We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on a nice street in Florence- 15-20 min walk from Duomo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Dimora Firenze
Ranked #74 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on a nice street in Florence- 15-20 min walk from Duomo”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and although we arrived late at night and were at first surprised by the exterior of the hotel (it's in a multi-use building and not very apparent there is a hotel from the outside), once you enter from the elevator or stairs, it is a gorgeous little gem. Warm and colorful and beautiful inside and quiet because it's away from the street. The rooms are also warm and colorful and lovely and everything you need will be provided to you. Our bedroom window faced a nice rooftop with potted flowers. And there was a screen in the window which my wife was happy about. Also, the breakfast is perfect for a start to your day of much Florence sightseeing.

It's important to know that this hotel is a bit of a walk from the Duomo (considered the center of all tourist activity in Florence). We found the walk to be nice in the morning or in the afternoon as a way to exercise, and also you walk down a street with amazing little boutiques, stores and cafes. However, the walk is not so wonderful late at night when the street is more quiet and dark and we would not recommend a woman alone stays here. Although Florence is supposed to be very safe, a woman alone may just want to consider something more central. That said, we always felt safe and loved walking by all the little shops- which are a welcome respite after the touristy crap surrounding the Duomo.

Amanda was the manager during the days when we were there and she is very friendly, accommodating and speaks very fluent English.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryandYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 17 April 2009
Dear Guests!
so nice having you here on your 'babymoon'!
Thank you for your nice and long review. Really great. Just a little surprised about the walking distance, as Antica Dimora Firenze is only 0.5miles from the Duomo, which means 10 minutes walk. Along the way yo may discovermany interesting shops and coffee bars and we are only 5 minutes from the San Lorenzo Market and the Accademy. For sure a safe area, as we have several single guests which never had problems walking around.
Thank you again for your best cooperation and look forward to see you again with us in Florence. Best wishes.
Antica Dimora Firenze
Amanda and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    173
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
309
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Everything we needed was on walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelCanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, PUBLIC RELATIONS at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 16 April 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we appreciate your cooperation!
Hope to meet you again in Florence.
Best wishes
Amanda & all the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Boston
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We loved our charming room and attached bath. The attendant in this pensione was most helpful, and even helped arrange dinner reservations in advance of our arrival. The common breakfast area was inviting and comfortable and the breakfast was substantial enough to fuel our morning activities. The pensione was near to the Galleria dell'Accademia and the very charming Piazzas San Marco andadella SS Annunziata. A pleasant 10 minute walk lead to the central sites of the Duomo and beyond to the Arno. This was our second stay here, and we would come again and recommend it highly.
Our room which face via San Gallo was a bit noisy at night. No spectacular views, though one room had a lovely courtyard balcony. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhousenearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Dear Madam,
thank you for your nice review! We are very happy that you appreciated so much Antica Dimora Firenze and for us it has been a real pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to meet you again in our beautiful Florence.
All the best!
Amanda and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We arrived in Florence, but even with GPS we some kind "lost". Hotel doesn't have sign by front door, plus it's 2 building numbers on both side of front door. After 3 attempt we found right building. I was surprise building has elevator. Hotel doesn't have own parking. We parked car in garage. Front desk made arrangements for us.
But after 1 min inside hotel, I and my wife fell in love with this place. Nice room with big windows. Big bed with canopy. I feel like king in my kingdom. Staff was very professional, friendly. They have nice bar in hall. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICK2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Dear Guest! thank very much for your lovely words! So nice that you appreciated so much Antica Dimora Firenze. We hope to see you again soon in Florence!
Amanda and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I highly recommend this hotel. This is hotel is a great value in Florence. The rooms are beautifully furnished. The living room is lovely and bright for breakfast in the morning and cozy to curl up on the couch with a cup of tea (and biscotti) before bed. It is a great location - very easy walk to sights and restaurants. Staff were very helpful with recommendations, directions, and reservations. They referred us to a fantastic tour guide as well - www.oliviatours.it. Olivia is fantastic. She took us for a tour of the Mugello region north of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djnylemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
How nice reading such a good feedback about your stay with us. This is the best prize for our work, thank you! We know that Antica Dimora Firenze is so well located, close to everything historical sites and good restaurants, but far enough from crowded and touristic streets!
Hope to see you on your next trip to Florence
Best wishes
Amanda and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

i have travelled many places but have rarely found a hotel like this, for this price. the attention to detail was unlike most hotels ive been to.
the water is hot, the faucets work, the bedding is fresh, everything was VERY clean and charming.everything works well and is beautiful.
the only bad thing i could say is that you never want to get out of bed or leave the room.
this place makes you feel like you hoped you might feel when visiting tuscany.
and the staff is superb.
the management was incredibly knowledgable and fullof tips.
loved it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockholmSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Dear Douglas, what a nice review! Thank you so much we really appreciated it. It's been so nice having you here with us and really hope to see you again on your next visit to Florence :-)
Best wishes
Amanda and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enteryourlocation
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My girlfriend and I spent four nights at the Market House. It has a great location and ambiance, being just a 15 min. leisurely walk from Ponte Vecchio and other central attractions. Umberto and the Antica Dimora staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment is cozy and well-equipped, making it a much better choice than a plain hotel room. The only drawback of our stay was the noise of carts carrying goods to and from the local market--one could clearly hear the rumbling sounds from *very* early in the morning (6 am), so if you are a light sleeper it could be a nuisance.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank createascreenname91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFlorence, public relations at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and happy you appreciated our apartment The Market House! Sorry about the little noise in the morning, but must say that the local market in the morning is so cute for shopping and getting in touch with real florentine lifestyle :-)
Best wishes from Florence
Umberto & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Collodi
Hotel Collodi
#144 of 411 in Florence
277 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#34 of 640 in Florence
430 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 640 in Florence
918 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#50 of 640 in Florence
376 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Howard Guest House
Casa Howard Guest House
#116 of 640 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Firenze

Property: Antica Dimora Firenze
Address: Via San Gallo 72, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Firenze is a very special and charming Guest House located in a quiet residential area of Florence next to the historical center at an easy walking distance of the city’s main sites. All rooms have a special florentine decor taking making you feel at home away from home! Friendly staff provide a warm welcome when you arrive, and are full of excellent advice for special tips about restaurante, tours, museum reservations and any advice can be helpful for your stay in Florence! Tea, coffee, biscuits, free WI-FI and laptops are available all day, you can help yourself to drinks from The complimentary and honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), BookAssist, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Dimora Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Firenze Florence
Antica Dimora Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing