We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay of our Italian trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panella's Residence
Ranked #61 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Panella's was the best accomodation on our seven stop italian trip.
Hostess Graziella was very friendly , helpful, and accomodating. She made several reservations for us, suggested itineraries and even offered to open for breakfast 1/2 hour early the day we left.

The room was large and attractive, very quiet, the bed the best of the trip. The bathroom was large and clean,. Judging from her brochure the other 5 rooms are even nicer.

Centrally located and very nice breakfast, and good coffees.
Thankyou Gratziella

Gary and Sylvia
Canada

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

My husband and I and another couple spent three great days at Panella's in late April.
Our room was spacious and very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Graziella (the owner) was so gracious and accommodating. She made reservations for us for the Accademia which was nice as we didn't have to wait in line to get in. Her suggestions for dinner were excellent, we liked Zio GiGi's so much that we went back a second night. Great food and service! We booked a cooking class through the Accidental Tourist and that was a terrific experience. So much fun, I would recommend it highly. We enjoyed meeting and talking with Graziella and her wonderful staff. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Panella's Residence for four nights in late March/early April 2009. Graziella (the owner) was very welcoming, greeted us at the door upon arrival. There are a total of six rooms and we were in room #45. It was very spacious and clean. The B&B itself is centrally located in a quiet street, about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and 10-15 minutes walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station. Graziella made the best biscotti and cake for breakfast. On our last day, we had to check out early at 7 a.m. and we asked if we could have some breakfast packed for the train ride and she graciously packed her yummy biscotti and cake for us. We had such a great time there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My partner and I stayed at Panella's and were very impressed. The B&B is centrally located around a five minute walk from the Duomo and is utterly charming. It is cosy with a lot of character because of the building's long history. Every room is spotlessly clean with great bathrooms and comfortable beds. But best of all was the hostess Graziana who made every effort to make us feel welcome, from encouraging our hesitant Italian, to recommending and indeed booking restaurants for us. This kind of hospitality is priceless and was the icing on the cake of our stay in Florence. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as I am sure that other guests would enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Graciella and Joseph were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Staying in this location puts you in walking distance of everything in a residence that has been in the same family for many generations yet has the most modern bathrooms you can hope to find in all of Florence. The hotel has 6 rooms and our group used 5 of them- all are different and all unique. Some are larger than others and there are several floors.The lower level which is used as reception and breakfast area also allowed our group to gather every night for a glass of wine etc before heading our to one of the many restraurants that Graciella can suggest. Being Americans we eat earlier than the Italians and Graciella was able to get them to open the restaurant early just for us our first night in town. Another night we only wanted to spend a certain amount of money and she negotiated a set price for a 5 course meal for us including the wine that was much less than the menu prices at a really nice restaurant. When we arrived, the owner was arriving to make sure his staff knew we were to get that price and good service and then he departed leaving us to enjoy a wonderful evening.
There are stairs as there are in most locations in Florence and there is no elevator but the day we arrived someone was there to help us with the luggage. We left very early so we had to get our own luggage down but that was a price that we would all pay again to stay in this locations.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

I can't begin to say enough wonderful things about this residence. First, the accomodations were great and so was the price. It is very centrally located to everything. I passed by many of the other hotels I had considered staying at as I walked to Panella's and was so glad that we had chosen her place. It was a bit further from the train station but incredibly close to the Duomo. It was so simple to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Second, the room was spacious, spotless and the shower very hot and strong. The breakfast was fabulous, even featuring a homemade pastry made by Panella herself. Finally, perhaps the best part of all was Panella herself. She was a delight to talk with but not too intrusive, and she eagerly handled our reservations to see David (in advance) and for dinners (try Zio Gi Gi's for a great local experience). She even brought out family pictures to share. We really got a taste of Tuscan living during our too short stay. I would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank las22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in Florence then look no further: Panella's Residence is wonderful! The home was built around 1100 and offers lots of history. In addition it has very clean, roomy bedrooms and beautifully updated bathrooms. Graziella and Joseph are the owners and wonderful hosts. They offer a beautiful continental breakfast with coffee, tea, juice, pasteries, fruit, and procuitto. The home is located around the corner from the Duomo Basillica. I found it the perfect location to walk anywhere. Graziella and Joseph and very helpful and have maps and suggested restaurants on hand. We loved our neighborhood restaurant Zio Gi Gi's! If you are looking to have a great time with a large or small group and enjoy great Florentine Cooking then Zio Gi Gi's should be on your list of to-do's. Their prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious. Tell Graziella and Joseph and they will help with your reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmlBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 409 in Florence
393 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#7 of 659 in Florence
937 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Galletti
Palazzo Galletti
#131 of 659 in Florence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
#10 of 659 in Florence
810 reviews
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#33 of 659 in Florence
624 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#13 of 659 in Florence
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panella's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panella's Residence

Address: Via della Pergola 42, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £89 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panella's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panella's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panella Residence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing