We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond!”
Review of Soggiorno Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Madrid
Ranked #538 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Loretto, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above and beyond!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Conviently located to the train station (a 10-15 minute stroll) and to the sites you'll want to visit and well within budget, this B&B's best feature is its sympathetic, competent and well informed staff. Our room was comfortable and inviting, the bath spacious and spotless and the linens (sheets and towels) amazing. Breakfast is both tasty and portable, a plus when you want to be up and about the business of seeing the wonders of the city:bottled water, juice boxes and a selection of wrapped breakfast pastries and jams.
Best of all were Francesco and Ruggero, the nephew and uncle who run the B&B. Their kindness and knowledge of the city knows no bounds. They spent as much time guiding us and making phone inquiries as one might hope family and friends might do. If you are lucky enough to find a room here on your visit to Florence, then your visit will be the best!

Room Tip: As has already been mentioned, there is a good deal of traffic noise. I recommend using ear-plugs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MereMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    30
    25
    6
    18
See reviews for
10
65
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My friend and I stayed in this B&B as one of our first stops during the travel through Tuscany. It was perfect for exploring Florence and places nearby: a walking distance to the main train station as well as walking distance to the absolutely spellbinding historic centre of this beautiful city. Francesco - the owner and manager is a very kind, engaging and helpful person - I really enjoyed his tales about Tuscany as well as stories from his own travels. We got plenty of handy tips on great sights and specialities in the area from him.
The place itself is very well managed and tidy, rooms are clean and spacious. We didn't encounter any noise during our 4 nights stay and slept very well.
I would definitely recommend a stay in Soggiorno Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monilonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Arrived in hotel slightly earlier than expected but the friendly gentleman at reception allowed us to check in early and have our room with no quibbles which was a nice touch. When we arrived at our room we found the room a reasonable size, with a very clean bathroom. We received our breakfast in our rooms everyday which was small, but a nice addition nonetheless and it was a nice touch to have our rooms cleaned ( As when booking we couldn't decide whether this place was a hotel, B&B or hostel although it was every bit as efficient as a good hotel in hindsight).

Halfway through our trip the pleasant receptionist who greeted us on arrival was helpful enough to book a guided tour for us over the phone ( Helpful as it seems the conversation over the phone was completely in Italian!) and upon departure another friendly receptionist was inquisitive by asking if we had a nice trip and stay, which was also really good in my book.

Overall the room was fairly quiet, always clean and the staff positive. Our only minor quibbles was the distance to the city, which was about 15mins on foot, although we knew about this before we booked it seemed slightly further than we had expected in reality, plus the room was cosy, with the high ceilings yet still felt slightly underwhelming, however, it was very reasonable for the price. Finally, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the city! Thank you for our stay :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luccachino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a comfortable and cosy place. It gives you a sense of being out of the hustle and bustle but there is one constant reminder and that is the traffic noise outside. It is rather loud but nothing a set of earplugs for a light sleeper like myself can't sort out. The room we stayed in (no.1) was large. Lots of space and a decent bathroom. At times the shower pressure was low but nothing to complain about. Within 400 metres of the train station it is a good base to visit wonderful Florence and good to catch that train to your next destination. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_yams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

An excellent place to sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very clean. Location is also very good. I highly recommend to stay at Soggiorno Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Handy enough location, although in the july heat i think i'd rather either be out of town, or in the south of the city, closer to where we were spending most of our time. It was about a 20 min walk to the centre of the sight seeing area, although we walked much further than that everyday. The aircon was really effective! and very welcome, the decor was nice, everything very well maintained and thought out. It felt more like a hotel than the hostel i thought i had booked. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but thats what you get for that price! I hadn't expected any breakfast, but tehy provided us with a small basket of packaged (ie not fresh, preserved somehow, but still very nice) cakes, pastries, toast, jam and plenty of tea, coffee etc so we were very happy. Good enough for a light early snack with enough room left for mid morning coffee and croisant or icecream when you had reached a sightseeing destination!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmbrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel and its staff. My 19 year old daughter and I stayed 3 nights while touring Italy. No, it's not a modern place, but it's clean and comfortable. Francesco, the owner, makes you feel welcome and will help you with whatever you need.

The location was convenient to the train station, which is why we chose it. So yes, you did have to walk an extra 10 minutes to get into the picturesque part of Florence. But by the end of the day, we were sick of looking at tourists.

We felt safe in this hotel. The beds were comfortable, the WiFi was great, the bathroom clean, the breakfast excellent. Assistance in making reservations to see the museums were great. Francesco was very helpful in giving us a map and telling us the best way to go about our visit.

IF I had a complaint, it would be about the public computer. It was old and very slow. But I did use it a few times. Working off my daughter's laptop on the WiFi was very fast.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Florence. It was the favorite hotel of my daughter during our 2 week stay in Spain and Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeGee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#193 of 411 in Florence
639 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Karaba
Soggiorno Karaba
#451 of 643 in Florence
64 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Belfiore B&B
Belfiore B&B
#254 of 643 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Antiche Armonie B&B
Antiche Armonie B&B
#174 of 643 in Florence
154 reviews
La Spiga
#2 of 5 in Campi Bisenzio
69 reviews
Dolce Notte
#7 of 11 in Signa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Madrid

Property: Soggiorno Madrid
Address: Viale Redi 1, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soggiorno Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing