy rooms it’s like staying in a very relaxed, stylish friend’s home – as guests you get the keys of the house, you enjoy the original furniture and objects, you feel the atmosphere of the house. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard many featuring on the international press. Last but not least, CH are now in the bestselling 1000 Places to See before You die !!• A SENSORIAL EXPERIENCE : how different is the feeling of spending some days in a real private house rather than in a public grand hotel, in the top art city of the world! LUXE: we may not define CH a luxury place, rather a true exclusive place (nonetheless we are featured on most of the luxury guidebooks in the world, like the LUXE city book of Grant Thatcher or the LOUIS VUITTON guidebook). Casa Howard (Florence) is located close to Santa Maria Novella, Casa Howard (Rome) close to the Spanish Steps – the ideal spots for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures and shopping! Urban chic close to the action. Suave and surprising, the Casa Howard is located close to the Santa Maria Novella – an ideal spot for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures. This is a Guest House, it is not in the hotel category (e.g. they do not have a concierge, nor do they provide porters etc); it is a private family’s houses partially opened to introduced paying guests. Former guests have a priority booking channel. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage, and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard some awards and many many featuring on international press. It is an intriguing mix of private mansion and hip hotel, providing guest accommodation in stylish apartments. Eco attitude : see down *All the original floors and ceilings have been maintained, there are flourishes of pure silk taffeta at the windows, and many love the chic designer touches such as the occasional black silk sofa, sunken marble bath, full-wall padded bed head, mosaic inlay or 18th century French writing desk. For relaxation after a day’s exploration along the Via Tornabuoni, unwind in the hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing