We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent value and cleanliness”
Review of Giada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giada Hotel
Ranked #328 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, excellent value and cleanliness”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I have stayed 4 days in the hotel on November, 2010, everything is good and over my expectation , I believe the major reason is my bedroom is facing courtyard therefore is very quite. The size of the room is very roomy. They have free internet service on the top floor. There have a very good resturant with good value beside the hotel but they are open for lunch only.
The owner Eva is nice and helpful too. The breakfast is included and is acceptable. Don't expect too much when we live in a two stars hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    48
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The location was great. Giada Hotel is located near SMN train station, across from the Medici Chapel, and a short walk to the Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi, Palazzo Vecchio, etc. There is a market right outside the door, several restaurants, and a laundromat, internet/phone, and grocery store nearby. Beyond the location, however, I can't recommend much about this hotel. The staff ranged from indifferent and not particularly knowledgeable to downright rude and surly. The 6 euro/person breakfast was inadequate - neither plentiful nor particularly flavorful. Our room looked out onto the Medici Chapels and the market but that meant that beginning at about 3:30 a.m. each day we woke up to the sound of the vendors' carts being pulled into place on the cobbled streets. In addition, our room was right off the dining area which meant that we also heard the breakfast set up starting about 6:30. Our room was very spacious - clearly it was meant for more than two people - but the bathroom was tiny with a shower that didn't drain well. Our towels and sheets were clean when we checked in and I didn't mind not getting new ones during our stay but our towels didn't dry out within a twenty four hour period. The refrigerator in the room didn't work and we had to connect the cable for the tv ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

For the price we paid for the room at least the breakfast was decent!
While European hotel bathrooms are smaller than what I'm used to in Australia, this one was absolutely tiny!
The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and our airconditioning unit only worked properly in the middle of the night... But, to be frank, the room was incredibly cheap and the service was generally quite good from the staff too - particularly the lovely guy who looked after the breakfast area in the mornings.
The location was great (right in the central market) and the hotel was easy to find as well.
Not sure I would stay here again - it would depend on what my budget was!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTZ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Ky
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Not only was the location difficult to find; none of the staff spoke much English. Additionally as mentioned in previous reviews, the bald man (not sure of his name) was very, very rude and "eyed" my wife on multiple occasions. Our phone never worked during our 3 night stay. They originally attempted to set us up in a 10' x 6' room which contained 2 twin beds, we had paid for a queen/king bed option. Later in the day they moved us to a different/larger room yet it STILL had twin beds. Breakfast. although included in our stay was horrible. On two occasions the bread basket, & juice were empty as well as the stack of plates. While the location was right on the palazzo/market which is convenient for shopping, plan to be woken up every day between 4am and 5am due to the street vendors wheeling out their carts. It was clean and our second room was spacious. The window units that provided air conditioning also allowe mosquito's into our room; 10 or so bites on our face and arms are the result. So, all in all......unless you are planning to sleep on the street in a gutter - find a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

When we walked into the room we were shocked as it was very small. It really was a single room but had another bed put in there to make it a twin bedded room. The door to the bathroom could not open fully as a table/desk was in the way for the door to open. We could only open one of the wardrobe doors properly as the same desk/table was stopping that to open. We had a TV in the room but could not watch it as there was no arial to plug it into. The one and only electric plug wall socket in the room was pulled off the wall and was on the floor under the desk/table, so my husband had to get on the floor to plug the fridge in, we had to decide if we wanted the fridge or air con on as there was only the one socket. So we kept the fridge on and used the ceiling fan to keep the room cool. The bathroom was very small but functional. Both the room and bathroom was kept clean. The location of the hotel was great, we enjoyed Florence but would have liked a bigger room. There was only a restaurant for breakfast and we so no sign of a bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Coruna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

One guy in the staff was very rude, bald one. The rest was great. The breakfast was terrible, they never refilled the breadbasket or the cornflakes. The location is very good. I dont think I will stay here again!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guardado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We choose this hotel for budget reason, expecting low-grade service, but we stunned with room, the hotel located in public market area, that’s why rated 2 stars, 10 minutes from Florence train station, offer cold breakfast. However, the room was very fashioned furniture, very clean, we stay in room 105, wall had peach color, comfortable and clean bed and pillows, the bathroom had unique design, rooms well secured, area is safe even at night, we stayed 2 night to visit Pisa town, the best choice for short stay. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hima2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#126 of 422 in Florence
449 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#236 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Villa Aruch
#23 of 305 in Florence
177 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giada Hotel

Property: Giada Hotel
Address: Via del Canto Dei Nelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Giada Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel in the heart of Florence, run by the young psychologist Eva with the help of her husband in a creative, dynamic and familiar way. All the rooms equipped with private bathroom, minibar, safe, satellite TV set and telephone. All our guests have free access to internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Giada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing