We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stop off after a busy day of sight-seeing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Soggiorno Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Madrid
Ranked #559 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“A good stop off after a busy day of sight-seeing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Arrived in hotel slightly earlier than expected but the friendly gentleman at reception allowed us to check in early and have our room with no quibbles which was a nice touch. When we arrived at our room we found the room a reasonable size, with a very clean bathroom. We received our breakfast in our rooms everyday which was small, but a nice addition nonetheless and it was a nice touch to have our rooms cleaned ( As when booking we couldn't decide whether this place was a hotel, B&B or hostel although it was every bit as efficient as a good hotel in hindsight).

Halfway through our trip the pleasant receptionist who greeted us on arrival was helpful enough to book a guided tour for us over the phone ( Helpful as it seems the conversation over the phone was completely in Italian!) and upon departure another friendly receptionist was inquisitive by asking if we had a nice trip and stay, which was also really good in my book.

Overall the room was fairly quiet, always clean and the staff positive. Our only minor quibbles was the distance to the city, which was about 15mins on foot, although we knew about this before we booked it seemed slightly further than we had expected in reality, plus the room was cosy, with the high ceilings yet still felt slightly underwhelming, however, it was very reasonable for the price. Finally, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the city! Thank you for our stay :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luccachino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    23
    6
    17
See reviews for
10
62
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a comfortable and cosy place. It gives you a sense of being out of the hustle and bustle but there is one constant reminder and that is the traffic noise outside. It is rather loud but nothing a set of earplugs for a light sleeper like myself can't sort out. The room we stayed in (no.1) was large. Lots of space and a decent bathroom. At times the shower pressure was low but nothing to complain about. Within 400 metres of the train station it is a good base to visit wonderful Florence and good to catch that train to your next destination. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_yams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

An excellent place to sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very clean. Location is also very good. I highly recommend to stay at Soggiorno Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Handy enough location, although in the july heat i think i'd rather either be out of town, or in the south of the city, closer to where we were spending most of our time. It was about a 20 min walk to the centre of the sight seeing area, although we walked much further than that everyday. The aircon was really effective! and very welcome, the decor was nice, everything very well maintained and thought out. It felt more like a hotel than the hostel i thought i had booked. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but thats what you get for that price! I hadn't expected any breakfast, but tehy provided us with a small basket of packaged (ie not fresh, preserved somehow, but still very nice) cakes, pastries, toast, jam and plenty of tea, coffee etc so we were very happy. Good enough for a light early snack with enough room left for mid morning coffee and croisant or icecream when you had reached a sightseeing destination!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmbrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel and its staff. My 19 year old daughter and I stayed 3 nights while touring Italy. No, it's not a modern place, but it's clean and comfortable. Francesco, the owner, makes you feel welcome and will help you with whatever you need.

The location was convenient to the train station, which is why we chose it. So yes, you did have to walk an extra 10 minutes to get into the picturesque part of Florence. But by the end of the day, we were sick of looking at tourists.

We felt safe in this hotel. The beds were comfortable, the WiFi was great, the bathroom clean, the breakfast excellent. Assistance in making reservations to see the museums were great. Francesco was very helpful in giving us a map and telling us the best way to go about our visit.

IF I had a complaint, it would be about the public computer. It was old and very slow. But I did use it a few times. Working off my daughter's laptop on the WiFi was very fast.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Florence. It was the favorite hotel of my daughter during our 2 week stay in Spain and Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeGee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

The staffs were really friendly. Room was spacious. Free wifi. Free snacks for breakfast. A really good restaurant near to the accomdoation which we guessed was a locals favourite was recommended by the staff. Staff even helped us by printing our bookings for free.

Bad part was only it's a distance walk from the central.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandonchoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed in Room 4. The bathroom looks newly refurbished so it was very clean and large. Everything was provided including a hairdryer, large kettle and a large bottle of mineral water every day. The night watchman was very sweet - when he found out that we didn't have time for breakfast in the morning, he pulled out a whole tray of goodies for us to have in our room. On the second day, when we did have time for breakfast, we were served breakfast in our room, with croissants, hot coffee and warm milk. There is a common internet station in the hallway, but we got free wi-fi in our room.

There isn't anything to do near the property but it's a 15-20 minute walk to to the train station or a quick bus ride into town. Security is very good, with multiple doors to get through. They were also very helpful in allowing to leave our bags after checking out in the morning, saving us quite a bit of money in left luggage at the train station. So for the staff, A++!

We would definitely stay here again when we come to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#196 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Villa Le Rondini
#261 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Belfiore B&B
Belfiore B&B
#232 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Karaba
Soggiorno Karaba
#388 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
#510 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Madrid

Property: Soggiorno Madrid
Address: Viale Redi 1, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soggiorno Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing