We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing location imaginable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #21 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The most amazing location imaginable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Right in the heart of Florence, probablly the closest building to the front of the cathederal within walking distance from any major sites. These roomy amartment have a great view but are quite noisy. The hotel staff are plesant but inefficient. Still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NGriff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you very much for you rewiew, than you to your suggestion, we change way to work, and we hope to seeyou again. Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    49
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
145
58
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

During our week's stay in Italy, this apartment and room were a magnificent surprise!
Clean, comfortable, and the views were spectacular. We had two clean, modern bathrooms for 5 guests and plenty of room. The fresco ceilings and huge shuttered windows were great. We walked everywhere and it is even close enough from the train station to walk with your luggage. The only negatives were that the stove was not functioning entirely and it could get a little noisy next to the Duomo piazza (we were also right across from an ambulance station) but it really was not that bad and we got used to it - you can always wear ear plugs. It was certainly a highlight of our journey - we would return any day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for you positive rewiew, only to inform you that Palazzo Gamba has been renovated, if you like to come back we'll wait for you, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our family stayed at the Palazzo Gamba for 6 nights in July. We were thrilled with the balcony we had overlooking the Duomo. The bedrooms were large and the kitchen was adequate for preparing a few meals. It was very clean and the staff was very pleasant. Like others, the only complaint was the noise level coming from the street through the whole night. It would have been nice to leave the windows open, however, in order to sleep windows needed to be closed. I would definitely recommend ear plugs. Aside from this one issue, the location was perfect- within easy walking distance to food markets and all the culture that Florence has to offer. I found it to be very affordable and really appreciated having an apartment rather than a hotel for comfort and a homey feel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for the positive rewiew, we hope to see you again at Palazzo Gamba to know the new Managament. Palazzo gamba Has been renovated.

Thank you
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We just returned from our 3 week visit to Italy. Palazzo Gamba was our first stay. We loved the location. You have everything at your fingertips. The apartment was large. We had two bedrooms and two baths, with a kitchen. Which is very rare to find with such an economical price. The only downfall was, we asked for a room facing away from the main square. We have young children and we needed to be able to get them to sleep without out noise from the square. But the main bedroom was next to the plumbing, heating and cooling system for the hotel. So every 3 minutes or so it sounded like a car being started in our bedroom. We had to wear earplugs. I would recomend this hotel, definitly but ask for an apartment facing the Duomo. It might not have been as noisey as our room. The staff was incredible (Christian and Jessica).

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank batland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for you positive rewiew, Just to Know that Palazzo Gamba has been renovated, and also change Management. If you like to come back, we'' be glad to meet you again. Marco & Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a short trip to Florence, and we spent three nights at the Palazzo Gamba - on the 6th floor with a shuttered window overlooking the Duomo. Florence isn't a big city, so everywhere is walkable, but staying right in the centre of the historical old town was perfect. OK... so it's a bit noisy in the morning, as the Cathedral bells start at 7am and there always seems to be a siren going off somewhere... but it's a six versus two threes. The only real gripe is that the shower curtain's not long enough to stop water splashing onto the bathroom floor. We bought salami, cheese, tomatoes and vino rosso from the Mercato Centrale (just 5 minutes walk away) and had an indoor picnic lunch on Saturday - who cares that two of the hobs didn't work? If you're English, take your own breakfast tea, as you won't be able to buy anything other than that frightful Euro swill.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you very much for your positive rewiew, Just to know that Palazzo Gamba, has been renovated, if you like to come back I hope to see you, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Property: Palazzo Gamba
Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing